The Westin Maui Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 5947 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not worthy of Westin name: No & Jackhammers

    Reviewed by HarveyHazel(Coeur d'Alene, Idaho) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    If we had children here, I’d be livid. For just my husband and I, I’m growing more frustrated each day of our first vacation alone in 17+ years. Most pools are closed. Construction noise (jackhammer, chain saws, motors, and incessant backing up beeping) makes for what pool is open really comical it’s so bad. Here’s the lowdown: it’s still Maui. Yet, at over $300+ per room (and you pay more for “ocean view construction), it feels negative. The staff is what truly is the most disappointing. From check in, to concierge, to restaurants, the staff seems to be under construction fatigue. (Although Jeremy was helpful & energetic). The new “Bon Voy” attitude isn’t there. Concierge told us they couldn’t help when I simply asked to get a note to housekeeping. Front desk told us an entire tower was closed for guests but lights were on. The following day, a different person says something entirely different but offers constructions views at $120 more per night. There are multiple Westin properties that shuttles go to but Westin hotel guests are unable to use other Westin property pools. At every turn it’s either NO or JACKHAMMERS. It’s unreal. Front desk says through 2020 construction if it’s finished that soon.” Sorry Westin, I get it — it’s still Maui, but you’re missing the mark.

    ***DO NOT BOOK, HOTEL UNDER CONSTRUCTION***

    Reviewed by Jose R(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    When I booked my reservation through a third party on March 26, 2019. There was no mention of the active construction. I went on the Westin Maui's website to learn more about the amenities that were offered and there was again no mention of construction. My wife was looking at the hotel's social media accounts and beautiful pictures were being posted every day of the hotel's landscape and pools. We were very excited. When my wife and I arrived we noticed the walls were boarded up in the lobby. We then proceeded to check-in where we were told that 3 of the 5 pools including the water slide would be closed for the duration of our stay. We were told that due to the renovations happening we would be subject to the sound of jack hammering and drilling between the hours of 9 am to 5 pm. The person who checked us in didn't seem to care that we were upset about the pools being closed or that our trip would be ruined. We didn't realize what a complete disaster the state of the hotel was in until we actually walked to our rooms where we found that the entire walk way to our rooms were boarded up and when the pools were closed, barriers were set up all along the border. The hotel looked nothing like the Instagram pictures that had been posted all week. We were very upset by all of this. When we woke up the next day all we heard the sound of jackhammers and drills going off. We couldn't believe that we were staying in a construction zone. We tried to stay on the beach outside of the resort, but the constant sound of the construction made it impossible to relax and enjoy our time. We tried going into one of the two pools that were open, but since they were small, they were overcrowded. In the end, the majority of our stay when we weren't sleeping was spent outside of the resort. We paid full price for what was supposed to be a 5 star hotel and received a 1 star motel experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Not The Experience We Were Looking For

    Reviewed by Tangodango411() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We had previously stayed at the Westin a couple of years ago and when we decided to go back to Maui for our baby moon we didn't hesitate to book at the Westin again, however this time upon checking in we were not greeted with the same experience we remembered. This time time the lobby was full of plywood and the sound of construction. We got checked in and they let us know that some of the lagoon areas were under construction, but the pool was still open. Relieved we settled in our room and headed out to the pool to find out that a majority of the pool was closed and our memories of this property were not even close to the current reality. Not to mention the sound of construction and equipment back up beeps isn't exactly what we had in mind for a relaxing baby moon. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement. Had we been aware of the construction going on we would have looked elsewhere and it is hard to feel like the Westin isn't tricking people into staying at this property for a price that does not reflect what you would normally experience when staying here. I would suggest looking somewhere else until construction is done and the property is once again worth the price.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    AVOID Property - Resort & Pool under construction.

    Reviewed by ks10877(Charleston, West Virginia) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Great property located beside Whalers Village. Unfortunately, it’s under construction. (April 2019) Jack hammers & an empty pool is not paradise. I would recommend the property after they complete their renovation.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Massive construction zone!

    Reviewed by socal9r(Millbrae, CA) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Avoid at all costs. This is like paying an outrageous amount of money to vacation on a construction site. Actually a demolition site. We are currently staying here - 11 people in four rooms - for the third Hawaii family vacation in five years... Never again. Lobby is boarded up - three pools and hot tub boarded up with the whole hotel expected to use two small pools (with the crowds in the water this is miserable.) With trade winds and red flags flying on the beach the ocean is not an option. Everyone staying at the hotel is miserable - they are comping breakfast buffets, resort fees and parking fees but it isn't worth it - this is NOT a hotel right now, it's a construction site. Plywood panels that feel like a wind tunnel to get to and from the beach walk - elevators either out of service or closed hours for repairs - not to mention ants in our 8th floor room that they had to spray for - due to the demolition outside. We have checked other hotels on Kaanapali and will stay at the Hyatt in June. This experience has turned us off of the Westin forever. You have been warned!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX