Meliá Las Dunas

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    I

    Great resort with lots of added value.

    Reviewed by IW on Aug 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff were very friendly and lots to do on the resort. The Pueblo next door was fun to walk to, and surprisingly, there was a bowling alley there. Very retro and a must try. Getting onto the beach was very steep and the boards on the bridge were a bit rickety. At times, there was not much food coming out of the snack bar and a lot of items on the small menu were not available. Wi-fi is a bit expensive but it is the same rate at all hotels. 4.5 cuban convertible pesos for 1 hour.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Adult friendly and family friendly, great for both!

    Reviewed by Phil C on Aug 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This resort although large has an excellent layout. The lobby and restaurants are in the middle and then they have the family section on one side and the adult section on the other. When travelling without kids it's nice to have a large pool that isn't overrun with children without having to pay extra for an "adults only" resort. The staff were very friendly and the resort seems to run like a well oiled machine as it's one of the more established hotels in the area. The food at the buffet was decent for the most part, but food in Cuba in general leaves a lot to be desired so it's not a knock on the hotel. The beach in Cayo Santa Maria is beautiful and the hotel has plenty of palapas and beach chairs available. I stayed in a Premium room and it was spacious, quiet, had a large walk in closet, steam iron, tub with shower, bidet. Only gripe would be that the mini fridge was practically room temperature so had to settle for warm beer a few times. With the exception of those with really high standards/expectations I would recommend this hotel to just about everyone else.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful grounds and direct access to large white sandy beach

    Reviewed by Colleen on Jul 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Large resort with great staff and wonderful food. The rooms are very spacious with either patio or balcony. Housekeeping was amazing as couldn't get the key to work and she let us in twice with our registration approved. Several buildings surround the lobby area and there was a lot of walking but could call for a golf cart and driver to take you from place to place if legs get tired. Currency exchange counter in lobby and open from 9-6pm Monday to Friday. Loved it!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    excellent getaway for families and adults

    Reviewed by jstevens on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The hotel was very accomodating, fast check in. The rooms were cleaned daily and mini bar restocked every other day. The pools were cleaning in the morning and kept clean daily.They did spray in the evenings to keep the mosquitoes at bay. There is lots of available seating for the buffet. Great selection of foods. They do also have golf carts driving around the resort as it is quiet large and spread out.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Enjoyed my stay at the Melia Las Dunas.

    Reviewed by MP on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff was great, the food was good and the pool had plenty of lounge chairs.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Large property with something for everyone!

    Reviewed by Nina W on Jul 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I really enjoyed Melia Las Dunas. It's a Huge property with lots to see and do! One side is more adult oriented and the other is more geared for families, with baby & kid's club. We also noticed a games area that even had archery. The rooms were in two story villas no elevators , are spacious and clean. I read some previous reviews that complained about bugs. The only time we noticed them in the room was when we left our patio door open one afternoon when we went out. On property, we saw that they treat 2x/day, which we found out is common in the area. We had bug spray and didn't have a problem. There was a short boardwalk over to the beach, which had lovely white sand and covered areas. It was a narrow beach with a bit of an incline and the ocean depth increased gradually with soft sand. I enjoyed body surfing and shell seeking. The pools had easy access and the swim up bar was popular. Good water temperature and clean, even with the wind blowing empty drink cups around. The buffet was nice with good variety and there was a quieter side, which was smaller no line for omelets in the morning and the larger side, which had more variety. I didn't love the Oriental restaurant, but there were lots of other options. There were three weddings while we were there and it has several romantic settings for the ceremony. They have a theatre and the evening music was great! The Spa and Fitness center is distance away in Pueblo Las Dunas which is between this property and Melia Cayo Santa Maria. Although I didn't use those, we enjoyed a night of bowling in this little off site area. I'd recommend bringing comfy shoes for getting around the property and visiting Pueblo Las Dunas. They have a golf cart service that goes around, so you don't have to walk everywhere, but I like being able to explore. The staff are friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9386 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing trip !

    Reviewed by Elizabeth F() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went to the Melias in January and had an amazing time. It was my first time in Cuba and I was a little worried but this hotel surpassed my expectations. The food was good(except for beef which I found too tough) the drinks were good, the rooms were good, the service was amazing as was the beach and entertainment crew. We stayed for 2 weeks and are counting down days until we can go back next year.

    1st and "Las"t time going to Melia

    Reviewed by FargusMarscarso() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Beach = 3/5 = very beautiful beach, if you are there by 7 you can find great chairs. Sand is soft with little to no rocks, and not a lot of seaweed. Stretching or yoga on the beach was non-existent most days, no beach volleyball for las dunas. Catamarans were fun. Beach winds are pretty aggressive and waves make swimming a toughy, but a nice beach for a run. Service = 2/5 = This place is heavily understaffed, if you can't hire enough staff, stop filling the place up with tons of guests. I don't want to hear any excuses from your staff that they are extremely busy because of capacity. We paid money for good service. On day 1 when we requested a room on the second floor, the front desk very unprofessionally told us they were very busy with a tone. That is unacceptable. getting internet in this hotel can be a hassle. Why they don't just raise the prices slightly and offer unlimited internet is beyond me... this would effectively make the experience for members far superior, instead of me having to wait in a lengthy line to speak to a grump trying to set me up with internet. The person working at the internet spot needs to smile more. The beer garden is advertised as the 24 hr spot to eat... but it takes like 24 hours to get a table...and the food is limited. The service number for the front desk is not listed in the rooms and when you call, a lot of times you don't get an answer. It would have also been nice to have a physical map given...every other resort I have been to has given us a map of the grounds. Food = 1/5 = Going to the buffet was a disaster, we had to wait a long time to get food. Tables were hard to find. The staff worked hard because they were extremely low staffed. Some people say that the food is usually not supposed to be good in Cuba... I have gone to other resorts, the food is usually decent. This place had nothing exciting to eat, the bread was stale. hardly any veggies, fruit selection was limited. it just was bad and messy. A La Cartes = 2/5 = appreciated the piano player at the international restaurant but the food for most restaurants seemed as if it was out of the buffet. The oriental restaurant served our food at lightning speeds, as if they wanted to get us out to get the next person in. This is suppose to be all-inclusive, why do I have to pay extra just to have a little bit a sushi? That is the type of stuff that makes me never want to come to your resort again. No teppanyaki at the asian spot. The items on the menus don't sound that impressive...at the Cuban restaurant one option was called "Typical Caribbean Soup" ... wow that sounds appealing. Entertainment Staff = 2/5 = We were on the adult side where there hardly was ever music or any entertainment by the pool. the Kids side seemed to have more entertainment, but more for the kids. Overall, I just felt like we were robbed of the week, lesson learned.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Great family vacation

    Reviewed by cb11118() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great time here for March break, on the family side of the resort. We traveled with 2 kids and 6 adults during one of the busiest times of the year. I'll give my views on each category: Check-in/lobby: it was quite slow, we arrived early and the rooms weren't ready until 4pm (which is typical check-in time anyway). The hotel took our bags, gave us bracelets and we were able to enjoy all amenities (until our rooms were ready). Unfortunately a mix-up happened and we had no beach towels until the next morning. It wasn't so bad really, it was so hot and sunny we dried quite quickly :) The lobby is quite lovely, and very lively in the evnings with music and entertainment. Lots of fun, good ambiance. Room: our standard room was spacious, and fairly clean. Large bed (bigger than king) and another cot. Lots of space for our family of 4 with 2 young kids. A bit of a musty smell, but it's the carribean, it's humid and kind of expected. You don't notice it after a few minutes. Nice little balcony, perfect for drying towels. TV, phone, large closet with some drawers for clothes, safe, mini-fridge with water replenished daily and a few soft drinks and beer. All 3 of our group's rooms were placed side by side, which was nice. We were given an abundance of white towels, which was nice. No facecloths though. Beach/pool: The beach is amazing!!!! It's the best part of the trip. Fine white sand and lots of it for kids to play and build castles. Although waves were large the week we were visiting and red flag was up (for choppy water), the catamarans went out most days. Kids loved jumping in the waves. The bottom of the ocean was all sand where we were (so great for swimming). Ocean is clean and warm in March. The 2 rows of chairs under palapas allowed for more shaded seating. If you want a good spot, it's good to be out by 7am to reserve with towels. No washrooms on beach though. Loved the grill that was on the beach, with plastic plates and cutlery so you can take back to your seats. I liked the music by the pool, and the aquafit and morning stretching. It's quite lively around the pool (so if you'd rather quietly read a book, try the ocean away from the main activities area). Restaurants: many to choose from, including the buffet, beer garden, grill near beer garden, beach side grill stand, and à la cartes. You have to realize that when going to Cuba the food will be different than in North America, but we really enjoyed the seafood. Stick to more typical Cuban fare (Ex. seafood, rice, beans) and you'll be fine. The calamari at the buffet (grilled in front of you) was one of the best I've ever had, so tender and flavourful. The grilled whole shrimp was very tasty too. The macaroon cookies were also good. Kids liked the ice cream bar. Lobby bar coffee (or cappucino) is very tasty, I recommend starting there in the morning, then head over to the buffet afterwards for breakfast. Service: fantastic all around. We were always well taken care of by all staff. A special shout out to Julio, who went out of his way to make us feel special, even in a large resort with hundreds of people. Excursion: this time we did the land and sea tour. It was great! Morning on the boat, snorkling, then we went caving, a snack back on the boat, then off-roading in jeeps, then horseback riding. So much fun! Really neat to see the countryside and see how Cubans live. Overall: we've been 4 times to Cuba (to a different resort each time), and we love it every time. The great thing is that we always feel safe. No one bothers us (like you hear of in other South destinations). You really can't beat the value that you get for March break traveling south. Cuba is such a lovely place to visit and I would come to this resort again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Las Disappointed

    Reviewed by stephaniecee() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I don’t ever write reviews but feel that I have to explain my experience to help others avoid disappointment. This is my 6th all inclusive, second time to Cuba and first time to Cayo Santa Maria. We chose this area because it was more affordable than other parts of Cuba and heard amazing things about the beach. I did a lot of research (I thought) and this resort seemed to have everything we needed. We took a chance, even though it was half a star less than we were used to and there were some bad reviews. But all resorts have some bad reviews, right? Everything went pretty smoothly with the flight. We arrived to Melia around 3pm. I feel that the front lobby tells you a lot about the resort overall. My first impression was that it was old and there was not much upkeep. It was not as impressive as other resorts I’ve been to, no welcome from the workers or welcome drink. The line to check in wasn’t that long, but it still took over an hour as there were 2 people working at the check in desk, and one person kept leaving. When it was our turn we asked if any of our requests were considered. They were not. We asked if we could change the room and the man rudely said “Listen, we are very busy this week. This is a great room near the beach. If you don’t like it, you can come back later”. We accepted it but didn’t appreciate his rude demeanor. ROOMS Our smelled so badly of mildew. We eventually got used to that. The location of the room was great, as we were as close to the beach as you could get. The size was fine, the bed was pretty comfortable. Everything was extremely old. The shower floor had a lot of scratches. The floor, walls, picture frames were all cracked. Toilet seat was broken. You can tell that this room has never been renovated. One positive was the AC worked really well. There was a safe in the room that was in good condition. They told us there was a list of phone numbers in the room but there was not. It was impossible to call customer service. We rarely got new bath towels and the fridge was never restocked. The maids were really sweet and wrote us notes. We tipped them well! THE GROUNDS The pools were big and beautiful. It was hard to get a chair, but that’s the same everywhere. At night, the lobby and central area was lit up and looked nice. There was no music at the adult pool, so several different groups would play their own. I really didn't like hearing country in one ear and hard rock in the other. Would've been nice to hear some Cuban music by the pool. There was also no entertainment here. You have to go to the kids pool for that. I felt that there was no wow factor and the grounds looked old and not well maintained. The main attraction was a little fountain in the middle of the central area that only worked on some days. There were many broken statues, empty pots turned side ways, barely any green grass, and dying flowers everywhere. The lobby looked extremely old. Things falling apart. The chairs were extremely old and uncomfortable. The bathrooms in the lobby never had soap, paper towel, the dryer didn’t work, and locks didn’t work. I couldn’t believe it! I started bringing my own soap with me. INTERNET You had to pay 1 CUC for an hour of internet, which wasn't bad. The internet was pretty fast in the lobby area. However, I have to mention the worker at the internet desk. We have never met such a rude person. When we first arrived to pay, she completely ignored us and continued to text on her phone. We could clearly see that she was speaking with a friend because she was laughing to herself. When she finally looked up at us, we asked her how it worked and appeared to be extremely bothered to explain the process to us. A really nice guest behind us tried to clarify something. I looked behind to listen and thank her and noticed that the worker smacked the table because she was upset to be interrupted. I could not believe how rude she was. BEACH The beach was gorgeous! It wasn't as busy as some resorts I've been to so you could always find a chair somewhere at any time. The resort offered free boat rides which was a plus. ENTERTAINMENT There was a schedule of activities on the beach that was inconsistently followed. I love yoga and dance but only participated twice because the entertainment team did not always show up and sometimes would show up an hour late. This was a bit disappointing. You can always find dancing in the main lobby in evenings which was fun. I found that the shows were repetitive and not very exciting. FOOD Where to even begin. This was definitely the worst part about the entire experience. The buffet offered bland, repetitive dishes daily. Barely any vegetables. The bread was stale. To get meat or pasta, you’d have to wait in line for a minimum of 20 minutes. Why this was not pre-prepared is beyond me. The yogurt was liquidy with barely any options to put in it. It was incredibly difficult to find a table, let alone a table with cutlery or a napkin. The 24 hours snack bar/beer garden was an even bigger disappointment. The staff would ignore you if you were standing at the bar. Again, it was so difficult to get a table. If you ordered something, the wait could be as long as an hour. They constantly ran out of things. They ran out of bread one day so served our hot dog and hamburger without it, A plate of fries took 2 hours one day. I was starving so I committed to the wait. The a la cartes were a bit better, but still the food was similar to the buffet food. We enjoyed some parts of the international restaurant. There was a piano player and the atmosphere was nice. There was an ice cream bar that we were excited about. They ran out of the good flavours, cones, and spoons quickly. The toppings offered were cereal or green cherries. No sprinkles in sight! Overall, this trip was a disappointment. We felt that the resort was not prepared for a busy March break crowd and should’ve brought in more staff and ordered more food. We felt so bad for the servers and hotel staff, as it was not their fault. However, they were having to deal with all of the complaints. Unfortunately we will never be back to a Melia resort again. We wish we had just spent the extra money to go to a better resort. Lesson learned!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-1

    Pool Bar

    Reviewed by emilypagnossin() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    absolutely amazing!! The bartenders here are so great and super quick. When you go make sure you look for Audel hes the funniest and makes amazing drinks! i would absolutely recommend this place in melia las dunas.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX