Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    I'd go back.

    Reviewed by Mi on Jul 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    Had a great stay with a group of friends. Great staff. Rooms were clean and tidy. Beach was good - not long for walking but pleasantly swimmable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    G

    Resort grew on me. The longer I stayed here, the more I liked it.

    Reviewed by Gerri K on Jul 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Check in and check out was very fast and efficient. Staff very friendly and helpful. Resort is beautiful. The grounds are very well kept and lush with lots of shade and big trees. Beautiful spa and wedding venue here. Older hotel that comes with issues associated with old technology. AC was not cold enough, even on the lowest setting. Water stopped running altogether while in the middle of a shower. Bed was old and not comfortable. Room is huge and bathroom well laid out with separate sink area and a separate little room with a safe and lots of clothes hanging and shelf space. Beach : The best part of this resort is the beach. Lots of shade under the big trees, shallow calm warm water. Loved spending hours in the ocean here ! Food : Very good, even at the buffet, on par for a 4 * resort. Only complaint is that at the Platinum ala carte restaurant, a strict dress code is in effect, that is enforced by the staff. Long dress pants for men and ladies dress or covered up. In this heat with AC not great, this is an issue for guests on vacation and not used to the heat. I loved the jerk chicken served at the grill. Also the wood fired pizza place serving delicious pizzas. Japanese tepenyaki restaurant was only OK, no show from the chef and food was hastily prepared and served. Travel time from the airport is 1 hour 40 minutes. Dunns River Falls is 10 minutes away, a must do excursion walking up the falls in the shallow water in the shade.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Nice grounds. A bit of noise from construction site next door but not intrusive and couldn't be heard once the door closed.

    Reviewed by MI on Jul 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    Lovely staff.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Almost Paradise

    Reviewed by JR on Jul 05, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    The property is lush and extremely inviting. The food is honestly to die for and the service is exceptional. With a few minor upgrades, I believe this will be a truly exceptional hotel. The WiFi is hit and miss, but hey you are in paradise stay off the technology. As well I found the air-conditioning to not be strong enough for me personally. But they are just minor things that didn't take too much away from a fantastic resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Loved the friendliness of the staff, wifi needs work

    Reviewed by Danielle on Jun 30, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Lovely adults only resort. The service was fantastic. The ac worked nicely which can be hard to find

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    E

    Looking to Just Chill... Well Jewel Dunns River is the vacation spot for you.....

    Reviewed by EJ Alexis on Jun 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    I like this hotel beacuse it has a whimsy charm that you feel as you walk into the lobby and beyond...you feel like you are among friends just ready to have a chill and relax time at this resort. Best ice coffee i ever had was at the cafe and you have to try the chocolate pizza with pineapple and banana. Nice selection of resturants.. loved the Italian just to dine next to the sound of the waves is spectacular. Great location and nice beach.. The staff were easy going they felt like family... Jamaica Does not dissapoint..This hotel is very close to the Famous Dunn River Fallls.. And you must climb the waterfall .Amazing experience

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    Older hotel but beautiful little beach. Closer to 3.5 star

    Reviewed by Heather S on Jun 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    The Jewel Dunn's River is a smaller resort with great potential. The beach is smaller but beautiful and soft sand. It's easy to walk into the ocean and very little seaweed. The pools were medium sized and had swim-up bar service. There was an activity pool and a quiet pool and it was great to have options. The WiFi is sporadic at best but usually non-existent. The hotel said they are working on a solution so hopefully this will improve. To put it in perspective, I had better WiFi on our tour bus than at our resort. The rooms are quite dated but very clean and the housekeeping staff are awesome. The mattresses are very old but the hotel has foam mattress toppers available, which helps a lot. They definitely need to look at sound-proofing their rooms because you could hear every sound & conversation from the hallway while inside your room. The food was basic at the buffet for breakfast but there was always something for everyone. The food at the Platinum is great! Highly recommend it. Just be sure to bring clothes for their dress code. The Irie Cafe had great frozen coffee and the pizza restaurant made great thin crust pizzas. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. All in all, I would recommend this hotel but with the expectation of a 3.5 to 4 star

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Nice hotel with beautiful beaches and good food.

    Reviewed by TC on Jun 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    This was a nice hotel. My room was spacious and clean with a breathtaking ocean view. The food was good and the service was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Loved it, amazing hospitality!

    Reviewed by Sylvie on Jun 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    I personally really enjoyed this resort. Everything was within a few steps, pool, restaurants, beach, spa etc... The number one thing here is the service. They are amazing, they make you feel like royalty, very friendly staff and amazing food. I was very impressed with the options at the buffet as well as the a la carte restaurants. One downfall was water pressure in shower and lack of internet service in various spots. Other than that I would go again any day :)

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    s

    Hard to beat the ocean view

    Reviewed by stoker on Jun 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    A great overall fun Jamaican vibe in this hotel. Food and staff were great. A little pricey for an older hotel that needs some updates but I would go back for the right price. Wifi needs updating.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6761 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Jewels Dunns River

    Reviewed by gwill2019() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Bellhops were great upon arriving. Food was just ok for us. Nothing to write home about. Staff was nice. Kinda heavy on getting you to purchase spa services though. Water sports kinda limited. No para-sailing or jet skis offered! Drinks seem weak.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    AMAZING!!

    Reviewed by isabelf22442019(New York City, New York) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had such a great experience , great service, delicious food, and great entertainment. The staff was very professional at all times and the rooms were always kept clean. Only problem I had was there was no wifi at all, only at the lobby but overall, such a great experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful experience!

    Reviewed by mayann-o23(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It’s my first time in Jamaica along with my hubby and two other couples for 5 days. The trip from the airport was quite a journey but it was all worth it. We didn’t arrive at the resort until around 9 pm and we were starving. Check in went fast and smooth since we got there pretty late. They offered some drinks and it was just lovely. A big thumbs up for the front desk for giving us amazing rooms with the amazing view of the ocean. I’m bad with remembering names but staff overall at the resort were pretty awesome. Overall experience were good. Went to blue hole as one of our excursions and I FULLY RECOMMEND lT! Just a breathtaking experience. The fact that this resort was an adult resort and not as big as the other resorts was just perfect for us. It’s beautiful, clean and well maintained. Beach was great as well, but it was quite rough. Nothing is perfect but for the price we paid, we have nothing to complain. And you can’t go wrong with the food as well. If you want something laid back and more relaxed, this is the resort for you. Thank you Jewel Dunn’s River. I definitely hope to come back again!

    Great Staff

    Reviewed by LoveisHere876() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I just returned from a visit at the gorgeous resort. And as a Jamaican, being at this resort for work, it was a pleasure to have my fellow people treat with me with such care and respect. One of the bellhops D.Kelly was the absolute best, I loved his greeting. Not only on the day I arrived but even after. One of the chefs Romario, always made me laugh, which was really relaxing. The staff on a whole there definitely made my stay a beautiful and peaceful one. Your resort did great in the hiring the people which you did. The resort was worth the time. Thank you. Love it ??

    Small quaint hotel.

    Reviewed by duncanstephon(Kingston, Jamaica) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Hotel is small and very well kept. Issue was with the restaurant not having a good variety of food and was too small as such i didnt hve breakfast while on property. I had a bit of an issue with the wifi in the room at some points. It also doesnt work in the club and bathroom near front desk area.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX