Roc Arenas Doradas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    This place is Awesome.... No shirt, No shoes and Excellent Service!

    Reviewed by Janine Baxter on Mar 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a group of 9 so the initial check in, sorting out rooms, safes and exchanging money was a bit trying. Probably because of language barriers but always double check and confirm exchange rate and monies returned. If you need anything, extra- water, toilet paper or towels etc ..talk to your maid directly - they are very willing and can make it happen! Front lobby bartenders and the coffee barristas made our trip. Mulatas are to die for -hot or cold. Friendly and attentive always with a smile. It is an all inclusive so the younger crowd liked to indulge, they were rowdy and having fun, some older people did not seem impressed but we had no problem... it is everyone's vacation. Good times and let loose! Definitely try the Italian restaurant across from coffee bar it was the best food there with 5 courses and good music. The free shuttle to Varedero was convenient for shopping and The Beatles bar rocks. Sadly, my only complaint was the beach, littered with cigarette butts and cups. Not any fault of the resort or staff, just guests being ignorant. We did the katamarand -make sure it's hot and not windy, the Havana day tour -a cooler temps best, comfortable shoes are a must, lots of walking and don't go on a Sunday, and the Jeep tour was great. We would definitely do it all again. Special thanks to Roly, Annens and Maria, you are good people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Great family experience!

    Reviewed by Luv2trvl on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first Westjet Vacations experience and also our first visit to Cuba and the Arenas Doradas resort. Although this resort is listed as a 3.5 star, I picked this resort because of my budget and most of all the reviews. My family and I were SO PLEASANTLY surprised by this resort. Proximity from the airport - A! You just want to start your vacation. You don't want to have to travel another 45 - 1 hour after getting off the plane. The WS transfer from the airport was so convenient. Well organized by WS. It's a guided tour along the way. Staff were great! The resort itself - A! Come with an open mind and you'll find the value. Rooms were spacious and clean - A! We brought our two kids age 7 & 3. Lots of activities for them. Mini club and its staff were so awesome. Kids pool - great! Lots of food options for them. Food was decent. Just get creative with condiments. The coffee bar - A+!!! It's Starbucks on Cuban coffee. We stayed in Block 5 and it was such a great room. Ground floor - easy access. Quiet AC. Spacious Room. Love the Villa Style resort so that you don't have to keep waiting for an elevator to get to your room. Beach access was so easy and beautiful! WS staff meets you the following day to help you plan your stay and confirm your return to the airport. Honestly, such great value! Thank you WS. Always a loyal customer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    Perfect

    Reviewed by Hogie on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    The hotel was great. The staff was very accommodating. We would go back in a heart beat. When we first got there the first 2 days were a bit overcast so we went to Varadero the first day then Havana the 2nd. After that the days were beautiful. Town of Varadero fun to walk around. Havana tour was great to learn about the history of Cuba. We would recommend this hotel. Special thanks to Rocio at the front desk who kept her composure even when customers around her are sometimes rude & hi to Jesus at the pool bar. He makes everyone feel very welcomed. We found the food at the buffet good. Good selection, no complaints. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while there. For our anniversary supper we took in the international al a carte, it was perfect. Thanks again Paul & Sandra

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Westjet shouldn't be offering this resort.

    Reviewed by Scott on Feb 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    First of all let me say that our stay was ruined by weather. It was cool and rainy and windy most days of the two weeks we were there from Jan 16-30 2016. The water and beach were truly beautiful but it was a rare occasion to see people braving the often impressive waves. Beach walking was the only way to be close to the water but it was depressing to see people in sweaters and heavy jackets trying to enjoy a walk. It wasn’t that bad every day but the wind was relentless. What I can blame the resort for is the very frustrating time we had in the buffet restaurant. The coffee machine rarely worked properly and the famous Cuban coffee we so looked forward to never happened. Coffee cups were usually absent. We resorted to soup bowls for coffee, until they also were all gone. We had to scrounge up our own glasses, silverware etc on a daily basis. Sometimes we just couldn’t find any. The frustration level rose daily. The staff were overworked and barely had time for a smile. I realize that Cuba doesn’t have access to food we take for granted, but at least it could be hot! The bread and toast were great. The breakfasts were good if you went for fresh cooked eggs. Bacon was nearly raw. If you don’t like cigarette or cigar smoke, stay away from Cuba. Because of the inclement weather most people gathered in the one big bar/lobby area, but unless you went outside to look for a table cool , it was way too smoky for non-smokers. Our room:…..in bldg. 500, top floor…nice sound of waves, very close to beach. No hot water, ever. Water barely trickled out of the sink tap. Very old ugly room. Bathtub was so gross I took pictures to prove it to people. After a week of cold showers I asked for a different room. Got one in 100 bldg. Right close to lobby and ‘mess hall’. It was beautiful in comparison! Like a Mexican 5 star! It was recently renovated. Then evening came and we found out why it was available. We were the closest to the night club and the show stage.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3860 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Veradero destination!!

    Reviewed by traceyrobkara(Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great place to stay. Rooms and grounds are clean... beach is pristine and the staff are excellent! Ruben at the Buffet is awesome and Jesus at the pool snack bar is a smiling professional! Gardeners supplied coconuts and crafts made with the leaves. All staff were smiling and showing us a good time. The ladies who assisted us with medical aid were extremely proficient and helpful. The resort layout is convenient and easy to navigate. Well done and the renovations to the rooms are looking great!

    Wowzer...Fantastic Vacation!

    Reviewed by Susan B(Welland, Canada) on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We got back home a week ago after our stay at Roc Arenas Doradas. WE were not disappointed at all. We love the place. When we first arrived at the resort, the ladies at the reception desk made us feel so welcome. The hospitality is everywhere. Our cleaning lady, the gardeners, the activities directors and animation staff as well as the servers are phenomenal. The staff goes out of their way to please you and make you feel welcome. Rooms; although a bit dated, are clean with the most comfortable beds and pillows. Food is tasty and there is never a reason to go hungry. There is always something to enjoy. Take note that Cuba is under a boycott from the US so food and supplies are sometimes not as plentiful as in the past but never lacking. The coffee bar was my favorite place to get a fantastic cup of coffee. The coffee is so delicious that I drank far more than I do at home. Even in the buffet the coffee is just as awesome. The pool the beach, the grounds are all so picturesque and there is always a place to sit down and rest. Benches or double sided swings are all around the resort. Pool and beach chairs are plentiful along with umbrellas at pool side and palapas at the beach. My daughter and I plan on making Roc our go to place every year and I can't wait to take my husband there to see for himself. We can’t wait for next April to come so we can return…..maybe even sooner!

    The very best so far

    Reviewed by Suzanne Q(Ottawa, Canada) on Jun 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my 4th time to Varadero and will go back to Roc Arenas Doradas, it's my favourite, I stayed in the 300 renovated block and was impressed by the modern decor. The grounds (gardens) where impeccable. The night entertainment was fabulous, the food was good and the staff was pleasant. Would recommend this place without a doubt.

    Room 1110/1102

    Reviewed by Sladja J() on May 31, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great vacation again. Thank u so much for make our vacation pleasant.. we like room .. clean and maid allways give us extra towels water great Beach .. awesome cleam and beautiful staff hreat there Beach restaurant. Nice staff really hard working Pool clean crowded but i dont mind.. bartenders great Resort is great they do removations!! Its really mice Reception .. all girls are great there!!! Love them Yeny is great!!’ My favourite!! Go in this resort u will love it

    BOOK SOMEWHERE BUT NOT HERE

    Reviewed by cyral2019(Winnipeg, Canada) on May 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    THIS IS BASED ON MY EXPERIENCE. FOOD- 4/10 Chef/cooks works so hard. But nothing special with the food. I enjoyed their Cuban day though (Friday). There's one breakfast buffet, 1 lunch buffet, 1 burger snack restaurant opens till 6 i believe, 1 dinner buffet, 1 italian or steakhouse dinner restaurant. Front desk-5/10 Some works really great, some meh. Room chambermaid-8/10 She works really hard yes and I appreciate that but man she always forgets our toilet paper and bottled water. Coffee-9/10 AMAZING! Bartender is super nice too. I wish there's some snacks though. RESTAURANT STAFF/SERVERS-9/10 There is not enough servers but that's okay. They are amazing. BEACH/ BEACH CLEANLINESS-10/10 POOL-7/10 Just packed. ROOM-2/10 Terrible smell in the bathroom smells sewer. AC is leaking on our bed. Bugs and ants in the room and bed too sometimes. Gross bathtub and toilet. If you are staying in Varadero, search some more better resorts. I did not feel like I am in vacation in this resort. I've been to other All inclusive resorts and they are way better. Sorry Roc not coming back ever.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX