Iberostar Selection Paraiso Maya

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    L

    Bel endroit! Beaucoup trop grand!!!

    Reviewed by Lyne on Jan 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Avons voyagé du 14 au 21 janvier 2015, 4 adultes. Très bel hôtel; beaucoup trop grand. Avons dû prendre cart pour aller à certains restaurants ou marcher 10 minutes. Les spectacles en soirée mercredi à vendredi étaient très décevants. Enfin, le samedi, spectacle mexicain et les autres soirs c'était bien. Aucune musique mexicaine sur la plage ou à la discothèque. Avons demandé où soirée dansante et on ne nous a jamais bien renseignés; un peu comme si le Iberostar Paraiso Maya voulait garder leurs clients à leur hôtel... Le dernier soir, un danseur du spectacle nous a parlé du Iberostar Paraiso del Mar où il y a de la danse à tous les soirs. Malheureusement quand nous sommes allés à 22h30, c'était terminé!!! Grosse déception de ce côté. Pour ce qui est de la plage, c'est très beau; le service est très bon. Alexandra nous apportait nos drinks à la plage à tous les jours: service no 1, elle est très souriante, parle français, l'avons beaucoup appréciée Bahama Mama et Pina Colada. C'est la meilleure ... Les serveurs dans les restaurants sont très sympathiques; avons beaucoup ri avec eux. Nous ne retournerons pas à cet hôtel mais c'est une belle place, propre...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6130 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Value Hotel.

    Reviewed by Camper60092691204() on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    What I really love about Paraiso Maya are the gorgeous gardens; it seems your in a jungle with that touch of the Mayan culture. The service is outstanding, eventhough I am picky eater they always seem to have something that I really enjoy. Also, the shows are my favorite part of the nigth. Most of the shows have a live band on stage. Singer and dancers are super profesionals. Excellent hotel for families, my nephwes spent the whole day on the wave pool. Wish I was there again.

    Fun! Fun! Fun!

    Reviewed by M6276JYmichellef() on May 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second visit to this hotel. I immediately noticed so many positive changes. The food was delicious with lots of choices. You could literally never go hungry. There was an assortment of food even at the beach area. I wasn’t crazy about the Japanese because it was salty. Most people enjoyed it. The camp was amazing. It was in a completely new building, colorful, bright, warm and welcoming. My five year old granddaughter loved the activities. It was well supervised. In addition, there were new outdoor towels. The staff was friendly and helpful. My daughter and I took Cindy’s yoga class every morning. It was fantastic. Cindy offered such professionalism, knowledge and love of yoga. It was both inspiring and a great workout. Even my son- law- joined us at the end of the week. The gym had modern equipment and offered a variety of classes. It was very clean. There were towels available and fresh fruit and infused water to meet any of your needs. My husband participated in the bike tour a couple of times and enjoyed it. The Spa was also a good experience. We all had massages. I had a hot stone massage. It was relaxing and the showers and hot and cold tubs were invigorating. The steam room wasn’t evenly hot. Otherwise, it was wonderful. And let’s not forget about the weather which was around 85 degrees daily. With the lazy river, wave pool and multiple other pools, you just had to be in wet. The beach was clean, but there were some days with seaweed. I would suggest new cushions for the outdoor lounges. I personally have difficulty sitting on those chairs due to back issues. I brought some pillows from my room. Problem solved. However, soft, thick cushions would only help. For a family, all inclusive, this hotel had something for everyone! I highly recommend it!

    FANTASTIC experience!!

    Reviewed by budgetbiker(Lebanon, New Hampshire) on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Traveled with kids 34yo, 16yo, 11yo and husband. The place is INCREDIBLY well kept! staff are all friendly and kind but only some speak perfect English, got me to brush up on Spanish. Stayed in Building 61 which per TripAdvisor was great for proximity to pool, beach and buffet. People comment on burden of walk but according to my fitbit it was a mere 500 or so steps to the lobby and 700 to the mall and FitFun gym. Speaking of which - The Health Club and classes is INCREDIBLE - great classes many to choose from, friendly helpful instructors, spotless, great water and music and they all seem to remember us. Tried Zumba, Kickboxing, BodyPump, heaven and helped work off the calories. Food good and plentiful not to die for but good. No problem getting reservations but were willing to eat after 7pm. Steakhouse and French terrific. Buffets quite good. Plenty of veggies.Desserts good flan the best Best part for all - The StarCafe - multiple times a day, frozen cappucinos, lattes all of it we were all thrilled and their Tuna sandwich and pastries fantastic. Housekeeping so kind helpful and unobtrusive but available. Pool chairs, get there early but people are nice. Beach chairs didn't look too possible except one morning we went there. Enjoyed walking on the beach more than swimming in ocean. we enjoyed tennis lessons, friendly travelers from all over, the shopping mall. Games in the pool the pool bars. Yup i'd go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    PERFECT VACATIONS

    Reviewed by volpevolpe34(Canada, Kentucky) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We returned home after a week at the Maya. WOW! How fast a week can fly. Upon arriving we were greeted with smiles, smiles, smiles. At each and every turn the staff went above and beyond to make everything as perfect as possible. We booked a Superior Jr. Suite. We were in building 65,our concierge was ANTONIO, he took excellent care of our family during our stay, allways worried about how was everything going during our stay, THANK YOU SO MUCH ANTONIO for making our trip even better than last year. The main pool complex is barely a 2 minute walk from where we stayed. This also meant the buffet was the same distance from us. Many have complained about the flies ect...perhaps it is time of year..we saw maybe 5 flies, anywhere, all week. The buffet at the Lindo that has been highly praised was okay. The food was the same at all the buffets. The only difference was that the Lindo and the one in the Italian restaurant (Maya) were indoors. The big plus to them is in case of weather. If we have a complaint it would be during the rain the roof leaks at the buffet by the pool. The only thing the buffets lacked for us was enough cooked vegatables we could eat. However, one noon meal a combo. of squash and califlower was served. Being allergic to califlower I asked if it was possible to get a serving of squash that had been cooked alone. I was asked where I was seated and given a smile. Not 12 mins later a steaming bowl of freshly prepared squash was delived to our table. It was done to perfection, and with a smile. Meals in the evening: The French was terrific. Remember it is a gourmet restaurant. The emphasis is on presentation, flavor and service.....not serving size. The steakhouse was by far our favorite. The meat was tender and done precisely as we ordered. The Mexican was okay...just average for us. We did not eat at the Japanese but every single person we talked to who had..loved it. It apparently is done "Benihana" style. Bars: the best far and away..lobby bar in the Maya. Rigo (rree-go) is the best. He will ask your name and never forget it..or what you drink the remainder of your stay. The liquor is top shelf at this bar. Including but not limited to the scotch, gin, vodka, tequlia and rum. At the Lindo lobby bar they had some decent liquors...but not nearly the top shelf line of the Maya. However..visit the Lindo lobby bar...EXCELLENT salt water aquarium there..includes an eel, stone-fish many, many types of coral and other tropical fish. Many reviewers have complained of weak drinks made at the pools and beach. I fully believe the main reason for this is alcohol and water don't mix well and it is a way of controlling a dangerous combination. Anyway, if you order a drink and it is too weak..all you have to do is ask for more rum or whatever and they will pour it. While we we there there was rain several times I want to caution you the floors in this hotel are so beautiful but they are dangerously slippery when wet. Most floors have some degree of inlaid marble. Speaking of rain leads me to the "star friends" if you have children 4-11(I think thats the age) they will spend a lot of time with these energetic, spirited, wonderful group of people. They do a show each evening at the Lindo but are at the pool each afternoon. If you are bored at this hotel..then you must be hiding in your room alone. There is always some activity going on. I wish I had the room to explain the "Ibercell Bunny"...take my word for it, he is hilarious and I was far from the only one laughing. Beach: we had one really calm day and the rest were pretty stormy off and on. The beach has many huge rocks. On the calm days they are easily seen and avoided. On the rough days they are barely maore than a shadow in the water. The undertow was quite strong during our time there. water shoes are an absolute must. The have kayaks, windsurfers and hobiecats to use. We never had a chance to go out sailing though. The wind was more than they were willing to take a chance on. The water itself was aquamarine and gorgeous. We enjoyed meeting the people from England, Norway, Canada and Germany as well as other Americans. Also of note, lots of kids there...but not once did we see, hear or experience one being rude or disrespectful to parents..or staff. So many things I wanted to be sure and say here and I'm sure I've forgotten half. We can't imagine how anyone could have a bad time at this resort!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Perfect resort for our honeymoon!

    Reviewed by richardmok(Sydney, Australia) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have just spent 7 beautiful nights at the Iberostar Paraiso Maya all inclusive resort for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome, relaxed and felt like home for the next week. There is so much to do, and if you wanted to relax, the pools and beach have so many different areas for you to find your own spot and chill out. The staff are amazing, everyone greets you with a warm smile and they go out of their way to help. Special mention to our concierge Charley, Arturo at the Jambalayan and Israel at the El Tapatio restaurant who made our visit extra special. Be sure to book all your restaurants on the day you check in, the app is also great to do this and has plenty of information about what’s on and the activities available. The concierge in the lobby will be able to help book tours and day trips to Chichen Itza, Tulum, etc. We were recommended this resort from some great family friends of ours and were thrilled now to be able to recommend it ourselves. We would love to come back one day!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX