Krystal Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    L

    Awful, We moved hotels after three days!

    Reviewed by Lana on Jan 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    No Service - it?s all Self-Serve, Awful Food, Very Dirty Public Areas

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    L

    Yuck! Worst stay ever in Mexico....

    Reviewed by Lana on Jan 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Not even close to a 4 star! I NEVER write bad reviews-always see the bright side, but pass this Hotel by...was sick with food poisoning after the first day...service is slow to none, and the web site is wrong! They haven?t updated it and only have three pools...two are kids pool areas, and the ?quiet pool? is full of kids and lots of noise. No food service except a very very mediocre buffet in the pool restaurant and ?main? dinnng area for both breakfast and lunch. No poolside service....fetch your own food and drinks....and pick up after yourself because no one does until they need to wash glasses....and the sit down dinner at the Italian restaurant was the worst food I have ever had in Mexico, or maybe anywhere including street side vendors! And if you?re looking forward to anything except hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, and cheap Mexican ?filler? foods, look again. Not a shrimp to be seen here! And I LOVE Mexican cuisine and could barely stomach most of it! And it?s not a very clean place. There was blood on the walls in the toilet, grime in every corner and the pool side bathrooms smelled like a camping outhouse after two weeks of hot sun! Ugg.... and we have another week here! WestJet, I love you! Please remove this hotel from your vacation services!!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    E

    We will be back in the near future! Thank you WestJet!!

    Reviewed by Evelyn Bennett on Jan 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location was great ! Close to the downtown. Great busing. You could get anywhere for a great price. The staff at the hotel were great. The service was top notch. Special mention to Elizabeth (Ella) the concierge at the front. She was great at suggesting places for us to see and eat at. Very friendly! Also Jafet, a server at the pool buffet. Great service! He took an an interest in where we were from and always greeted us! Also, special mention to our WestJet rep. At The Krystal, Francisco. Great job!! Friendly, helpful and just gave us great information about Mexico. These people deserve special recognition!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Hotel not geared up for Canadians at this time of year.

    Reviewed by Dan on Dec 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel was not as advertised Only 1 ala carte , no hot tubs, Food was basic, no ham sausages or bacon for breakfast, sometimes no toaster.No servers at the bars, just at the restraunts did they serve you drinks.At one restraunt we watched the cook clean the prep area with a filthy rag, drop in on the floor and then proceed to wipe the grill off with the same rag.Garbage was overflowing with eggshells (from breakfast) at 12 pm. Garbage was within 4 feet of the grill.Staff was good but hotel was not near as good as advertised. This was my 16th time staying at an all inclusive resort,we have never had any problems worth mentioning about accommodations on our15 previous trips,this was truly a poor experience and I would question why WestJet would even offer this hotel as an option.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    We werent happy with our choice, we wont be back.

    Reviewed by Mimi on Dec 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    The beach was amazing, our beach bartender Enrique was great and our buffet waiter Manuel was great too. The buffet was good. The 2 a la carte restaurants were not good, very slow service and poor quality. Our room smelt like mildew and the tiles were all cracked in the hallway to our room and in our room. There were no great activities, the only beach one was volleyball and they did some sort of aquasize in the pool. 1 night there was a rock and roll band but other than that there was not much going on at the resort in the evening.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    We will be back. Great food and service at the beach bar and restaurant.

    Reviewed by ShielaG on Apr 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    My 12 year old daughter and I really enjoyed Krystal. We would absolutely go back. The restaurant staff was excellent. We found the food delicious, plentiful and there was lots of selection. Great location. Beautiful grounds. The room was older but clean and comfortable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Krystal Vallarta rates themselves as a 4 star, Westjet as a 3 1/2 star but we can only give it a 3 star rating.

    Reviewed by B&B on Mar 12, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    In plain truth this location has fallen by the wayside. It took 3 attempts before our room door lock was finally repaired. The far end quiet pool location was not attended to as per other resorts, no bar or bar staff, let alone cleaning of the bathrooms on a regular basis. The beach area at this end, was not well attended either except for the "sharks" local merchandise sales . The beach bar & snack area was closed the whole time we were there. Also the Red Flag was up for the whole 7 day trip. Only one buffet & on one occasion, not a full compliment of food tray areas with nothing . The A La Carte was good at the Cinque Terre but the Japanese was buffet style. The onsite maps of the location were incorrect. Do not pick this location for tennis, it's under construction for something else . We had the impression they, the owners were more concerned with the RCI rentals then their All Inclusive. On the plus side, nice weather, nice beach to walk on. Close proximity to Walmart & Sam's Club 10 minute walk . The staff were very friendly throughout the resort. Cleaning of our room was good. Nice size resort just 200 plus. You'll get your exercise walking to the main pool bar from the beach to get your drinks. We've been to Mexico 9 times, so we feel with a little work, this resort could earn it's rating.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    West Jet is Amazing

    Reviewed by Donna on Jan 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    My sister and I booked a West Jet Vacation to the Krystal Vallarta in Puerto Vallarta and we were very unhappy with the resort. The resort is in a great location. Very poor service at the resort. Room not clean. Poor food quality. Only buffet available at the a la cartes. Not clean in pool areas. Only one bar open at a time. Beach is beautiful but not enough lounge chairs at the beach. If you are looking for a beautiful vacation, do not stay here. No complaints with West Jet. Karry from West Jet was amazing. She listened to our concerns. She worked with us to help us resolve our problem. All that I can say is I will be a dedicated West Jet customer and will recommend West Jet Vacations to all my family, friends and coworkers. West Jet you are amazing!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    M

    Bon endroit pour se reposer

    Reviewed by Michelmex on Jan 18, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Service courtois et correcte manque de personnel pour service de bar terrain bien situer sur 6 jours 1 journée la plage avait des jeles fish ,les activités sont aux minimums pas de spectacles à tous les jours , la restauration bien mais pas énorme bon choix mais correcte Endroit tranquille à qui cherche le repos J'ai apprécier mon séjour

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Awesome trip

    Reviewed by Cookykid on Aug 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed in the krystals in April we had a awesome time the hotel staff went way beyond there hospitality the food was different night the staff there were awesome the buffet was located by the beach so you could eat while the sun down. We will stay there again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3283 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great value 4 money

    Reviewed by Michal S() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Long story short: it is a very good place if you don't want to stay at the resort all day long. I was there for four days. Rooms are clean. The view from the main hotel building is awesome (make sure you request an ocean view suite). No idea about food as we ate in other places.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    food and entertainment

    Reviewed by Elston C(Edmonton, Canada) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We were there for 10 days in March,The food was bad,'Ive been to 4 different places in Cuba and all had better food with a bigger selection. In Cuba sausage at breakfast meant hotdogs,I can except that, this hotel was the same all the other mexican hotels I stayed at had sausages.I found out on the fifth day that there was bacon it was hidden under the counter at the omelette chef.If you asked he would give you 2 slices.Evening entertainment was the worst I ever seen,including cuba,Mexico or the Dominion Republic.Staff was alright and pool entertainment was alright.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    Family fun

    Reviewed by Paul C(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Krystal is a great place for a family! The room is great with a private pool. We have been here numerous years and will continue to come back. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We highly recommend this place, especially the kid's club.

    West Jet Vacation to Krystal Resort, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

    Reviewed by Joan A(Guelph) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I am seeking reimbursement from West Jet Vacations for this completely unsatisfactory experience at the Krystal Resort, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico (February 20 - March 6, 2019). My spouse and I booked a two-week West Jet Vacation through our Travel Agent, Gordon Soukoreff, Genelle Travel - Travel Professionals International, Epic Holiday by Gordon...personal travel stylist. I upgraded our booking to a deluxe ocean view and looked forward to a two-week all-inclusive vacation at the Krystal Resort, PV. Upon arrival, we were sent to the new tower. After spending a sleepless first night (continuous noise from adjoining paper-thin walled rooms and hallway), cold water in shower, no furniture on balcony, no coffee pot, no dressers, etc...I contacted a West Jet team member. After consultation, the next day I was offered, by a front desk staff person, a room in the old building and as it was the only option given, I accepted it. Old, mouldy, cracked bathroom fixtures, disintegrating balcony railings, main door broken handles, etc. This was not at all what I expected! The two buffets and two reservation-only restaurants offered sub-par food. The outdoor buffet had birds flying and landing in the food every day. Mystery meats and seafoods, no bacon...servers piled dirty dishes throughout the restaurants. Several days after arrival, I woke up with a fever, sore throat and swollen glands. I went to the Krystal front desk for assistance in obtaining medical care. As I waited in line for ten or more minutes, I became increasingly ill and moved to the front, asking for help. A staff person told me to wait and when I asked again, she phoned a nearby clinic. She handed me the phone and the nurse only spoke Spanish (which I do not). Finally, a doctor's visit to my room was arranged. After receiving excellent care and medication, I recovered within a few days. At no time did the Krystal staff contact me to ensure that I was recovering or whether I needed anything. My spouse and I spent most of our time on the beach and at the pools. The independent vendors that sell their fares on the beach constantly interrupted beach-goers. Theme nights and entertainment are advertised on a large display board at the main entrance of the Krystal Resort. There was no entertainment during the two weeks we were there!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Never again

    Reviewed by 244teganr() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Not safe ! STAFF ENTERED OUR ROOMS BOTH NIGHTS without our permission Newer part of hotel (by main strip) all you could hear all day, all night, was chairs scraping on the floor, and doors slamming beside you, above you,below you... Older part of hotel (by beach) smells moldy and everything is very dated. Pool bar lied about not having a menu and our same drink order was a new total every time. Unacceptable. Managers were nice and professional, but it doesn't make up for everything the hotel lacks. Glad they let us cancel the rest of our booking. We went to the Hard Rock and it was amazing.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX