Be Live Experience Tuxpan

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    L

    Beach was great rest of hotel needs work

    Reviewed by Lisa W on Jan 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The location of the hotel was good, it has a beautiful beach to enjoy but the hotel itself needs wrk. There were tiles missing in the pool and the resort itself is tired and the room had a musty smell. The bars were very good especially the piano bar. While the restuarant staff was great the food was lacking. The ala cart restuarant was more enjoyable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Mostly loved the people secondly love the hotel.

    Reviewed by Tom on Mar 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have being going to this hotel for the past several years and will go back again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2152 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    High quality & Old School Hotel

    Reviewed by slip20() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I was really happy with this hotel. It's old but everything is as it should. Clean and smooth. I didn't need anything more. The place is great, a few minutes to Varadero Beach. I felt like in an old movie with Johnny Depp or more like The Rum Diary. Watch out for a black, big spider outside at night! The staff is great, they always tried to keep my room as clean as possible!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Relaxing 2 weeks!

    Reviewed by Angela L() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Tuxpan. Yes, the place is outdated but they are working on renovations. Overall the hotel served the purpose. I didn't have to cook, clean or make a bed for 2 weeks , absolutely wonderful! The staff is great. The beach is beautiful which we used daily. We will be returning. Angela & Clem L.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Ok place

    Reviewed by 601237traveler(San Jose, California) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed two nights here with husband, and four year old son. After reading reviews, we lowered all our expectations going there. Check in was very quick. No one to take our bags and welcome us. Got our keys and headed to elevator which we couldn’t tell if it was working. The lights on the button didn’t light up. One employee came over and told us to wait. The elevator door opened and he popped right out. He must have gone to a different floor and rode it back to the lobby. We appreciated that since it would be a hassle to carry all the bags up 3 floors up the stairs. Went to reserve a table at el rancho restaurant at 3:30pm. The guy at the door said come back at 3:30 so I asked him for the time and he said it was 3:30 so he knocked the door for us. Someone opened and said that night was full but we could book for tomorrow and we did. The room was outdated but had everything we needed. AC was working great. Two queen beds put together so we all could sleep on it. They even placed a cot for our son which we ended putting all our luggage on it. The bath didn’t drain and the shower sprayed everywhere including the ceiling. The toilet clogged a few times. We didn’t let those bother us. After putting our bags down, we were hungry so went to the pool bar. It was chaotic with the rain and huge crowd. Some fruits and cold pizzas were self serve. Frozen drinks made from powder and crystal beers were available in tiny plastic cups after waiting in line for 15min. The pool water looks dirty and the tiles seemed to have mold, not sure. That was the only time we went into the pool. Beach was nice but overcast. Had dinner and breakfast at buffet. Plenty of ok food. Freshly made ones had long lines. We found something to eat every time. Freshly grill shrimp was good. Beach bar was disappointing. It’s opened at 10:30 but food was not available until after 12:30 both days. Only burger and fries available on the first day. Dinner at el rancho was great. All the dishes were good except the grill fish was over cooked to dry rubbery texture. Not sure how such a great restaurant could screw up a fish dish like that. Service and atmosphere were excellent. White wine was very good but not a big fan of red. My son was cranky so the server offered to bring out his ice cream before we finished our meal. That was very nice of her. Food was mediocre at best and all the bars served coffee so I was pretty excited. Unfortunately the coffee were not so good like in Havana. The place is outdated with lots of Canadians, Russians and some European tourists. When it rained, lots of puddles everywhere even on the stairs which can be dangerous. The outdoor lighting was poor at night and we didn’t check out any entertainment. Our last morning was a beautiful day with the sun out. The beach was amazing with cool water and gentle waves. Overall, it was ok staying here if you can overlook some of the issues and knowing that this will not be a similar hotel to the ones in Hawaii or Mexico.

    Tuxpan is in need of significat renovations and remodelling

    Reviewed by nancybCancun(West Kelowna, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    When travelling in Cuba it's best not to compare your experience to other countries particularly in the food department. Cuba is a beautiful country, but sadly this hotel is in desperate need of help in many areas. The one restaurant in the hotel has long periods of closure and food was often in short supply and the buffet area quickly became congested and was intimidating at times due to the lack of basic manners demonstrated by the guests. Many parts of the hotel were under renovation and this made basic movement challenging at times. The setting is stunning, however the other issues made enjoying the experience difficult. Elevator has not worked to capacity i.e. the 4th floor in a long time according to staff and the telephones are sporadic at best. Do not expect to roam like home without going to the lobby and buying a phone card.

    EXPECTED EXPERIENCE

    Reviewed by darwinjoseph(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This would be my 3rd visit to Varadero Cuba. The hotel is situated at a great spot. The water was beautiful. The area was NOT over crowded at ALL! The hotel itself, well. Its ok its did its job. Breakfast was typical. Lunch was always the best out of the 3 meals. Dinner was a hit or miss. The 24 hour bar could be better. There is only 1 bar in the lobby so get ready for a line up. The evenings are terrible for line ups for this ONE bar. It was really annoying. The entertainment was ok (something to do I guess) The room was ok. Its not the holiday inn. Typical Cuban experience. Overall the resort was clean.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX