Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    R

    Beautiful relaxing Vacation!

    Reviewed by R. Carchidi on Jan 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Everything was great. The food was fantastic ,a lot of variety . Very good taste in all foods. The staff was very accommodating and genuinely grateful for for our vacation at the resort. We will certainly go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1602 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent vacation

    Reviewed by palmer100(Oshawa, Canada) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I enjoyed the hotel. We were there in February and I am writing this review late sorry about that.We had an elite room which had its own restaurant and bar service. The restaurant we enjoyed as it was not busy and had excellent views and did not feel cafeteria like. We also enjoyed the premier bar service. The beaches in Veradero are world class and primarily why I return to Cuba often. Definitely had to play the towel game at the beach everyday which is a recurring trend, everywhere it seems.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Not the best

    Reviewed by Paulan1964n(Scunthorpe, United Kingdom) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We booked the elite swim up room ADULT ONLY , as we normally only go to adult only hotels but thought this sounded good and a adult only section , well first of all the swim up pool was green with algae,so reported it and went to the beach ,when we came back from the beach kids in the adults on pool , this happened everyday and the pool was still not cleaned , do not except to get adult only except the restaurant on floor 11 , that is the only place they don’t get in , the hotel is very much worn , I did not believe it when I heard the hotel is only 2 years old , dirty dark corridors, after the first week they moved us the the adult only suites on floor 10 now they are amazing rooms , you would think you have gone to another hotel, the only positive thing I can say is the staff on floor 11 bar and restaurant they all made us feel welcome and could not do enough for us , the 2 bartenders Juan and Romelio are the best ever and their trainee Mairelys she was learning very quickly , sorry to say but will not be going back

    cuba 2019

    Reviewed by shaddysdad(West Yorkshire, United Kingdom) on May 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Having read many of the reviews before I travelled (excellent to terrible) I was unsure what to make of it all. The following comments are based on my own experience of the holiday (19/04/2019-03/05/2019) and some of the points I have made reflect on what others had criticised or praised. My observations were as follows; Room:- * Standard room (30514) spacious, clean on arrival and well maintained throughout by a very nice chambermaid * Air conditioning efficient and worked well throughout holiday * Good view of ocean considering this was not an 'Ocean view room' * Excellent hot water throughout holiday at any time of day * No extra charge for reasonable size safe (as in some countries) * Followed instructions for bedding and bath towel changes - no problems there. * Room service was reasonably efficient and free (small tip expected) * Bedside drawers did have a distinct 'aroma' about them * Not sure about the half frosted window to the bathroom which does not give the privacy that some people would want when bathing or showering, (make sure you know your room mate well!!) * Although I did enjoy the deep bath, this could be an issue for the more elderly traveller when exiting. * One key card stopped working, this can be re-configured at reception (apparently placing your mobile phone next to your key card can cause this ?????) * Elevators worked fine in our block for the 1st week, then no elevator for 2nd week (we were on floor 6) - 'staff personnel only' elevator just round the corner and slightly hidden worked fine throughout so we used that! * Chipped tiles in the corridors (not in room) always at the edges no cracks through middle of tiles - poorly laid???? this is a relatively new hotel so a bit disappointing. Pool:- * Big pool, easy gentle access for all ages and ability at the side with a descending handrail on a gradual gradient * Never had an issue with access to parasols which did seem very new so it does look like management have taken notice of previous comments made about the lack of them. * Early risers putting towels on sun loungers around the pool to reserve them, 1st week (over the Easter weekend) was quite busy so by mid morning they did seem to be a shortage, 2nd week was fine. * Pool area where we sat most days was clean, we made sure we put any rubbish in the bins provided. * Foot spas and showers from beach for washing sand off not always functioning and need attention. * Plastic cups for drinks around pool area way to small, 2 gulps and it was gone, - Tip - take your own decent size receptacle (unbreakable of course) and they will gladly fill it up ! Beach * Not a massive beach, a little crowded for my liking, gentle entry into sea, sandy underfoot with very few rocks to catch your feet on * On a calm day wade out 50m to chest height, enjoyable * Red flags up when sea choppy, life guards in the section we used were alert and seemed safety conscious * You had to be up very early to get a sun lounger in the shade of a thatched parasol !! Food/Buffet/ Restaurants This is an area where the hotel management really have to improve on, I appreciate that this is Cuba and they may not have the luxury of certain food items that other Caribbean destinations enjoy due to import restrictions/trade agreements but there is no excuse for lukewarm food that should be hot, I also appreciate that on an all inclusive buffet type menu where the food is pre-cooked and then put out for guests to serve themselves, that yes its is not going to be a piping hot burn your mouth out type of experience, but the equipment that has been installed to keep the food warm and palatable whilst the guests choose what the want to put on their plate must be of the highest quality. * Lukewarm food for most of the holiday * Lack of variety of dishes * Choice for children very poor (other resorts I have visited have had an exclusive children's buffet area which has always been a hit with the kids) * Meat dishes did seem rather dry and uninspiring * Second week of holiday half of the buffet restaurant was closed , ok not as many guests i presume, but this made queuing longer and meant un cleaned tables on arrival in the buffet restaurant * Booking for one of the a-la-carte restaurants was an absolute debacle, this opened at 9.00am to book for the following evening, guests were queuing for this option from 7.00am in the morning in a very disorganised queue, hence we never took this option and decided to take our chance and tackle the buffet every evening. * My biggest complaint has to be the Olas 24 hr restaurant, although a pleasant building near the pool, comfortable to sit in with a nice long bar, this restaurant offers a take your order, bring to the table waiter service with a small set menu. I myself only used this restaurant once after i was served with a very undercooked burger, i did venture in again with friends and family on numerous occasions but not to eat as i refused because of the above. Each time when i did and a burger was ordered it was undercooked. I know that the management response to this will go along the lines of ''all food at our resort is prepared by highly-skilled, professional chefs using fresh and local ingredients. Our food is prepared and presented following strict health and safety codes to ensure that all guests can expect a delicious variety of fresh food for each meal.'' Friends and family made a point of asking that their burgers be very well done even emphasizing that they should be flipped and pressed, flipped and pressed etc, unfortunately our advice was not taken on board and a number of the party suffered from upset stomachs, if i could offer some advice to the chefs when a guest asked for a burger to be well done '' Burgers should be cooked thoroughly until they are steaming hot throughout, the juices run clear and there is no pink meat left inside. 'This is because bugs can be present in the burger and can only be killed by cooking all the way through' Of course this does not apply to anyone who likes their burgers rare, the multi-national chains that sell burgers throughout the world which we are all accustomed to i believe cook the burgers as i have described. I did find some staff unfriendly, but most i encountered were pleasant and polite, our Thomas Cook Representative Ana was a real diamond and more than willing to help and assist. The entertainment staff including the dancers worked hard to entertain and people seemed to enjoy the shows. I hope my comments have not been too rambling but this was my experience, i am not in the hotel trade so know very little about it, i am just an ordinary bloke with ordinary tastes and expectations who saves up his hard earned cash all year to spend on 2 weeks in the sun and just expected more from this advertised '5 Star Holiday'. In retrospect 2 stars is what i experienced, but again this is my own humble opinion It is not my intention to dis-credit anyone who works in the hotel as i believe they are all working very hard, i just think that senior management at Iberostar need to have a good look at how this hotel/holiday package is advertised and make the appropriate changes to ensure that guests actually experience the ''5 Star Holiday'' that they promise them.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    A MUST READ !

    Reviewed by KayTMR() on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    If I can prevent one person from going through what we did here I feel my experience was worth it. Not one good place to start nor would I have enough space to write it all. Please be warned about this place it is not a 5 star by any standard (2 star) Roach infested! after seeing them all week had one jump on me ! in front of staff that looked the other way! The food inedible even for cuba standards. Garbage left in the hallways for days The brand new rooms falling apart. Our dirty towels refolded and put back and changed once all week Same beach towels all week long Cigarette butts, empty bottles and cups all over the beach. (no seating for half of the resort) Elevators that never work. Absolutely horribly rude staff for the most part. Bar tenders that cant be bothered to serve you. I had to buy bottled water from anyone on the resort that I could just so my 3 year old had something safe to drink. Our room wouldn't be cleaned until around 5pm everyday( never well done either) Don't bother ordering room service it wont show up. ..... The pool filthy !!!!!!!! One outdoor shower out of over ten works and floods. Our toilet was not cleaned once our whole stay We never had a fitted sheet so we had to sleep on a cold mattress cover (this was all in member part of the resort) After many more things that I photographed to back it all up. I contacted Iberostar and brought it all to there attention. After going back and forth with them they acknowledged the problems and offered me a extremely insulating amount of money. Weeks later I still have not received any of it nor can I get into contact with anyone ! No one from head office will reply back to my phone calls or emails. I have now tried to talk to sunwing because that's who I booked through they have also given me the runaround. Iberostar is the most unprofessional company I have ever traveled with. They should be utterly ashamed for treating people the way they do and for lying about what you are paying for.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Packed in like sardines on the beach

    Reviewed by Wendykavanagh(St. John's, Canada) on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We visited Varadero Bella Vista March 30 for 7 days. We were told that this was a fairly new hotel, if that’s the case, it needs renovating . While the building is lovely, easy to get around, it does have a few pitfalls. We upgraded to the elite status so we had the option of the roof top restaurant for breakfast and lunch as well as la cartes for every night. We went to the buffet for desert one night and couldn’t believe how small an area it was for such a large resort. He food at the roof top restaurant was good, staff were very attentive and very friendly. Overall, the food was decent, nobody went hungry. The beach is way too small for this resort, not enough chairs or tikis. My husband went to the beach at 6am every morning to get four chairs for us and our guests. He would stay there until we came down. The staff tried to stop him by saying he wasn’t allowed to claim chairs until 7 but the staff were holding loungers for guests for a fee. There was a fight started over chairs that were “paid for” but someone else was on them. The security on the beach was non existent, we had our expensive floats stolen off our chairs while we were on the beach. Staff is too busy talking up guests who are giving them drinks and gifts. We also had prescription cream stolen from our room. 2 tubes disappeared from our suitcase. This was our 6th trip to Cuba, we have never had a thing stolen before. I went to the front desk and the staff were rude and confrontational when I mentioned I had things stolen. The problem at this resort is that it is not being managed properly. We went to guest services twice and it was never addressed. We asked to see the manager but it never happened. They wanted us to name the staff involved, we refused, not our job to get people fired. Manage your staff and the resort will be a better place to visit. The rooms were large and bright but the bathroom set up was odd. Glass window in the shower allowed anyone in the room to see right through to the toilet and whoever was sitting on it. Not that it mattered because the sliding door to the bathroom was broken and wouldn’t close. Workers came right away but couldn’t fix it twice, it got fixed our last day. They never even had proper tools, no hammer. This is a good resort for people who have limited mobility and don’t go to the beach as long as you don’t mind waiting for the elevators. Everything is close and not a long walk.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX