Hotel Club Kawama

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    o

    needs renos good beach , good location

    Reviewed by oliver on May 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Single

    hotel needs renos but good location good beach

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Leyda and staff along with the guest from different places made another great holiday

    Reviewed by Brenda and James Power on Apr 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    third time at Kawama for 2 weeks and hope ro return. Had a little medical issue and everything looked after at clinic with no hassle

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    It is our cottage in Cuba.

    Reviewed by Mike Down on Oct 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Have been there 17 times. Cheapest sun vacation available. There are a couple cheaper but not as good as Kawama. Many people complain that to in summer but I find less bugs and rude guests in winter. Take bug screen for lower legs during evenings. Check out videos on you tube.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Would only go on a vacation package deal.

    Reviewed by Marzena Feuchtwanger on Sep 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Excellent access to beach, but pool was a green pool of algae the whole time we were there. Not the cleanest, staff were friendly but at times didn't seem to want to help. Entertainment was very minimal, food was ok. West Jet vacation staff wasnt always on time to answer questions.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    A

    budget vacation to the max!!

    Reviewed by Andrew on Feb 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is hotel is fine if you're looking for a cheap budget vacation. We booked a standard room which was ok, nothing special at all. everything in the room was working fine, beds could have been better. power outlets in room are 110V for charging electronics so adapter is not required. Pool and area was descent, beach is great. The food however was awful, I did find some things to eat on the buffet that were acceptable at best. There are plenty of places to eat outside of hotel within walking distance and even more if you take the double decker bus for 5 pesos, this gets you on and off the bus as much as you like for the entire day. I would return to kawama based on the price alone. We booked 5 days for $520 All inclusive, I doubt you could find anything cheaper anywhere to warm you're feet for a few days, heck you can barely fly anywhere for that price. Don't expect glamour at this hotel, take it for what it is and enjoy your time away.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    F

    Wonderful in every way!

    Reviewed by Fiona on Mar 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Wonderful and better than we expected for what we paid. Food was great, pool a little cool but the beach was amazing. Service was excellent, drinks were great, room standard but clean. Right mix of fun and quiet. Superior room really worth it and bring a pillow. Nice walk into town. Coffee in lobby much better than in restaurant. Will definitely return and highly recommend this place as affordable and wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    We love Kawama. The do everything they can to accommodate.

    Reviewed by Dmae on Mar 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We love this place. Been there five years and plans of going back. Staff are friendly and very accommodating. Food isnt like home but it is very adquate. Staff remember us from year to year. Its our home away from home. What more can I say?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    V

    We had an emergency in the middle of the night with our granddaughter and they bent over backwards to help.

    Reviewed by Victor on Mar 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Great holiday! Room 3*, very comfortable beds, shower was ?? and the air-con was perfect...and normally I dislike air-conditioning. Beach is nearly 1 kilometre long and facilities 5*, food and services 4*. I will definitely return there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2179 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great times

    Reviewed by khendrickson1967(Cambridge, Canada) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My family and I go to club kawama every year. We absolutely love it there. The staff are top notch and the atmosphere there is just amazing. The location is absolutely the best.We always have a fantastic time with the staff and the repeaters.

    Beach itself 5 star but resort and staff 1 star

    Reviewed by Simone7171(Abbotsford) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I did extensive research into what to expect in Cuba and kawama specifically so I was not going in with normal expectations and simply coming out bitter that Cuba cannot match other countries resorts re food and supplies, I brought a lantern, batteries. Towels. Water purification tablets. Snacks toilet paper. I was prepared for a limited all inclusive experience but not the" I could care less "attitude of the staff. Day one we discovered our room had no power after we checked in. The resort did but not our room. The front desk requested our key back to give the repairman (they didn't have one??) and we didn't regain access to the room, now with power til 11 PM. I had my kids with me. No apology or concern at ALL from front desk. Day two: the safe I paid $20 cuc to rent wouldn't open. With all my cash, our passports, and my phone inside. I was given a new key card which also didn't work. I went back. We were told we had to wait in the room for the repairman. He came, got it open, closed it again without letting me get my stuff out and couldn't open it again ever. He didn't speak English. He left and eventually came back with someone else and they left again without saying anything. On my third trip to the front desk (the room phones don't work) they said they were looking for the master key, keep waiting. Then she said seconds later when I wouldn't leave, could I wait until tomorrow because it's in the bosses office. She already knew it was locked in the bosses office til tomorrow but was still going to send me back, to wait in my room while they "looked" for it, after I'd waited hours already, because it was the fastest way to get rid of me. I said no and explained again our passports my phone and all my money was in there and I'd already not been able to book excursions at my sunwing meeting because of it. She said do you want us to break it? I said if it's that our tomorrow then yes, break it. (Or have the boss drive over here with the key, if breaking it is unacceptable to YOU I was thinking, rather than ruin another 24 hours of my vacation ) she said ok wait in the room. Hour 5 my son went down and was referred to someone "in charge" who yelled at someone and told my son they were going to SHOOT the safe. Instead they showed up with a drill and drilled it out after 6 hours of us sitting in our room our first full day at the resort. Turns out all it would have needed was two aa batteries changed while the door was open. They left all the shards of metal behind which the maid cleaned up 4 days later and they never gave me the $20 cuc safe fee back. At this point both of my kids wanted to go home. We hadn't eaten breakfast or lunch because of waiting in the room as instructed for six hours and the facts all my money was in the safe and the back of the buffet smelt so bad it wasn't at option even if I wasnt stuck in my room. (More below) . Our power went out two more times in a week, but once it was the whole resort due to a storm. Club kawama has a fabulous beach and location but it is the lowest class major resort on the Varadero strip. There are cigarette butts all through the sand. Like every few inches, that are never removed. The majority of staff, particularly the front desk, literally don't care at all whatever your issue may be and give you shortest possible answer that will hopefully make you just go away. "Tomorrow" and "one hour" really mean "tell someone who cares" and how dare you come up here to bother me. They sell day passes to the resort, so locals flood the pool and pool bar area creating long lines for anything and despite everything I've read about how nice the Cuban people are, that wasn't my experience of the locals at kawama. MANY of them budge in line VERY deliberately, like they know the mild mannered tourists will just take it, and the staff make no attempt at all to take who is really next. You can ONLY get water, which you must purchase, from this pool bar. In the whole resort, navigating this line is the ONLY way to get water that you still have to pay for. The area behind the buffet building has rotten food juices flowing down twenty feet staining the concrete and pooling on a main path from our room to the pool. Every day. At first I'd literally reassured my son that the resort is old and that building (buffet) must be part of the septic system when we first got a whiff of behind the building and he said NO that's where you eat look at the front of the building and he was right. It smelt so bad (like sewage) my kids literally refused to eat at the resort the entire trip and I couldn't blame them so I had to find restaurants for every meal after paying all inclusive. I had a couple of meals. They weren't good. Juice was in the buffet in the AM, and otherwise none to be had even for purchase in the entire resort even to mix drinks with. No milk no matter what. Lemon slushy and pina coloda slushy are the only mixes/drinks other than canned pop, (pop was free the first two days then we had to pay with no explanation, even with an all inclusive package) The women who would bbq burgers twice a day, which I think is supposed to be the 24 hour snack bar (burgers so gross that I threw mine out while starving and after waiting an hour) would cook to order, making 1-2 orders at a time no matter how long the line. At one point she was cooking ONE burger on a 4 foot grill and meanwhile chatted 5 minutes with a co worker without taking another order after I'd been in line 45 minutes already. They just literally have no concept of customer service whatsoever and truly dont care about your experience unless angling for a tip. The second to last day the maid cleaned up the metal shavings from day two, and then knocked on the door looking for a tip because she was off tomorrow. She promised she would set up a late checkout as I handed it to her because our shuttle came hours after check out. I decided to confirm this at 11:30 on check out day and the front desk had no idea what I was talking about and said they had our room booked for EARLY check in so at that point I couldn't even request it and we had a half hour to pack, then three hours to wait for shuttle with no room. We could check our bags into a small locked room where the attendant hot boxed it with cigar smoke when he was around or carry our stuff around in extreme heat everywhere we went. My son couldn't swim the last day as after the panicked packing he didn't have clothes accessible to change into for the plane if he got wet, because when he tried to gain access to his suitcase again no one was on duty so he had to just sit sweating for hours. The front desk staff spoke SOME English but only use it to put you off. Most speak maybe a few individual words or none at all. Simone

    The worst!

    Reviewed by Tania B() on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have been to Cuba quite a few times and this resort is by far the worst! I love the Cuban people they are always so friendly but the people who work at this resort are not!!!!!! The say you get what you pay for, then for a week at this resort you should only pay $10.00!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    FIRST TIME AT KAWAMA

    Reviewed by sirrender2002() on Jul 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I have been to Varadero 14 times.This was my first time to Kawama.Stayed at different resorts every time and can make an honest review.Kawama rates on the bottom of the scale, almost as bad as DOS MARES.The rooms are dated,furniture broken.When requested a different room i was shown one which was also POOR and the second room we couldn"t get into soo i had to settle to the first room I was given.The lobby staff was ok, although some of the guests were abused and even made fun of after they complained.The bar service was poor and the choices were limited \I tried draft beer and found it warm and flat.I purchased bottled beer at the bar ($ 1 CUC) and took it back to my room to cool it off.The food was below expectation. Huge lineups at the restaurants and lots and lots of beans.Service was also poor. The beach was good, but all beach front resorts have fantastic beaches.(15 miles of of sand and prestine water) The resort seemed to cater to repeat customers. I will return next year and hopefully have a better experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Amazing time

    Reviewed by Zaba62(Barrie, Canada) on Jun 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My oldest daughter and I went to Club Kawama for a one week vacation and absolutely loved it. The ocean was spectacular, the beaches were amazing and the people were very friendly. I am already planning on going back again.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX