Ocean Riviera Paradise

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    New resort has to work out the kinks but, great for first attempt.

    Reviewed by Sherry on Mar 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Food was great. Most enjoyed the outdoor entertainment in the courtyard at night. Bowling was fun. Some suggestions would be that they needed more servers on the beach and at the pool. Did not like that at 5 pm all bars at the beach and pool shut down. No where to get a drink except for the lobby. They should also add a smaller breakfast restaurant. Some people don't want the banging and clashing of the buffet and simply want a smaller selection of food, a coffee, and to hear the birds and the ocean in the morning. Also, it could just be that this resort is brand new but, if you are disabled or have problems walking, do not go to this resort. They have trolleys but, are not consistent with the timing. Sometimes, there were two or three going at once and other times, not one in sight and after waiting fifteen minutes, still no trolley. My husband has joint issues and walking the walk from the Eden building to the buffet or lobby was very hard on him. For that reason, we would not go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Very good restaurants and food but overall not a relaxing resort - better for the younger set

    Reviewed by John and Christine on Mar 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food selection and quality were excellent as were the a-la-carte options available. The resort was however very noisy with loud music and general disturbances from activities being heard across the resort from the pool areas. The "Adults Only" El Beso accommodations were the most noisy and disruptive in the whole resort and we were forced to move to the Daisy Childrens' or the Privilege pools to find at least some level of peace and quiet. We would recommend that the "Adults Only" designation be renamed or otherwise described by the hotel and by WestJet. In addition, we would not recommend this resort for "Seniors". The front desk staff were poorly trained and clearly not comfortable dealing with customers - accordingly, they were very inflexible and not at all accommodating. Securing a change of room because of problems with allocated rooms is virtually impossible. We had to enlist the help of the local BD Travel and WestJet reps in order to secure a move away from a pool front room in El Beso at which the balcony was within meters of the pool DJ's, sound system and loud drunken activities! We must thank Katja Grimmig BD Travel and Jason Hawes WestJet for their tireless and effective help and support with our "hotel" problems.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great resort, awesome experience for our first family vacation to Mexico.

    Reviewed by Swanny68 on Feb 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We were a little worried going in after reading the reviews on their Facebook page. Once there we were glad we came, everything was great. Our family really enjoyed our time there, food was great, pool and beach we totally enjoyed. We would go back there no problem, same with the others we were traveling with. The resort had lots to offer for what we expected and were looking for. The only hiccup was the almost 3 hour delay leaving Calgary, but things happen and we did get there and totally enjoyed our week.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8622 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Broadway show

    Reviewed by Vpetkovic() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Omg!! The hotel is really really beautiful, the food is really good and also the people but the show was amaizing really thank you to mellisa xelha tere and ely they are really friendly and beautiful people

    Staying here midweek

    Reviewed by jsal152(Fairhope, Alabama) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Ok, getting average review because I am a tight ass. Staying in El Beso "adults only", except it isn't. This place is overrun with rug rats. Thought I saw it all with meals with crumb crunchers running through the restaurants, picking noses, rubbing asses. Tonight I am at Hookah party in the El Beso adult only section. There are about 20 LITTLE kids running around. ADULT SECTION???? Saxophonist playing great but can't watch because kids running around. THIS SUCKS!! Went to "piano bar" last night. No piano, just kids singing karaoke. Sounded like cats screaming on a fence at night. Playa del Carmen is dangerous at night but I will take my chances compared to nights with kids. It is a shame, the property is beautiful and the rooftop rooms are Awesome. Been to Mexico for last 5 years. Other resorts not as good but the kid issue is a killer. Don't be fooled. NOT ADULTS ONLY!! Never again.

    Amazing family vacation!

    Reviewed by Tokealey(Barrie, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visited this amazing resort with our 6&10 year old girls. The food was amazing. The pools and amenities were exactly as we hoped. And the service was beyond! We HIGHLY recommend this resort for a fun filled family Vacation. The only downside was the snorkelling was not great at the beach - but the 5 pools and water park more than made up for it. We will book H10 resorts on the future for sure!

    Over all perfect vacation for a family

    Reviewed by Ida L(Duncan, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Arrived as a family to find we were all split up in different buildings .All upgraded so I don't think anyone minded .I was given a room that people were already occupying so had to go back to the lobby to be relocated . I found the clerk at reception to be unprofessional and dismissive . She did not apologize for the error ( and the porter mentioned that it was the third time that week it had happened ) I don't believe she made eye contact with me once.Since front desk staff are your first contact at a resort, friendly and interactive should be a basic. When I was finally settled into a room it was all uphill from there. The resort itself was beautiful and easy to locate everything since its basically all down the middle of the two blocks. I was in the Daisy , ground floor right in front of the pool which was perfect for my granddaughter. Rooms were very clean and modern. I was lucky to have Rita as the cleaning lady who made beautiful art sculpture for us every day . Buffet was really close as was the cart that takes to the beach at the other end. We had heard horror stories about hand foot and mouth disease but with 8 of us had no issues at all ( including a 5 yr old ) . There were many families there with small children and no one had had issues while we were there. The food was buffet style and in fairness there is something for everyone. I had no complaints. We ate at the beach restaurant / buffet several times and the food was always great, especially our night we had Luis serve us. He was excellent !! I would say the Japanese was the best with a wide variety of food that we were all given a little of everything. There were some waits but not bad . The beach had pros and cons. The area itself I thought was a bit dense. Not a great swimming area. The water seemed very murky ( possibly because of it being windy ) for me that was the only disappointment. Chairs at the pool seem to be an issue at many resorts so no different here. There were lots of places to sit at the beach with lots of shade and we spent lots of time in the pools so didn't become an issue . Suggestion:- They have a photography store. When you get there set up a " file" with your room number.They have photography staff all over the place and they take random pictures at your request. If you have a file they will add them to the file then at the end when you go look at them you have lots of choices ( or you can walk away with no pressure ) All in all it was a beautiful resort, we even had entertainment but the local monkeys . Great family vacation .

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing Trip!!

    Reviewed by Victoria C() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is my second time coming to Mexico and I was not disappointed! The resort is very clean and family friendly, along with a spot for adults as well! The staff is very kind and helpful; I met Claudio, and he was very friendly and shared insight on all upcoming events happening at the resort. I will definitely be coming back!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX