Óleo Cancún Playa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Beautiful Boutique Hotel

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    This is a smaller boutique hotel with great attention from all staff. Customer service and enjoyment is their number one priority. The food is wonderful. You have to try Hakka, the Asian/Japanese restaurant. The food is incredible!!! Pool is small but right on the ocean with great views. The rooms are big and comfortable but do need a little bit of upkeep. We were there during heavy rain and out patio door leaked and rattle a great deal. Minor fixes required. Overall, a great hotel and amazing staff!.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Would recommend this to friends.

    Reviewed by M on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Oleo Cancun is a delight full gem that has been greatly upgraded with its recent renovations. The service is very high and the management and staff work very hard to make sure you feel at home and are pampered. The gym is very suitable for a workout while on vacation. The restaurants are great and I would highly recommend that Japanses Restaurant. A very foodie experience. I enjoyed the laid back nature of this boutique style, bohemian resort. The location is great in the hotle zone. It would be great for people wanting a quiet, small resort with extra care from the staff. The views are all amaxing from this ocenafront property. I would recommned this property to friends.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Very nice resort.

    Reviewed by Marla on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great spot. Nice stretch of beach. Lovely staff. Friendly and helpful. And the kitchen crew outdid themselves!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    P

    Great boutique style hotel!

    Reviewed by Pam W on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location. Close to the airport. Smaller, boutique style hotel. Rooms are huge! Because it is a smaller hotel, there aren't a lot of activities offered on property, however you can organize excursions or go further into Cancun proper for some shopping or to experience Dance clubs. By vehicle it is all accessible. I very much enjoyed my stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Beautiful hotel with some amazing staff.

    Reviewed by Basia on Jun 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a boutique-style resort with a modern and chic decor. Everything is centered around the ocean views; whether you're in the lobby, the restaurants, the spa or the poolbar...you can always enjoy some amazing ocean views. The sand on this stretch of the beach is powdery soft. The staff is wonderful and attentive and the food is amazing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    The food in the Japanese restaurant was impeccable!

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This boutique hotel is ideal for location and your budget traveller. The staff were very attentive at the restuarants and the quality of food was amazing. If you want to explore Cancun this hotel is great location. No room key required as it is programmed to your wrist band. It is geared towards adults primarily as there are limited activities for children on site.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    H

    A wonderful surprise

    Reviewed by Heather on Jun 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel has had a full renovation from top to bottom and it is beautiful! It is a smaller property with a boutique-style feel, with fantastic staff who are all,about customer service. The restaurants serve very high quality food and are more than happy to make accommodations for guests with various dietary needs (ex. Vegetarian). The pools are on the smaller side but located oceanfront with spectacular views of the entire hotel zone. You can walk forever down the long wide beach that feels like flour. The rooms are immaculate and have great wifi & room service. No room cards needed for entry as everything is programmed in

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 755 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Service/Great Time

    Reviewed by Jenny F(Parker, Colorado) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everyone was amazing during our stay. Carlos, Jana, Victor and others made our visit so special. Hakka head chef was amazing. He goes above and beyond creating the most perfectly cooked dishes. Thanks to all of them for an incredible stay.

    Excellent food. Small but good quality

    Reviewed by alexmprieur(Calgary, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just got back from a week long stay at Oleo Cancun Playa. The pros of this hotel are: -food was excellent -gorgeous view -relatively clean hotel -stylish rooms -good interior design -nice architecture on entrance way -Great hotel staff/ service: Shout out to Iliana for breakfast and Victor on the beach! -basic Starbucks beverages part of Inspira package -fantastic smoothie station in front of gym and spa every morning Cons: -hotel needs to upgrade plumbing (not a lot of water pressure in shower) -hotel needs some work. Exterior rebar beginning to show/ wear and tear in rooms -hotel linens need upgrading (stained/ not clean... gym not replenished with towels regularly) -very small gym, needs expanding -not a lot of restaurant options...only 3 restaurants on site -need more spots for Inspira guests on beach -need to hire more staff for pool and beach services -small hotel. One pool, not a lot of activities

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Lovely getaway

    Reviewed by StockleysIM() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff at the resort were amazing. Especially the morning staff at the buffet. Special thanks to Iliana for making everyday start off with a smile and laugh. & Paola,Jose,Dulce,Yeseli,Manuel Valeria

    Generic

    Reviewed by Al L() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Okay here we go. Pros. The staff here as with all resorts in Mexico were wonderful friendly and helpful. The food tho limited was very good. The view of the beach and pools were lovely. Cons. This hotel is very white. From the walls to the bedding. That is why the title of this review says generic. Aside from the staff this hotel could have been anywere. There was absolutely no Mexican art work. And Mexico has lovely vibrant artwork. Some of it in the rooms and around the hotel would do wonders. The beach was lovely tho being close to the Caribbean Sea the waves were large. A couple of days the red flags were up due to the swell. Also it was always windy. The alacarte restaurants leave much to be desired. This tho is an issue with every all inclusive resort I have found. There was virtually no entertainment. What the did have was in the generic lounge that has very bad acoustics. To loud and distorted to really be sble to enjoy it. In the end we did enjoy our vacation. I will tho say it is not a resort that inspires a return trip.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Atmosphere

    Reviewed by Scenic823099() on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed at this resort last year with my son, same time, and had an amazing time, hence why we returned. But this year, completely different. Resort filled with families. Crying babies and screaming kids. Kids playing in the jacuzzi type pool on deck, running around in the bar late at night, one ran into me and grabbed my leg stopping me from being able to move and leave the area. Not my idea of an enjoyable vacation. This resort is not meant for families. No children's area, no kids pool etc etc. The culture of the visitors/tourists, also completely different. Yes, this is expected but rude and ignorant people aren't making me want to return. The "presentation" during breakfast, ruined our morning and took 3 hours of my time away from attempting to enjoy the beautiful scenery. Was promised a bag, free access to sauna and spa pool as well as 20% off activities, booked with best day, during our stay in which I received none of. HM. Could I be bothered utilizing my energy in kicking up a fuss about it, no. Food is ok. Breakfast is the same every morning. Lunch ok. Dinners good. Noticed a change to Hakka, not so good anymore. Didn't bother doing Almar as we didn't care for it last year. Rooms are clean and staff are awesome. Uncertain about returning at this time as small children and families taking over the resort aren't my ideal vacation.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX