Iberostar Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    Great resort, food needs improvement!

    Reviewed by Cozumel chill on Apr 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have been to Iberostar in Jamaica and really enjoyed the accommodations and food. I was expecting similar in Cozumel. Unfortunately it did not feel like it was the same chain/resort. I have been to Mexico at various resorts over the years at least 7 different resorts . Experience has always been good. Not sure why Iberostar Cozumel failed to feel like Mexico ? Grounds are nice and well maintained. Rooms are decent, good size and sound proofed. Only issue we had is there was absolutely no humidity control. The bedding and our clothes felt wet to the touch for the entire week. As my wife would say "Ew!" Staff is wonderful, cheerful and always helpful. That's the good. Now the not so good. Food, all the meals got old quick from the buffets to the a la cart restaurants. The steak house didn't have a charcoal grill, all was cooked on flat iron soaked in corn oil. Italian restaurant meals were bland almost no spices/flavour. TexMex restaurant had nothing remotely close to Mexican flavours we were in Mexico right ? In closing, we will not be going to this resort again. Mostly because of the food. It's tolerable but not enjoyable for a 4 star rated resort. Nice beach but shallow sand. Careful when playing volleyball, you're playing on top of a giant rock.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6004 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Quiet resort, Perfect for snorkling.

    Reviewed by Snoose_adventures(Kings Lynn) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our visit was in September, this must be off season for this resort as it felt mostly empty. No crouded bars and pools. Easy to get reservations in the restaurants. This made our stay extra relaxing and laid back. The food was great, good choice of ala carte restaurants in the evenings, buffet lunch was okay, as good as buffets are going to get. Breakfast had a great selection of different foods. Bar staff were happy to make anything you asked for and seemed to enjoy choosing my drinks for me! Rooms are spacious and comfortable, a bit dim lit in the evenings but wasn't a problem as we didn't sped much time sitting around. One of the highlights of this hotel for me was the crystal clear sea to swim and snorkel in. There is a jetty near the hotels dive centre that was full of life. We saw starfish, annemones, urchins, crabs, rays, eels, barracuda, octopus and hundreds of species of fish just off the beach. We took our own gear but you can use the hotels snorkel gear for free. The hotel has a concierge that you can book adventures and car rental desks if you would like to go for a drive. Overall I was happy with this hotel and would recommend a visit.

    Love the Property, Hate the Sickness

    Reviewed by Jess W() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We did get a room like I wanted. This was our second time at this property. We went there the first time for our honeymoon and then the second for our 5th anniversary. The level of service was good, but the food quality has gone down. My husband and I both got sick. He puked liked never before and I was sick on a different day. You spend money on these vacations, if you're even sick one day because of the food why would you ever come back to that place again? I ate fries or bread or sealed yogurt from then on. Every Canadian we met got sick too (thanks nurse who had gravl?) I wish I could give a good review, but the sub-par food and the sickness resulting from it means we are looking elsewhere for our next vacation this winter. FYI: guy doing your eggs shouldn't touch raw egg and then give your plate back to you(with raw egg on it).

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Nice, quaint smaller place

    Reviewed by Lori M(Glenwood) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I really enjoyed staying at the Iberostar Cozumel once we figured out everything. What I liked: Authentic Mexican village feel, friendly staff, animals on property, good buffets, comfortable beds, good A/C in rooms, good shower, good beach that was not too crowded, dive shop on the resort. What needs improvement: Our check in gave us no explanation of dining, what activities there were, times of restaurants being open and other things you don't know about to even ask. They did tell us we could have two nights at the restaurants that take reservations when we checked in but that seemed very limiting. And the only restaurant that we ate at that had A/C was the Mexican one. Otherwise dining was a pretty warm experience. We were there in August. Not enough staff. (Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful but I think they just didn't have enough) I think that might be why you are limited in your dinner reservations and why we got no explanations or much of a welcome when we first checked in. Overall, My husband, daughter and I enjoyed our stay very much and would consider staying here again. My daugher is a scuba diver and that was why we chose this resort. It is very handy to have the dive shop on premises. This did seem to be a little less service and quality for our money than what we have experienced in Cancun, but maybe the airfare is more to Cozumel. (I'm not sure as we usually book as package deals) We felt very safe here and even when we took a cab into the city to shop, which was very fun.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Beautiful ocean and nice resort

    Reviewed by kyliebear08() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Iberostar in Cozumel was a great stay for our family! The rooms are set up in huts that hold 4 separate rooms and 2 stories. The food is amazing and there are 3 different restaurants including Tex-me, Asian, and a steak house. We ate at all 3 twice and loved it all. Dressel Divers can get you set up onsite for diving/snorkeling and the resort is only a short boat ride from the world famous reefs. Hevik is an AMAZING bartender! Everyday at the pool bar he had the biggest smile on his face and the best attitude. He made our pool bar experience!! If you're a member you won't see the extent of amenities you would at other Iberostars. Another heads up is no room service or disco, as we have experienced these at every Iberostar until this one. Food/limited alcohol is still available until 6am at Marias (Tex-Mex). It's a smaller resort (with smaller rooms) so it's understandable. Over all a good stay for our family!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    A little bit of paradise

    Reviewed by SeanB67(Wirral) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I loved this hotel, the location is beautiful, the rooms are really quaint, only two high with thatched roofs, everywhere is kept immaculate by the great staff, every member of staff is super friendly and greet you with a Olla every morning, the bar staff, waiting on staff, grounds guys, maids, everyone works hard so you enjoy your stay, i forgot to mention the chefs, i found the food here very good and lots of choice, if you find something wrong with the food here maybe your used to 7* in Dubai or you live in Buckingham Palace ! For me the big bonus of this hotel is the great dive center right on the beach which just happened to be about 30 seconds from our room. If i really had to have a moan about one thing i'd agree that the restaurants can be a little warm but hey they are open to the environment, which is rather lovely as you can see the beauty around you and the lovely animals wandering about. Oh i forgot to mention the sea was 29 degrees in August so no need for a wetsuit just bring a rash guard. You'll love this place i did !

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX