Tryp Cayo Coco

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    D

    We love tryp and will be returning

    Reviewed by Doug Roberts on Apr 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great staff and a great vacation would go back in a heartbeat Awesome Vacation staff work hard to make you welcome food was exceptional for cuba resort is older but it's clean and any problems staff are quick to help. We go for beach and the beach is grand lots of room Thank you West jet and Tryp for a great two weeks

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    p

    we love our stay the guest service was great id like to mention our maid in room 539 and marvin who filled our fridge love them both

    Reviewed by pat on Mar 02, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    we had an awesome time the staff was friendly and and very helpful the rooms need some tlc if your looking for 5 star rooms this is not the place for you but the rest of it was great the grounds were clean the food was good and the staff was great i would go back again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay BUT the resort is in a very sad condition.

    Reviewed by Judelie on Mar 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Tryp Cayo Coco is an excellent location BUT in very poor repair. Most days our units were without hot water. Some of our group had to move because of washroom problems & flooding. Bath towels were replaced daily but unfortunately some were stained & not in top condition. The bathtubs were stained badly. Bar service was very slow sometimes & acceptable sometimes. The two a la carte we attended were excellent. The buffet was the best I have had in Cuba but could have a little better variety from day to day. Serving staff were super, I cannot complement them enough. Our rep did not have much time at the hotel. When I went to verify wheelchair service it was the rep from another airline that answered my questions. I travel with a great group of people and we determined to make the best of conditions and have a very fun filled vacation and stay positive but having said that I am sad to say I cannot recommend this resort to anyone at this time nor would I want to return until major upgrade was done. I do believe the rating needs to be revisited & downgraded accordingly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Our stay at TRYP? 8 out of 10

    Reviewed by Noel Pogi3 on Apr 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Unbiassed Review Do not ruin your vacation with those negative reviews. Change all of those into possitive attitude. Yes some buildings are old and need repairs. Ours toilet are leaking but we asked our WestJet reps to change our room to a nice one and they did. Some food are repeat. Remember, food makes you fat and sleepy, you don't want to sleep more on your vacation. Eat vegie and fish, they're fresh. Staff are friendly, they don't ask for a tip, it's your choice. But canadians are good tipper. Beach are A1. I'm not a beach lover but I was persuaded to swim. Lots of activities at TRYP, you wont get bored. They have quiet pool as well where you can enjoy relaxing with out the noise of the activities from the larger pool. Cuba loved canada. their #1 business is tourism. 95% are canadians just like home. Bring universal adapter. No WIFI but you can buy 1/2 hour internet for 2.5 pesos just to update FB. Don't waste your time and money FB'ing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Highly recommend the beach and the people but resort is in major disrepair

    Reviewed by Lana on Feb 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I wanted to write to you to provide some feedback on this facility which is billed as a 4 star resort through your website. I am not privy to how the star rating system works, however, this resort didn’t seem to fit the bill. We purchased the VIP package to take advantage of the extra benefits as we feel our vacations are very important and we want to ensure satisfaction. I’m not sure where to start with the description of what we experienced so I will put it in point form. -The room had mold in the bathroom -There was also mold and mildew on the lamp shade -The electrical outlets were coming out of the wall – some had no face plates and my husband had to hold the cord just so for me to use the blow dryer – also a disturbing and potential dangerous hazard -The fridge had rust on the door -Hot water was sporadic in the shower and all over the resort as we learned -The shower didn’t work when we first checked in however after bringing this to their attention, they fixed that issue -The door to the room didn’t seal properly which resulted in insects throughout the night -Rusty balcony railings and light fixtures coming out of the wall on the balcony -Finish was coming off the inside of the bath tub -Pieces of wood was missing from doorframes and door jams would not seal well -The room was noisy and often we were kept awake by the noise of the entertainment and music. The VIP package was supposed to include a quieter room -We found inconsistencies in the amenities that were in our 3 rooms. For example: Our brother and his wife had a room non VIP privileges that seemed to have a bit of a ‘refresh’ with some paint on the furniture. They also had a bath mat and mats beside their beds. We had none of that and called down for the bath mat -Our furniture showed wear with paint peeling off -All linens – including bath towels had rust stains and beach towels were worn with dark stains -Fire extinguishers were not provided for all floors

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6216 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    New to the Area

    Reviewed by Conrad V(Cornwall, Canada) on Mar 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It was our first trip to Cayo Coco and the Trip Hotel, it did not disapoint. As always the Cuban people made us feel welcome and appriciated us as visitors to the area and Cuba. Food was typical Cuban fair, but we always had lots to eat. The beachs are amazing in this area. Lots to do with hourse back riding, sailing and a trip to the local town of Moron. Great Hotel to relax, with nice evening entertainment. We stayed on the thrid floor infront of the pool with a nice ocean view.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Fantastic vacation!

