Aston Kaanapali Shores Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    Nice Resort...but the beach is Gone!

    Reviewed by Deegan Pope on Jun 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    The only issue is there is NO BEACH anymore. You can't even go in the water. It's all jagged lava rock. Where the beach used to be there is now a wall that the water breaks onto and when the tide is low it is all rocks. Apparently there was a storm and the big rollers dug out all the sand in late 2014. Disappointed as the main thing we specified with westjet was we wanted direct beach access and they suggested this place. Otherwise, the staff was excellent. We booked 3 Condos all of which were really nice. Ours had some nice turtles tiled into the flooring. Our kids loved the pool which had lit up water spouts at night and a mini volcano and a water fall. We pretty much spent all our time in the pool when we were at the hotel. The hotel had lots of free things like Free Movie/PS3 rental machines, great tennis courts and equipement, free scuba lessons and hula lessons. Generally the staff and management are top notch.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Had an amazing time in Maui and enjoyed our stay at thIs resort!

    Reviewed by Jadetrix on Mar 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just returned from our second trip to Maui, first trip in 2011 and the first time we stayed at Aston Kaanapali Shores. Overall, my husband and I were very happy with the resort. I will agree with the other comments on the annoying $18/day resort fee and $9/day parking fee. The location is super convenient to a shopping area across the street, including groceries, fast food, clothing and breakfast and coffee shop. Kaanapali is a great area to be on Maui. Close to many amazing beaches!! The staff at Aston Kaanapali Shores were top notch! We requested a top floor suite which was available the second day of our trip. The move was worth it The new suite had a beautiful garden/pool and ocean view! Our studio kitchen was stocked with the basics. It pretty had much everything for utensils and cooking/eating. One thing we were surprised to find it lacking was salt and pepper. The resort did supply soap for the hand washing dishes and for the dishwasher. Everyday we got fresh bathroom and kitchen towels as well. The room was kept nice and clean and had modern updates. The resort itself has beautiful gardens and two pools and two hot tubs. The pools were great, the one hot tub in the garden area was in need of a cleaning, but the other hot tub by the beach pool was sparkling clean. The grounds were well maintained. The resort also has a two convenience stores with sundries. The pool/beach restaurant has great service and the food was good. Nothing exceptional and on the pricey side. Just an FYI in general nothing to do with this resort , on this trip we found the traffic from the airport to Northwest Maui to be painfully slow. We had to slow down to a turtles pace of 20-30 miles, even stopping completely a few times. The worst times to travel seem to be around 2:30pm-6pm daily. Overall, we would stay at Aston Kaanapali Shores again and I would recommend it for anyone thinking about staying at this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2855 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Better than i expected

    Reviewed by ellasacramento(sacramento) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    we had a nice one bedroom with view of ocean. the furnishings were all very nice, the bed was a little tired, could use a new bed. Some units come with a queen bed or king, so be sure to request a king. Bathroom sufficient, granite countertops, and all new appliances and cabinets in the kitchen. The Beach club restaurant does a good job too with dinners and drinks. Pools are nice too. There is no beach to speak of, but that didn't bother us.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Nice place

    Reviewed by lyons2017(Mountain Home, Arkansas) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Room service was wonderful and the staff was very helpful. We planned several excursions through the trip advisor staff in place at the resort. Great experience! We requested an upgrade and they accommodated us to room with a nice view.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Disappointing at many levels

    Reviewed by 715richardh(Colorado Springs, Colorado) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The facility is tired, but okay. The good point is the kitchenette is adequate, and supplied with plates, utensils etc. The maids did a good job, and were friendly. So was Michael in Engineering. Other than that, horrible. Employees avoided looking at guests. At the pool, great opportunity to serve guests sitting by the pool. But no, they only deliver, and walk past anyone who might want to order. I was to get two credits (long story), but the clerk 'neglected' to apply the credits to the bill. So much for appreciation. Unruly guests were yelling in the pool for nearly two hours, and no one asked them to observe the hotel rules and be quiet. Inconsiderate. They're all about selling what they have to offer (excursions, luaus and such) but miss many opportunities at providing services to their guests (food and drinks, with a smile?).

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    2nd Visit to Aston Kaanapali Shores

    Reviewed by marksY9874LN() on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We recently stayed for 8 nights here and had stayed here 12 yrs ago. The grounds and amenities are awesome! We stayed on the penthouse floor room 929, the views are fantastic!! We booked all our excursions thru the concierge, Lei was super and all the outings were 10+ she puts on a daily info meeting at 8:30am to go over all the things to do, highly recommend this. We took the scuba class in the pool with James Brown and ended up going for a ocean dive that same day!!! Was awesome, James does a great job!!! I took 2 yoga classes and were also great!!! All the staff are super friendly and helpful. Only one small complaint is they have the room sliding door set up with a sensor and you have to make sure they are closed correctly or the A/C doesn't come on, we had some issues with ours but the maintenance guy, Warren was super and took care of it . Other than that a great place to stay, very family friendly and the ocean front location is perfect. Can't wait to come back for our 3rd visit. ALOHA :)

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Our First Trip to Maui!

    Reviewed by babsinNH(center harbor nh) on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed in Room 611 for 10 nights and were very happy with our condo. We had a one bedroom ocean view with a huge king size bed which was very comfortable. Everything was very clean and was kept clean the whole time. We loved our ocean and sunset view from our balcony! I could even hear the waves if it was quiet! The resort is very pretty and tropical.The pools were clean and we could always get a chair at either pool. Front desk people were always pleasant and helpful. We didn't have dinner at the restaurant but did eat breakfast there twice. Food was good but service was kind of slow. My only "complaint" would be that this "beach front resort" has no beach!!! Mother Nature has wiped it out. Luckily it's Maui and there are plenty of other beaches to go to. But if you want to leave your room and walk out onto a nice beach, you need to look elsewhere. Location was great! Grocery store and several restaurants across the street, food trucks one driveway away, five minute walk to farmers market and ABC store. Easy walk to the Beach Walk, which goes all the way to Whaler's Village and beyond!! This was my "bucket list" trip to Maui and we were very happy with Ka'anapali Shores!! (Except for the beach) ??

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX