The Roosevelt Hotel New York City

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    P

    Good location, felt extremely safe and comfortable in New York

    Reviewed by Packy's on May 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Loved the location, the front desk staff only courteous not super friendly, the concierge were great and the fellows manning the front doors very friendly and helpful. Room & bathroom was very small for 3 adults, nothing extra in the room, no coffee pot/microwave/fridge also had to ask for facecloths. Walls are pretty thin, hear your neighbours and the elevator all hours.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11015 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    There are no minus stars

    Reviewed by thegreatescaper(Glasgow, United Kingdom) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    If you have booked and you can still cancel, do so. Their definition of quaint is yellow paint, wallpaper hanging off walls, no power to sockets, aircon so loud it drowns out the noise of the building work outside, rooftop bar closed due to building work, charged $41 for early entry (plus every kind of tax you can imagine) a one night stay with no food and two glasses of wine was over $400! It is a fusty old old hotel resting on kidding itself it has charm! Sorry, your day has sailed.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Dated rooms

    Reviewed by Sporty121(Dublin, Ireland) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for a weekend,on arrival the lobby is very impressive.Stayed in a "Cosy queen room" which was small even by New York standards.The room was very dated and had no tea/ coffee facilities.Also be warned there is also a hidden charge of $40 per night for resorts fees this includes a charge of $21 for wifi in the room.Great location as well.

    Luxury Hotel and an Icon of NYC history

    Reviewed by Naovice(Algiers, Algeria) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Luxury Hotel and an Icon of NYC history. if you had a chance to be here, yo've visited an icon of NYC history, luxury and classic hotel. it's located in midtown of Manhattan. expensive but it worth an experience to visit

    Beware of hidden charges

    Reviewed by Benzer F() on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Charged us $160 and told us it was a hold just in case we had breakfast. We didn't eat or drink there and they still haven't returned the money on my card at checkout Just an invoice to say we had nothing to pay. That's $160 just to use the internet. The room was small and te be bathroom even smaller with a cracked sink and old showers. Definitely not worth the price paid.

    Terrible, don’t go

    Reviewed by Diane N(Epping, United Kingdom) on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Never been any where with such rude, unfriendly staff. No attempt made to help with bags on arrival which is unusual for America. Not a smile or greeting from anyone. Room was tiny, dark, very dated and scruffy. The bed was uncomfortable, the mattresse needed replacing as dipped in the middle. There was no view from the window, just the flat roof . Was woken at 7am every morning by workman working on the roof outside the window so you couldn’t open the curtains as they could see straight in. Despite raising these concerns with the reception staff they didn’t care. On check out was informed about the facility fee 40$ per night. Was told this was to cover the use of the gym, the free WiFi , which never worked and could also receive 15% off food and drink but as we where not told never received, the bar staff never asked if we were staying in the hotel. We needed to store the bags on the day we left.Then bell boys were falling over themselves to take them to the cupboard as they clearly wanted a tip. Still no please or thank you, to busy chatting amongst themselves, mucking about, even brought me the wrong bags when we collected them. Was informed by the taxi driver that the doorman who hails the cab for you charges the cab driver 10€ per fare. Despite the hotel being in a fairly good location I would strongly advise to go elsewhere.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX