Royal Kona Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    P

    We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The room was a big disappointment

    Reviewed by Pat Boudreau on Dec 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved the location. Walking was excellent from this hotel for all downtown Kona. Service was excellent but the hotel is getting really run down and needs lots of upgrades to their room. We were so disappointed in the rooms. The tiki bar and entertainment was excellent and we loved this location right overlooking the ocean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    well worth the money. stay here!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The Hotel on the outset looks aged... but it is very well maintained and in good repair. Reno's have brought it up to the 1990's at least. Typical tropical open concept. It's Hawaii... who cares. You have to pay for the intenet if you want it in the room, but it really isn't a huge issue to use it at the bar, that is open from 11am till whenever you go to sleep! Rooms are clean and exactly as expected. Pool overlooks the ocean. While that seems redundant, its not. there is really no beach to speak of. Only Lava Rock and a small lagoon off to the side. But who needs a beach when the wildlife come to you. There wasn't a morning that I was down using the internet that I didn't see fish, dolphins, Manta Ray's, or whales breaching off the shore. A true highlight of the trip. The hotel was great and the staff friendly. Service was impecable. I would recommend to anybody.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3617 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great older hotel

    Reviewed by Footprints434142() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We love this place. Mai Tai Festival was wonderful. Parking great and lots of restaurants and shops to walk to. This hotel is great for romance Staff is so friendly. Bartenders ok... go to Oceans for $4.00 Mai tais and great service

    Decent hotel in best location of Kona

    Reviewed by BeiJingCheche(BeiJing) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    If you choose Costco package this is will be your default selection for staying in Kona, big island. However, it's not just an average hotel. Instead from the location and build (even a little bit outdated), I can tell it was one of the best hotel in this area. It took the best location of Kona, right in the centeral area of the coast, surrounded by lots of shopping place and restaurants, coffee shops, I really can't ask for more about the location if I choose one more time after this visit. You pay what you get rule still applies here, it means you pretty much get an average room with very limited facilities inside. But hey, who wants to stay inside the room if you want to go out for playing everyday. For seniors I highly recommend you find some other hotel else, this is noisy place when luau dinner is held (3 nights per week), you need quiet room, decent breakfast and comfortable bed, this is not the place for that, this is place for family with kids. Kids can enjoy the lagoon right downstairs to try snorkeling, there's lots of fishes there. As parents we enjoy watching the sunset in the lobby bar if it's not raining, it's such breathtaking view!! I also enjoy the great breakfast buffer on the beach side, the price is at same level as outside restaurants (so it's not cheap but lots of great options.) I'm not regret for my selection of hotel at all. You won't either!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Beware of the Bait and Switch

    Reviewed by DixieNui() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Love the location, Don's Mai Tai bar staff (bartenders and waitresses) and food was excellent. Housekeeping was great. My real issue was with the front desk manager. We had an issue with the charges. Instead off a simple explanation, her attitude was "if you don't like it, go somewhere else. We can sell that room at a higher price to someone else." Very lacking in Aloha. There are many other choices in Kona. Next time we will shop around. But, we will definitely go back to Don's Mai Tai Bar for the food and service.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Run down hotel in desperate need of updating, great location in Kona

    Reviewed by Tayaf100() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Came to royal Kona resort with my family, booked through a travel agency. I wanted a mid level resort, not too expensive but not a dump. What a disappointment. Hotel lobby looked promising but the rooms and the the common areas are very run down and in disrepair. The hallways are dirty and the carpeting is stained. The walls are dirty, the facade is cracking, the stair railings are coming apart. The rooms were not much better. Toilet kept breaking, furniture is shabby, beds are small (full size not queen) and I have a spring in my back. Mattresses in need of replacing. bedding is clean but minimal. Pool is small. On the positive side, people are very nice. When we explained that this place was below our expectations, they were sympathetic and agreed to let us leave without penalties. Apparently this is family owned and slated for a full renovation in the future. One building is under some construction or repair because lobby is bordered up. Buffet breakfast is very nice although they wanted to charge us $25 fee because my family is 6 people. When we protested, they agreed to place us in 2 tables without the extra oversized party charge. Go figure. There’s a cute ocean pool but we didn’t use it. Ok place if you just want a place to sleep or drink at the bar. But not to spend time here. Bar seems popular. Location is great can walk to all shops and restaurant.

    Second home from home!!

    Reviewed by peccok(Rotterdam, The Netherlands) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Yes, it really felt like a second home for us during our stay. The staff is super friendly and helpful!! The room was cleaned everyday!! So, we have to say that we really enjoyed staying here and (if we come this far again) will gladly stay here again!! Thank you!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX