Ocean Casa del Mar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2925 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good resort

    Reviewed by CATHERINE C(BRAMPTON) on Mar 21, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed here from March 6 th to March 20th 2020. We arrived and was pleasantly surprised at this resort. The was our 12 or more times in Cuba. The beach was amazing our room was very clean and the young gentleman who cleaned the room did A very good job. We were n the quiet side of the resort there was no entertainment by the pool so it was nice for relaxing. Our first week was amazing lots going on and then the week of March 14th the resort really cleared out due to the pandemic. By the middle of our second week they closed half the dining room and beach and pool bars closed the resort cleared of many guests as the airlines were not brining new vacationers due to pandemic. THE CONS No washrooms near the beach you had a long walk back to your room or pool washrooms. Long lineups for booking the al a carte restaurants. Main bar was very busy at night. Was put on third floor no elevators. Not for seniors THE PROS The room was very clean Staff were very friendly in restaurants and bars also gardeners tried their best to talk to you. Quiet side of resort for older people no loud music. Beach towels you did not have to sign in and out Entertainment at night very good Ice cream parlour great to have ice cream every afternoon Would return here any issues we experienced was due to pandemic and not a result of issues with resort. Stayed in building 14 but on 3rd floor which if you have a disability is hard to go up and down 3 flights of stairs. Travelled March 2020

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Enjoyable vacation

    Reviewed by EddyE1992() on Nov 20, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenagers). We stayed at the Ocean Casa del Mar in early March 2020, just prior to the Covid pandemic. We really enjoyed our stay. Service was very good at the various restaurants and at the pool bars. We especially appreciated the services and good nature of Andro at the main buffet restaurant. Very attentive to details and good service. Nothing to say about the beach except it is excellent! Things to improve include variety of food at the buffet (limited and always the same dishes coming back) as well as room furniture, especially mattresses that were not comfortable at all. Overall we enjoyed our vacation time at the casa del mar.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Deceived and bullied

    Reviewed by barbarajelleme() on Aug 26, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My $550 nite “unobstructed ocean view room” had a 4 story massive brick wall jutting out along the side of my view blocking over 50% of my view and a noisy awful swimming pool straight out the windows . I had been assured I was getting an unobstructed OCEAN FRONT , THIS IS A HIGHER CATEGORY than ocean view and partial ocean view. An epic joke and front desk offered no alternative or consideration . As of now they have not refunded my money . Such a bad experience I can’t begin to explain. Shame on you Casa Del Mar

    great vacation

    Reviewed by tamful(Welland, Canada) on May 25, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    4 of us went went over New Years .. myself , my husband , my sister and brother-in-law Our 11th trip to Cuba Our 6th time to Cayo Santa Maria. Our first time at Ocean Casa Del Mar. But we have stayed at 2 other Ocean resorts in Varadero in the past couple years. Ocean vista azul and ocean varadero el patriarcia . Dec 27- Jan 3 Near 1000 rooms at this resort and I was a little worried because so many but it’s kinda split in half- lobby / restaurants/ buffet in the center of the hotel villas . rooms are split evenly on either side ( both sides mirror each other) so no need to really go to the other side- both have entrance to beach with a bar where they also cook meat and shrimp/fish on the grill which was so good!! There is a central entrance to the beach as well where there is a privelege beach bar- no food there. Our room was great 0655- clean - not a privilege building but was wonderful and had an amazing ocean view-thanks to Edgar! We had 3 towels for showering hand drying that was it - no face clothes but we survived that. The phone in resorts did not work in some buildings including ours. So had to walk down to front if needed anything. Upon arrival my sisters room didn’t have their fridge filled.. no water no beer no pop , but was filled next day. I heard this from others as well - ours was fine. No Cristal beer on the resort!! That made me sad.. but other alcohol drinks were great! Air worked great and it was the best hot shower we have had in Cuba ever!! There is a coffee pot but no cream or sugar in room no tea!! I’m sure we could have asked for it but we just went to mike s Cafe which is our favorite thing about the ocean resorts other than the beaches of course! Food was best at the a la cartes.. We were thankful we had privilege where food was good fresh and mostly hot, the first morning was chaotic it was a Saturday and we waited 2 hours to eat at privilege restaurant — we went to buffet the next morning - people were great there!! Lines looked long for eggs but the one last utilized her grill but filing it and we had eggs in less than 10 min every time we went ! We went track to privilege breakfast buffet Monday and no waits and all good for the rest of the week. Maybe it was chaotic our first day because it was a Saturday - no managers around (Thank you again to Edgar for the upgrade to privelege it was greatly appreciated ) Arley was a great butler!! , Erich Anyeli and Elizabeth were awesome at the privelege restaurant. Ask for your food well cooked at the buffet , it helps. We didn’t have issues but I over heard other did. Hector was wonderful at the buffet and remembered my husbands face from when we went to Playa resort in the past (we had been there 5 times) Vanessa and Gali at pool bar were always happy- always service with a smile! LOVE MR MIKE’S Cafe—- my favorite thing about ocean h10 resorts, well other than the beach!! so many choices of coffee- 3 teas black, mint and chamomile but they ran out of chamomile. My husbands birthday was while we were there - we had a lobster dinner and cake thanks to Edgar and Arley! Yamila was pleasure to deal with as well ! Worst part of vacation here: Was getting chairs on the beach or at pool.. they were literally all gone by 7am. We were also told lifeguards put their own stuff on them to save them for people for money. Hated that part - never got to sleep in and haven’t seen that so bad at any other resort.. not sure if it was because it was over New Years but we never had this problem at other resorts in past.. This was my biggest complaint..No washroom on beach so had to go back to room or pool ( we went to room because pool ones were gross) - bathrooms are typical Cuba bathrooms stinky lol Also bars on beach were closed by 430!! Sucks when it gets dark later and I thought they were supposed to be open till at least 5. 24 hour Lobby bar - was nice it is the only bar open in evening and extra busy - so took forever to get drinks and they only have 1 beer tap ( should have 2). I didn’t care for how dark it was in the paths at night either! They should fix lights for everyone’s safety! If no one complains - things can’t get fixed.. so keep telling management and hopefully things get resolved. Husband was down for a day but he didn’t drink enough water — he drank lots of coffee too! I have over sensitive stomach and prob first time I haven’t been sick at a resort in awhile. That says something.. Things beyond hotels control: Mosquitos - lots of bites - even in room—- lots of jelly fish in the water a few days this year - we have been going to Cayo Santa Maria at New Years for 6 never seen this many jellyfish in water! People leaving plates around — take your plates back to kitchen don’t leave in hallways! Over all a decent resort! Would I recommend? Yes. you won’t hate it we didn’t ! just go with patience, it’s cheaper than any other Caribbean vacation .if you can do privilege do it- quicker and better food in privilege restaurants! Same as a la cartes! Atmosphere is nice too! I love Cuba’s beaches and the people are the most friendliest ever!! This is all my opinion. We will return one day!! Thanks for a good vacation Ocean Casa Del Mar Cuba!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Still love it but...Jan 6th-13th 2020

    Reviewed by Dave E(sarnia,ont,Canada) on May 07, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Let me start out by saying 90 % of the staff here are amazing and that's what makes the resort. Having said that Leo and his sister, Laidy and William in the dinning room were remarkable, as well as all the cook stations staff. They took care of our every need. Bartenders at all locations especially lobby bar were great as well and the staff in the 24 hour snack bar near building 7 were great also. I f I had one negative comment it would be the personal delivering the stock for the in room fridges. They constantly said they had no supplies but if you offered them a tip they found you some and one gentlemen went so far as to demand more of a tip when he brought back a bottle of pop, what was offered to him apparently wasn't good enough, that's disgusting. We tip quite generously because they work so hard. The beach here is amazing and the beach bar and grill had excellent food and drinks. The groundskeepers do an amazing job on the upkeep of the resort and service all around was exceptional. Mikes café staff was also amazing. The bank cashiers were amazing so I want to mention them as well because no one ever does. Would we go back ABSOLUTELY, the staff treated us amazingly our first time there and most remembered us and we were like family the second time, simply incredible .

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5