Barceló Maya Grand Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    D

    Choose your room carefully ,if they let you and you will have a great time.

    Reviewed by Daryle B on Nov 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Beautiful hotel, beach and pools-5 star.Food and service 3-4 star.DO NOT accept room near the entertainment theatres, loud music goes past 10:30 pm when the shows end usually to 11:30 or later.I think a 5 star hotel should provide wifi to all the rooms free.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Love the place!!!

    Reviewed by BarceloLover on Aug 07, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great resort. We've been 14 times to this resort and will keep on coming back. Rooms are clean and safe. Staff may be a bit slow at times but you can have slow staff anywhere. Just take it in stride as you are on vacation. There are always chairs around the pool and on the beach. Regrding the "nickel and diming" espressed by others, well if you are expecting high end alcohol and wifi, you will pay for that. There is free wifi around the resort at certain times and after the 3rd drink, does it really matter what alcohol you are drinking?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Dirty Rooms, cheap food, indifferent service..NOT worth your $$ NOT 4.5*

    Reviewed by Frankenbarbie01 on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Travel Agent booked this trip.I was horribly disappointed! Upon checking in the receptionist says "this will do ..for now" making me think strange they plan to move us? Weird. We get to the rooms (4 people, 2 rooms) they are NOTHING like what we expected to be in! Moldy smelling, dirty floors (made my feet black!) FOOD remnants on the door hardware, a chunk of cardboard shoved into the electronic light activator (the power was going out repeatedly in my sisters room..safety issue!) on the ground floor and appeared to have been pried open at one point!. Since the receptionist said "for now" we decided the next day to insist on getting the rooms we believed we had booked. After repeated visits and complaints by my sister and myself I lost patience and got on the phone to Westjet. Turns out "Run of the House" means they can put you wherever they want (Thanks travel agent!!??) I used ALL of my purchased data plan dealing with getting our party moved. They finally agreed to move us...the rooms were 1 level up just as dirty and REEKED of cigarette smoke. I would not let the bellman unload our luggage, we went back to the front desk and insisted their Superior rooms were Inferior rooms and were NOT acceptable, I stayed at Iberostar resorts in the past and if they were not going to provide acceptable (clean and safe!!) accommodations we would leave the resort. They finally moved us from the Beach to the Tropical. This was at least a step up in the bedding department, it didn't feel like we were sleeping on shower curtains. We were all just so tired of arguing with the resort we decided this was as good as its gonna get. We booked a couple of dinner reservations and upon arriving was told No we have no reservation for you!! We insisted they needed to figure this out. We were seated at a table, rushed through dinner and no one batted an eye when a wine glass stem crumbled in my hand while eating! This hotel is horrible and I will never again stay at a Barcelo

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Would not go back do to the fact they are not truely an all inclusive as they charge for everything

    Reviewed by Dave on Jan 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The resort is great and the beach is amazing however the resort credit is a scam, it is only a 25% discount and not a trye credit. The resort charges you for everything and nickels and dimes you on all their amenities

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6330 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    La Cantina

    Reviewed by 759dustin() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great Tequila, Great Service, from Hermelinda and Marisol. Will be back again! Very inviting nice Music. Everyone at Barcelo should visit and buy a bottle before they leave Mexico. The older the age the better

    Amazing time in Mexico with the Barcelo Maya and lots of sunshine :)

    Reviewed by lbyclara(London, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My stay at the Barcelo Maya started out a little difficult but was solved and we were placed in the right part of the resort with the rest of the wedding people. Overall the resort is big but moving around is easy either by foot down the beach or on the bus that arrives every 10 mins out side the buildings. The food, staff and rooms were all great. I would recommend visiting this resort . Either staying around your building which has everything or visiting the other parts of it. There is something for everyone . So just enjoy the sun and beach and relax.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Solid 4 stars - but wouldn't stay here again

    Reviewed by chrissyh821(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I don't usually leave reviews, but I thought I'd share this because had I known some of the things I learned over the last few days, I'm not sure I would've booked this resort. Check-in process: AWFUL. I had read about this in previous reviews, but this was definitely one of the worst check-in processes I've ever experienced. The staff is slow, rude and extremely disorganized. If you're arriving before 3 pm, just check your bags, grab a drink and go to the beach and enjoy your day. Don't bother trying to get an earlier room. Don't even bother coming back at 3 pm because your room still likely won't be ready. Just lower your expectations completely, and if everything is ready quicker and earlier, then think of it as a bonus. Also, forget about any special requests. Yeah, they don't care. Food: The food (in the buffet) was actually pretty good. Probably the best food I've had in an all-inclusive. In all fairness, I only went to one a la carte (Italian) and it was so bad that we went to the buffet afterwards, but let's be real, it's not like it was a huge surprise. The restaurants are spread out between the four resorts so keep that in mind when you're booking and traveling from your room to the restaurant. Rooms: Rooms are clean and beds are comfy. The A/C and fan worked really well in our room so it never felt too hot or humid. The fridge is not cold. It's not even warm. Dare I say it's....hot? Only drank the water in there. Everything smells musty, but I feel like that's kind of expected. Beach: Sand is soft and white and nice to walk on, however the water is super rough and the red flag was up the entire time I was there. There was also a ton of seaweed and the first four feet of the water is all rocks, so be careful not to cut yourself like it did! I saw a few people wearing water shoes which was probably a good idea. Entertainment: Everyday there is aqua fitness at noon, a random activity at 2, dance class at 4 then nothing til the evening show at 9:30 pm. In my opinion it's pretty late to start the evening entertainment, especially for a family resort. Other things to do: Bowling alley/arcade at Strikers sports bar. There were a ton of us there watching the NHL playoffs and it was pretty fun! Feels like a regular sports bar back home. Lots of activities/sports you can play on the resort - whether its tennis, basketball, ping pong, etc. Casino is closed for renovation. Don't get excited when you see it. TIPS: -You can't book your restaurant after 3 pm on the same day. Keep that in mind when you are checking in. -Wifi is NOT free. It is free in only two areas of the resort during certain times 10-1 and 3-6. Otherwise its $9/day. You're likely better off paying for the roam-at-home service from your own local phone provider. -There are four resorts in the complex and there's a shuttle that can take to and from each. -The dolphin show is basically a pool so small that I'm not sure its even ethical, with a few dolphins in there that you can take pictures and "swim" with. It costs $85-$125 USD I think. -The spa is great. You get a 40% off coupon when you arrive but it's only valid for the first 48 hr. You can get a day pass for $35, where you can use the facilities without getting a service. -Don't download the MyBarcelo app. It does nothing unless you book through barcelo.com. Overall it's hard to give a single rating to a resort, so I'll give this a 3.5-4. The service bringing it down completely. The best service you'll receive is from the bell boys, servers in the buffet, grounds keeping staff, maids, etc. Obviously not the bartenders or check-in staff. Obviously.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Great family vacation at Barceló maya tropical

    Reviewed by Dream45959615200(Milton, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had such a wonderful stay :) Stayed at the premium side of the Barceló maya tropical. We were close to a great water park suitable for kids up to the age of 13...close to the beach and all buffets. Resort is so well kept and clean. Food was AMAZING Kids had a blast We can’t wait to return:)

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Extremely disappointed

    Reviewed by Natalya R(Fort Lee, New Jersey) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We've been in this resort – Barcelo Maya Tropical five time. I couldn't even imagine that I'll get bad stomach infection by Enteropathogenic E. coli on our last day April 12, 2019 at lunch time in the Palmeras restaurant located in the swimming pool area around 2:30pm. We were picked up for the airport at 3:50pm . You may wonder why I'm so sure that it happened in the resort? I absolutely don't drink any kind of alcohol, soft drink, cocktails or even coca-cola during my entire life - ONLY pure water and tea! There are NOT any slightest suspicious for mixing any of those liquids with food I had at the Palmeras restaurant. I had only 3 pieces of salad leaves, 2-3 pieces tomatoes and very tiny piece of veal, nothing else!? My husband didn't have the same food , fortunately ! The incubation period of the Escherichiosis from the moment of entry of the pathogen to the appearance of the first signs of illness occurs after 6 hours. Symptoms of disease include abdominal cramps and diarrhea When we were inside the plane (flight 7:45 pm to Newark- exactly after 6 hours past), I became sick and I vomit. Somehow I was able to control myself during the flight. When we arrived at 12:15 am (April 13) and got home, diarrhea began. I didn’t sleep all night and spent the whole night on the toilet. All the next day I tried to support the body by taking at least water or tea. My appetite was completely gone and I could not tolerate any food or odors. I lost more than 6 pounds just over night ! Today, Sunday April 14th already 1:30 pm, and I still can’t have any food except tea with lemon. I’m sure, this will last at least 2-3 days. My opinion about your resort has changed dramatically. I don’t think we’ll book your resort next time. Most likely I’ll file a claim to the resort about this poisoning. Veracruz Building Room # 7616 Natalya & Leonid

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX