Westgate Lakes Resort & Spa

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 6731 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Our return is fabulous!

    Reviewed by Jim C(United States) on Jan 15, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We used to own here at the Lakes (for 14 years), and switched to Westgate Smoky Mountain a few years ago, due to the condition and degenerating security situation at Westgate lakes. However, we decided to re-visit our ex-home resort for a trip to Orlando this year. Couldn't be happier, to see that they have stepped up the maintenance and security and have been working through re-doing all of the units, building gorgeous new ones, and even adding a really spectacular water park this year. Good move Westgate, this will serve you well for the foreseeable future. They have also been very fair with some of the fee's that have been building up and become almost ridiculous in their randomness. We had a couple of concerns (bedclothes stained, and the thermostat was not working), but they were addressed immediately, and followed up on. Whichever one of the Siegel Brothers have taken this over from Mr. Siegel Sr., has thought ahead enough to keep this resort viable, in comparison to the reams of new competitive resorts and condo's close by and in Orlando. We are here another 1.5 weeks, and after a day in the parks, or just out and about, we both look forward to returning to our home away from home. I also own in the Hyatt Residence Club, and if Westgate is not careful, they will actually start to compare favorably with the upscale resort selection , quality of resorts, and fair fee structure of Hyatt/Marriott. Keep up the good work, Siegel Brothers, don't get greedy or complacent, and we'll be rooting for you!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Weekend at Westgate Lakes and Spa December 2020 and January 2021

    Reviewed by Resort311324(Houston, Texas) on Jan 03, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This was the most horrible experience of my life in terms of a hotel/resort stay and guest services. Specifically, I told the timeshare rep that I was not interested in the timeshare. I was there because I committed to attending the information session and learning more about what they had to offer other than the time share. I expressed that it did not make sense for a person who has no debt and no mortgage to buy into a plan that only affords me a week a year (or more if I paid for more) to stay at a place I "allegedly own." I told the rep that I am a property owner and I understand what they are doing... coercing people into purchasing space and then limiting the time they can use the space based on how much they invest in the property. For instance, if you buy low, you get a week. If you buy high ($80,000), you get 5 weeks. Well, if I am a property owner as they say, why would I spend $80,000 for a property I can only use a limited number of times unless I pay more? How much sense does that make? I don't pay more to live in my personal home for 52 weeks a year. Why would I do it here? Anyway, when I told the original sales person that I wasn't interested, he said he'd check me out. He went to explain to his manager what I said and I guess he thought because he appeared in a three piece suit and dressed nicely that that would sway me. Before he sat down, I reiterated that I wasn't interested and that the meeting was over. The manager said, "It's not over until I say it's over. You've got attitude." I said, "I have attitude because you are not listening to me. I don't want any debt... and this is a scam." Even after declining two offers. the big bad manager sat and completed a third offer and I still said no. He kept writing and I said, "Your 90 minutes is up and I'm leaving..." He signed the completion paperwork and tossed it to the representative and walked off. If this is any indication of how they treat their tenants, I'm thankful that I used my better judgement and said no. Moral of this story is, if you are called about a time share presentation with Westgate resorts, say no, because they will pressure you to death. AND.... even after the final NO, the person who was sent to close me out, a female, came with a fourth offer. That's right...a fourth offer. A mini-timeshare. "You can stay here 7 days and 8 nights for the glorious cost of $800.00. You can put $200 down today and we'll bill you $29.00 a month until the balance is paid in full." What part of NO don't these people understand? Horrible, horrible, horrible. Be warned.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-2

    1st week great, 2nd week Torture

    Reviewed by 498lilc(Florida) on Jan 02, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We did exchanges through interval world. Our first week was in a deluxe 1 bedroom only thing wrong was tv in living room had a bad picture and terrible sound. Now to second week. We had to move to a standard one bedroom villa room 8502B, right at the road and next to laundry shoot and stairs. Everything was so loud you could not turn the tv up loud enough to drown the sound out. Then people started having arguments and all night long discussions in the hallway. Smoke alarm started going off at 2a.m. Bad battery, I disconnected it, didn’t want anyone in my room at that hour. Room was very dirty, dusty and smelled damp and musty. Dropped my reading glasses between couch and end table, moved couch to get to them and completely disgusted over filth. Couch was falling apart and not at all comfortable, we tried sleeping on pull out couch a couple nights due to road noise but hallway noise was just as bad. Could not sit on balcony due to noise and cigarette smoke from another balcony. Overall I would go back but make sure that my 3 bedroom suite is honored and not a hole in the wall. The 80 building has no close access to grills, pools or hot tubs

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    Beautiful resort, super friendly and attentive

    Reviewed by jchoff59(Woodstock, Virginia) on Jan 01, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Here 12/27/20 to 1/3/21. Studio room was larger than most studios. Huge balcony. Staff were wonderful. Fun planned activities. We arrived on the last night they had Christmas celebration in the breezeway of Village shops. Santa, free s'mores to roast on the many open fire pits, free punch and hot chocolate. Fireworks and New Years freebies to celebrate - hats, glow sticks, popcorn. Many pools spread out throughout property. Location was perfect! Everywhere we wanted to go was less than 30 min away.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Enjoyable stay

    Reviewed by larkin27() on Dec 31, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I stayed here for a few days in February 2020. I spent two days working remotely from the room and had no issues with wifi. I also cooked most meals in the kitchen which was stocked pretty well, though the knives were useless. I enjoyed the mini golf course (very simple, short course, but a nice way to spend half an hour) and the gym was well equipped. The pools are pretty standard. My room was clean and comfortable. Overall, my stay exceeded my expectations for the price and I would stay here again gladly.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4