    Reviewed by juliefromwpg(Winnipeg, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I stayed at Tryp mid March and we had an amazing stay. We had been to Varadero before but never Cayo Coco,and based on some negative comments in general about Cuba and Cayo Coco we came with low expectations, but were hugely surprised with the quality and value of our stay. We met many great travelers also staying at Tryp who had stayed there 5+ times, which says something about the hotel and in particular the staff. I was expecting a tired and dated room, but we found it fairly modern, certainly better than our hotel had been in Varadero. Most importantly, it was kept extremely clean. I wish I knew the name of our maid, but we stayed in block 8 and she was always so nice and did such an amazing job. Never saw one bug in the room, and it had a beautiful view and was close to the pool as well. Noise was never a problem even with the disco not too far away. We were also really surprised with the food - something for everyone and good quality. Buffet had so many good options and you didn’t have to eat food from under the heating lamps if you didn’t want to. There were lots of stations at every meal (smoothie bar, eggs, crepes, pizza, fried rice, meat on the grill). Lobby bar was great for Spanish coffees and evening drinks. The beach grill had amazing roast chicken and fajitas for lunch, we ate there every day. Pool bar was awesome - Santiago was a great bartender and such a nice man. We had some burgers and fries from the snack bar too a few times and they were really good. International a la carte was outstanding! Great staff and super yummy food - steaks, pasta, Salmon were all great. Beach was amazing. We did some snorkeling with our own equipment and found a few small patches of reef right in front of the hotel. Water was a bit wavier some days but always swimmable and so clear. We had a lot of fun on a catmaran day trip we booked at the hotel as well. Entertainment staff at the pool worked so hard, there was always lots to do and fun little competitions. If you like to go out, there were a decent amount of things you could do like the beach party one night and cave bar that you could arrange through the resort. Best part was the staff. So friendly, always smiling, and genuinely wanted to make your vacation a great one. We will be back for sure and would recommend to anyone. Thanks Tryp for a great vacation!

    Became our haven!

    Reviewed by Voyage628076() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    After a horrible start to our vacation, we were transferred to Tryp Cayo Coco following a plea to our Sunwing rep. (a huge thank you to Lester). I can tell you emphatically that my daughter and I could not have been more thrilled to be transferred there! This resort has been around for a long time, and had its share of damage during Irma, but it has been well maintained, the room impeccably clean, lots of variety for food, the staff very welcoming, and the beach is absolutely fantastic! I was so impressed when I received a call from the manager shortly after we arrived in our room to make sure we were happy with it, and of course we were! We even received a follow up call later that evening to confirm that the safe (which had to be reset for us to use) was working and that everything was ok! We felt reassured and well-taken care of while we were there. After the nightmare beginning to our trip, my daughter and I enjoyed a fantastic rest of the week. Thank you to everyone that made this happen for us, from the front desk staff, the restaurants/grill bar/buffet wait staff, bartenders, pool entertainers, and our adorable maid, it was really the silver lining to the cloudy start of our vacation!??

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    First timers to Tryp and we will be back!

    Reviewed by rbarter(Mississauga, Canada) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We travelled with friends from March 5-12 and had a fantastic experience from start to finish. I had emailed ahead of time to the hotel with a room request which was fulfilled for us- Block 10 with ocean view. Blocks 9,10 and 11 are great if you want to be away from the noise of the main pool area and you will likely get an ocean view or view of the quiet pool. Rooms This was a regular room with ocean view(1034). Everything was perfect-firm beds, spotlessly clean as it was all week. The room was always cleaned by late morning. The water pressure was as good as at home and the water always hot. No plumbing issues whatsoever. View of the beach from the shower! I like how the sink is outside the bathroom, it really helps two people get ready at the same time rather than have everything in the one room. TV was a flatscreen. We barely watched it. It does have ESPN and Fox Sports for soccer lovers (mostly La Liga and Champions League). There are a couple of English language channels and a kids channel if that’s useful for anyone to know. No idea which as we barely turned it on. Food We were fortunate enough to try 4 a la cartes. The International was excellent but the award for best dish has to be the Rustica pizza in the Italian Trattoria. Cheese, bacon and egg. So good I ordered a second one! Cuban and Chinese were decent too. Staff so friendly in all of them. White wine was most drinkable. The buffet was excellent with a decent selection at all times of day. Great omelettes (thanks Fiz!) as well as sausage, bacon, fruit, smoothies, eggs, pastries and bread(sometimes a bit stale). Shout out to Yuri who was always lovely to us at breakfast and to Yordis in the evening. I dropped 20 CUCs on the floor by mistake, a large sum for a Cuban. He noticed and asked if it was mine. He was lovely. Told us his mother had always stressed honesty. He was tipped well after that. There was an excellent pizza station which I saw at lunch. Not sure if it’s open at night, a pasta station but my favourite was the fried rice station where they will cook you egg fried rice with veggies and meat. So good and a meal in itself! Tip the grillers and wait staff 1 CUC if you can each visit. Most seemed to and the staff really appreciate it. For those with peanut/nut allergies, we did not see anything that would be of concern tho it’s probably best to avoid the pastries to be safe. All the staff in the buffet were lovely and friendly. We were there over March break and unlike other resorts, there were no line ups, always tables available and plenty of good food. You will not starve but if you are a foodie, don’t go to Cuba. It was more than good enough for all of us with enough variety. No complaints. We had lunch once at the Snack bar where the fries are superb and they do chicken sandwiches, hot dogs and burgers. Quick service and a good option if you just want a quick snack as the name suggests! The beach bar was an excellent option where were looked after by Belkis and Danny. Great service and the rotisserie chicken is fantastic! This was my favourite lunch spot for chicken washed down with a few Cuba libres and beers. Bars The pool bar (swim up) is where you want to be if you want to make friends. We met some great people there over the week. Peak fun time is 3pm-5pm. Hang out and just chat, you’ll make friends. Santiago, the bar tender, is a lovely guy and will take good care of you. Slip him the odd CUC as he works so hard. He has Bucanero on tap and ask him for his specialty if you like potent rum cocktails. Be careful getting into the pool. It’s only a foot down at the edge of the pool but slippery and many wiped out (myself included). There is a small bar by the quiet pool which was handy too. Snack bar has Bucanero too (stronger and tastier to me than Crystal). Beach bar-see above. We didn’t use the lobby bar much . Apparently it’s fun later at night tho’. Pools The main pool consists of a small kiddie pool with a slide, gradual-sloping main swimming section with three showerheads spouting water, then a divider to the shallow swim-up bar, then under the bridges it gets deeper (4’6” or so) to the water volleyball area. The quiet pool was where we based ourselves. Quiet as the name suggests and the better pool for actual swimming. We would get there around 10am, always got sun loungers, then move over to the main pool around 3 for the pool bar scene and excellent animation crew. There is no need to get up at dawn to reserve seats anywhere. The pace and lack of urgency was wonderful, but the resort is only about 50% occupied I think at the moment after Irma. The water was crystal clear and clean, no smell of chlorine and the pool staff attentive and friendly. The biggest issue is the lack of shade through no fault of the hotel as most of the palm trees were ripped out by Irma. They were installing covered sunbeds with double mattresses and shades by the main pool the week we were there though which will help. Beach Spectacular! Perfect turquoise and blue shades. Unfortunately 6 of 7 days were windy so red flags were up. Be careful if swimming if red flags are up as the undertow is very strong. If you have kids, I’d suggest you keep them out of the water entirely if the red flags are up. As it was, we would always have a spotter if one of us adults was in the water. Pelicans swoop down for fish, and kite surfers get some real speed up out there, so lots to see. The water was warm. The sand can be fairly coarse due to the shells in it and some got nasty cuts and scrapes playing beach volleyball. Wear sandals or flipflops as we did find a couple of broken bottles which we reported to Guest services who promised to try and locate and remove. They were most concerned to hear of it and I’m sure it was investigated the next day. The shelters provide decent shade. Staff Simply wonderful and friendly. Tip when you can, they do appreciate it but are so nice even if you do not. It seems many have been there for decades. We felt so welcome. Random Wifi is in the lobby only for 1CUC for an hour. Sign out when finished to carry credit over. Signal is decent in the lobby. There is a decent shopping centre a 15 minute walk away for souvenirs, rum, cigars, beach supplies etc. You can convert from Canadian credit cards at the bank there with your passport if you run out of cash. There is a fairly well-stocked store on the resort too. You can convert Canadian $s to CUCs anytime very easily at the front desk. No passport needed. We did the catamaran excursion which was fun. Pick up at 845am, back by 4pm. Drinks all day, 2 snorkeling opportunities and a stop at a sandbar off the coast where we saw a huge live starfish. We had no problems with mosquitos, perhaps as it was windier than usual. There was a real mix of ages. Quite a few in their 20s, 30s, families with kids, retired people too. There seemed to be enough for everyone. The younger set enjoyed the cave disco excursion but we never made it past 10pm having started the rum early each day! Some older reviews mention poor lighting in the grounds. Perhaps this has been improved since those comments as it was absolutely fine and well sign-posted too. Huge thanks to all the wonderful staff who made it a special vacation. We will be back!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Tryp was more than a trip

    Reviewed by andrew42g(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Decided to book Tryp Cayo Coco instead of the hotels in Cayo Santa Maria, mainly due to the 2 hour bus ride to Cayo Santa Maria. I wasn't sure what to expect but the reviews on trip advisors were great and satisfactory. Our package was through SellOffVacations and it was for 7 days, 3 people - each of us had our own room and it was a morning flight which is always recommended. This hotel is over 20 years old and used to be joint with Hotel Blau Colonial but they seperated into two. Although, it's an old hotel, it doesn't show. Check In: Once we arrived at the airport, it was easy to meet up with our HolaSun reps which took us to the bus. Check in was a breeze. Not a problem at all. Make sure you print out your confirmation slip so you can show the reps. Once checked in, you can request for your luggages to be dropped off to your room or you can find the room yourself. Beach: One of the reasons people go to Cayo Coco is because of the beach, one of the nicest in the world. Water was great. One thing that wasn't great is that the sand had mini broken shells in it. Sand wasn't as fine as the sand in Cayo Santa Maria. One thing that they should also improve is that the beach huts had no protection. It would be nice if the management threw some shade or leaves on top of the huts as the sun still shines through. Beach is windy - alot of kite surfers. Make sure you bring extra sweaters as it's cold at night sometimes with the wind. Food: The food was above average for Cuba which was surprising. If you're concerned about food, just stick to the grill and the fried rice section. You can get beef, chicken, pork, liver, made infront of you right on the grill. The hidden gem however is the fried rice section. Make sure you tip in that section and you'll get some of the best fried rice you've eve had. Thanks to Jorge. Dessert were great too. Best waiter is Yordy. Fun to talk to. Knifes in the buffett were dull. They need to be sharpened. Can't cut anything with it. TIP: Instead of going to the buffett at lunch, go to the grill at the beach where Danny and Belkys will take care of you with their fabulous service plus Erlin will be providing you with non stop drinks that you'll enjoy. Nightlife: This resort is not for young people. There is a disco on the premises but it's currently under renovations. They've created a makeshift disco that goes until 2 am. The music is loud! Just don't make sure you dont stay near building 7. If you do, then if you turn the air conditioner on, you won't really hear it. Big shout out to Dairem for producing the best drinks. If you're looking for a fun time, make sure you book the cave for $25 pesos. Entertainment: Probably one of the smallest resorts i've been to in terms of entertainment. They have a small theatre where they host their events. Has a cozy feel. Best nights are the audience participation nights! Rooms: Rooms were good. Average - no problems with the room. Water pressure was a bit low. However, in the morning, it was strong. Lobby: Lobby was the only place where you could get internet. Lobby was comfortable and well lit. Big shout out to Ilana, Uberlandis, Yali for their great service. $1 for internet cards for 1 hour. The lobby bar had one of the highest countertops i've ever seen at a resort. Not sure why it's 5 feet high. Tips: 1. Playa Pilar is a 2 hour bus ride one way. I wouldn't really visit it unless it's absolutely necessary. It would take another 2 hours back. Similar beach to the resort. 2. Visit the cave - fun time. Do excursions to pass the time. 3. If you're looking to buy cigars, go to the government shop next door at Hotel Colonial. You can pay with your visa there. Just call your bank ahead of time. Authentic cigars. 4. Lucky Strike cigarettes brand is discontinued in Cuba. 5. Travel with the red sight seeing bus for $5 all day. You can stop at every resort just to look around for future bookings.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX