Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    A

    Excellent Place to Stay!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Mar 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort staff were friendly, hardworking, cared about the details and were always willing to help. The resort is beautiful, you can tell the resort is not brand new, but it has been very well maintained and there is an excellent attention to details. The shop is good, but sunscreen is ridiculously expensive. The gym had essentially all the equipment needed for when on vacation with good music and cool temperature. The rooms were excellent as well. We stayed in the main building and everything was close by and not noisy at night at all. Some of the rooms are in separate buildings which might be inconvenient for some due to the need to walk up many stairs or take a shuttle to the main areas. Our room had a small plumbing leak, but resort staff got on it right away. There was a very nice view from the room, the bed was comfortable, there was lots of storage and the bathroom was good. The food is excellent and there is a huge selection. Each night the buffet had a different theme. If the theme food did not appeal to you there was always plenty of other food options to eat. The only issue I can think of is I wish there were condiments like ketchup, mustard, etc. for the burgers. We only went to the Italian restaurant, but the food and service there was excellent too. The drinks at the various bars were all delicious and there was a good selection. The pools were all great, good temperatures, layout, size and features. The beach was nice, clean, plenty of beach space and chairs and the usable kayaks were good. At the main pool there were always fun activities going on, but they would never hog the entire pool which made them completely optional. The club/disco was not too exciting or special, but that could be a bit because not a lot of people went. There were some evening/night shows that were great. There was an acrobatics show that was extremely impressive and fun to watch. There is also a long bridge you can walk across to get to a nearby island to explore.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4443 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Spectacular Views!

    Reviewed by Carrie W(Dartmouth, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I went on our Anniversary trip here. Before arrival I mentioned that it was an Anniversary trip. When we arrived they had a Happy Anniversary banner on our door and a bottle of champagne and chocolates inside our room :) That was a nice surprise!! Our room was clean, but we did have some type of bug/termite problem on about day 3 that was never confirmed what it was. They didn’t bite and were only in one location (on the dresser). Once we cleaned them they would come back the following morning. Hotel staff did come clean them up once but we never heard anything from them. On a good note, our balcony view was spectacular! There is no reason to upgrade to sea view at this resort because the resort is built high up on a cliff and it has sea view from every room!! Food was good, some nights excellent. The presentation was well done and they always had different themes every night at supper. Fresh omelettes and pasta were delicious! Bacon ?? was good too and they had a huge selection of bread ?? YUM!! There was never a day we went to the beach ?? or pool ????? without having a lounger and you could usually get a tiki or unbrella too!! The beach was small, but nice! The swim up pool bar is great! But make sure you check out the 4 other pools at the villas that you CAN use!! Totally private!! We loved those ones on days we wanted to relax! Drinks ?? were good, lots of selection but NO STRAWS!! Bring a straw for those frozen drinks. Our YETI mugs worked amazing for keeping drinks cold! A La Cartes were nice, clean and food was fair. Surprisingly, the seafood ?? scented soup was tasty at the French restaurant. I wouldn’t recommend the lamb at the Italian restaurant, it was raw, but the spaghetti ?? was unique and delicious! Staff were friendly and bar service was great! Housekeeping didn’t go out of their way to do anything extra special. Not once did we get a towel animal ?? on our bed :( I always look forward to that, so that was disappointing. We always had to ask for extra towels and facecloths too! I didn’t tip them after day 4 of asking. The Spa is exceptional!! True spa experience!! Be careful going into the town of Samana and be prepared to say NO!! They are very aggressive and pushy. We couldn’t wait for the shuttle to come get us. This are NOT cheap in the town, and personally, I wouldn’t go again! It’s all the same stuff. Night entertainment was a 7/10. It was entertaining, but in a small space. If you go on an excursion, bring lots of money ?? of be prepared to say NO lol! Money money money, everywhere we stopped. Hope this info helps and you have a fantastic trip! Be safe, stay on the resort! Trust me...we met people who did things on their own and went to the disco in town, which they say is safe, however that poor couple never did make it home :( May they RIP.

    Beautiful Resort!

    Reviewed by Stacey C(Burlington, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a fantastic time at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa! There are gorgeous views from everywhere. This is a great resort for couples, even though it's not adults only it isn't where I would choose to bring kids. We enjoyed the main buffet for breakfast and dinner and chose to go to the pool buffet at lunch most days. All of the a la carte restaurants were good as well. There are fabulous views from all restaurants. The beach was not huge but was very nice. We went snorkeling and kayaking around the bay, which was free to use. Both pools were very nice. There is another smaller beach area near the villas that was a nice quiet spot to relax. If you have mobility issues there are A LOT of stairs. Yes you can get shuttles and there are elevators but if you need to rely solely on those to get around then pack your patience. We mostly walked it, tooled the shuttles when available. Our room was very nice and clean. The bathroom was very spacious. We were in a villa room. We had a great view of the ocean. The entertainment and music was a bit repetitive but we just laughed it off. If you want quieter then the smaller beach area and the whirlpool pool doesn't have a lot of loud music. We would definitely go back!

    Great views, going back in May

    Reviewed by Annie P(Montreal, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I visited with a friend in September 2018 and enjoyed it so much that I am returning with my husband in May 2019. We were on the Air Canada roulette – you can be sent to the Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa or El Portillo. All the roulette persons in the plane were sent to the Cayacoa hotel. Know that the hotel is perched atop a hill and that there are numerous stairs (101). There is an elevator to go down to the beach and the resort offers a shuttle service that avoids the stairs. I did not use it as I enjoyed the spectacular views while taking the stairs. If you are in the main building, there are elevators to move between their floors. This is a marble building perched atop the hills and the views are simply magnificent,. There are vues to the Samana Bay, the Samana town , mountains views and sea views. As you go up or down the steps, everywhere you look you see fantastic views. We had a corner room on the 4th floor of the main building with a gorgeous view to the Samana bay and town. The room was all marble and extremely clean, good size for standard room. The buffet is not very big but always tasty and fresh, with a grill and regular seafood. I did not get tired of the buffet. The only thing is it is very hot in that room, if there are no breeze, prepare to seat. I will carry a little battery fan as I had to go out of the room twice before finishing my meal as I was so hot I was feeling faint. There are 3 à la carte restaurants, we enjoyed the Italian and the Pescador, the gourmet did not impress us. There is a snack bar near the pool at the bottom of the hill. They served food all day and their fish & ship was tasty and the fish lightly battered. I had lunch there numerous time. I was impressed by the cocktails at this hotel. I favor daquiris, pina coladas and drinks with fruit juices, so top shelf liquor is not an issue for me. What is usually an issue are cocktails made with cheap or power-based juices. The drinks at this hotel were no powder-based. The bartenders would test the drink by tasting it (by putting drops on their hands and tasting, not by tasting my drink??) and would adjust their drinks accordingly, which made for well-balanced drinks. The senior bartender in the lobby-terrace bar made us the best Daiquiri & the best mojito we ever had in our life. The main pool is located next to the main building, has a swim-up bar, activities, and boasts of great sea views as it is up on the hill. I particularly enjoyed the Zumba and the surf-yoga in the pool. Downhill in front of the royal golden buildings is the snack bar, a shallow pool made of jacuzzis, a wharf where there are canopies, and a private beach. The snack bar served a great fish & chip, the fish lightly battered. I had lunch there regularly, looking at the great sea views and the mountain. There is a third pool at the extremity of the resort, there is an actual little pool and jacuzzis. Last September there was no bar at this pool as we were in the low season, but it was my favorite pool, very quiet and surrounded by the forest. The 3 beaches and 3 pools give a lot of choices to where to sit and what kind of atmosphere you desired. The main pool had music and activities The snack bar pool is quieter but can get crowded The far away pool is very quiet and in a natural setting The public beach is not very big and the fact that it is public was not an issue. There is a little public bar and market at the end of the beach. The private beach is not a sandy beach. It has trees and rocks, perfect for snorkelling or quiet lounging. It was low season and the resort was pretty empty, so there was only one show at the disco-theatre, the Michael Jackson show. It was okay. The evening entertainment occurred under the canopied terrace and was pretty low key, with some singing, musicians, but there was no stage for a show. I did enjoy it as I am not a fan of resort shows and loud music. We could lounge and talk and do internet, play cards, sing alone the artists or dance a little. I will be back in 5 weeks!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    WINTER ESCAPE WITH GREAT FRIENDS

    Reviewed by nelnicdintino(Welland, Canada) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa from March 24-March 31, and we were 6 couples in total. Check in actually started at the airport and took about 1 hour before heading to resort. We all had to fill out a paper and was handed arm bracelets and a paper on the information meeting the next day. Upon arriving to the resort we lined up to receive our room and towel cards. Rooms were very clean, we were in room located on the 3rd floor with a king bed. View was gorgeous looking into the town and the bay. Our safe had to be replaced twice as kept having issues with it not working. Service first time took 1hr 1/2 and 2nd time within 20 minutes. Food was over all very good, lots of variety at the buffet. We went to all three al la cartes and loved the sea food one the best (I do not eat sea food but had amazing chicken dinner) Others that had the surf and turf said it was very good. Italian being my last choice.Staff were amazing quickly trying to accommodate our large group of 12. Great service. Entertainment : We stayed at the main pool and there was music and games going on throughout the day. They would have a theme each day around 10 am, one day would be detox offering smoothies and fresh local fruit another day. Competitions with prizes for darts,golf,etc ... Daily they had Yoga on boards in the pool, very cool to try. and the usual pool aerobics. We also went kayaking and snorkeling by the beach and seen many star fish. The walk to nowhere was also a great experience. At night they had shows but the two that I enjoyed the most was the Michael Jackson show and the Circus. At 11 pm the main bar closes but bar open across the main building at the disco....we only went a few times to find very few people. Only concern is 4 out of 6 couples received a call from reception first welcoming us and offering a gift and to come to reception within a time frame. Upon going to reception told they were over booked (we booked in early January and this was end of March) and needed our rooms and we would have to go to the time share below the resort and in return they would let us stay two extra days. My husband told them not possible our flight leaves in 7 days. The male representative told my husband he will not be going home as planned. Another couple we were with was told to come back next morning at 10 am for a meeting to discuss what will happen. We just ignored all further calls. Also beach was small and lots of debris in the water... Over all this resort has amazing view no matter where you are. Service is outstanding, food excellent. Resort was very clean and loved the manager at the buffet always asking how everything was.Customer service manager was also very good and accommodated all our requests that we made one week prior to arriving. All 6 couples were on same floor and accommodated at all 3 AL la cartes. Thank You all at the Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa for a great vacation.....You all work so very hard.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing views

    Reviewed by floralgirl(Georgetown) on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stayed here for a week. We were booked for a Junior Suite, but ended up in a Sea view Room. Our room had an amazing view of the pool, beach and hillside. Everywhere in the resort there is another scenic lookout. The food was good. We went to all 3 a la cartes, and the French was our favourite. The drinks were good but they only use local brands of liquor. If you like name brands or liqueurs you have to pay extra. The main beach with the elevator and the pool were always quite busy. We preferred the smaller beach and could always find a chair in the shade. We snorkelled at the beach and saw nothing exciting. It is safe to swim as there is no coral or urchins there. We usually ate lunch at the restaurant at the beach. We walked to town one day and took the free hotel shuttle back. It is a nice and safe place to explore. We also walked on the Bridge to Nowhere. It is worth exploring also. We didn't participate in the poolside activities but something was always going on. The evening shows aren't great but it is a nice lounge to have a drink. I recommend this resort as long as you don't have a problem with stairs.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX