Barcelo Huatulco reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.5 Excellent

  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.0
  • Service 4.5
  • Value 4.0

7150 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Pretty good!

779kristend (Calgary, Canada) on Nov 18, 2021

The staff were friendly and helpful. The service was great! The facility was clean and well maintained. The rooms are roomy, comfortable and bed was comfortable. The beach was amazing. The pools were good even though I only swam in the adult pool once. The food was pretty good from the buffets. What I didn't like, was the absence of a beach bar or some outside mingling place for adults. As for a public social gathering, they only had the lobby and small bar inside the resort. It says they have a gym and workout facility, but I never seen one or anyone who looked to be using one. I never asked about it. Maybe it was closed because of covid. The theater is indoor, as well as the bar. I enjoyed the resort during the day but found the nights there kind of boring. Overall, it was okay.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 2 out of 5

Booking Nightmare

T7982QMemilyn on Nov 15, 2021

I've been trying desperately to book my wedding at this resort and have been left with nothing but disappointment. After speaking with the wedding coordinator at length about options, we decided to make Barcelo Huatulco our wedding venue. After confirming available dates with the wedding coordinator, I requested she send me the contract to review, sign and pay the deposit on. This was Oct 20th 2021. I did not receive a reply. I did, however send follow up emails on: Oct 21, Oct 22, Oct 29th and Oct 29th. No reply. My sister (who speaks Spanish) called the resort on Nov 2nd and was promised the wedding contract would be sent to me that day or the next. It was not. So I emailed another follow up on Nov 4th. No reply. I then contacted the resort via Facebook on Nov 6th and got a reply on Nov 8th saying the wedding coordinator would be intouch shortly. She was not. I sent a final email on Nov 11th. I have completely lost faith in this business. We love Huatulco but will be changing to another resort. I am a faithful Barcelo customer and absolutely love their resorts/staff in the Mayan. It's really too bad that this has been handled so poorly as it has taken the excitement and fun out of wedding planning.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Room was great!

microfiche1962 (Kelowna, Canada) on Nov 09, 2021

We chose the Barcelo mostly due to their advertising that the PCR test was available on site. This was our first venture out since March 2020 and we wanted to ensure that that part was stress free ?????? It wasn't. We were on the first WestJet charter since COVID-19 and they hadn't quite worked out the bugs. The first thing we noticed was that there were very few staff who were bilingual and our Spanish sucks. This was perhaps way more of an issue now because COVID-19 protocols require MUCH more direct interaction with the staff, from questions on the PCR test to the buffets where nothing is self serve any more. Even condiments require getting someone's attention. I have a hearing impairment so that does not help. We ended up deciding to use WestJet's recommendation for the PCR test even though it was 1000 pesos more. In hindsight, it was a good decision. We found out later that the Barcelo lab required the test to be taken at minimum of 72 hours in advance of departure, which is useless to Canadians at this point as we must get it done within 72 hours of leaving. Then Barcelo would not let the WestJet recommended lab on site because they had their own lab. ?? Fortunately the lab sent a vehicle to Barcelo to pick us up and take us to the lab and also return us without extra charge. We got our results within 25 hours, so that was great. Our room was great, the staff cleaning our room were OUTSTANDING. The food was OK, more local focused than we are used to, perhaps because they had a large number of locals checked in for the local holidays? We really missed having a coffee shop on site, we often would have liked to have a coffee between meals but it is not really set up for that. They didn't have all the a la carte restaurants open so we only managed to get into a couple of them. My wife is more of a foodie than I am and overall she was unimpressed. Hard to say how much of this was due to COVID-19, we spoke to some people who come back here religiously. Overall, for our tastes we preferred Dreams that we were at in Dec 2019. Nice resort, but maybe just not our style.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Great value!

ericbegins (Huntsville, Alabama) on Oct 13, 2021

It's tough to complain for the amount we paid. We had a Premium Level, ocean-front suite that was FANTASTIC. Plenty of room for a family of 4. It was actually 2 adjoining rooms where one room had been converted to a living room with table, couch, etc. Strangely enough, though we had booked this huge room with a family of 4, the only sleeping option was the king-sized bed in the main room. The couch in the "living room" wasn't a pull-out. And, while it slept well for our 12yo, it wasn't ideal to have our 7yo sleep with us while on vacation. Luckily, a call to the front desk got us a rollaway that we were able to use for the rest of the trip. Service in the Premium lounge was great - Deyna was VERY helpful, patient and kind. I did not catch the name of the server(s) in the lounge, but every time I was there, they were great - especially when it came to making Tequila selections! :) Restaurants - we didn't find out until we got there that the non-buffet restaurants have a dress code. The dress code basically boils down to requiring men to wear long pants and covered shoes. This can be jeans and athletic shoes, but the requirements seem fairly strict. But, have no fear - DEYNA TO THE RESCUE! They have loaner pants! I'm not sure if this is a premium-only perk, but she hooked me up with a pair of black pants that I was able to pair with my Nikes to gain entry into the Italian and Mexican restaurant. Speaking of - I'm not sure how it works, but when we arrived on Monday for a 5-night stay, we only had the opportunity to book 2 restaurant reservations. We chose the sushi restaurant for night #3 and the Mexican restaurant for night #4. The sushi place is VERY small. When we showed up, we were initially told it would be another 15 minutes. After that, we were told it just wasn't going to happen and they re-routed us to the Italian restaurant. The kids had their heart set on sushi so they were a little disappointed, but the Italian restaurant was good, so not all was lost. And the Mexican restaurant was excellent. Americans - I knew this wouldn't be the typical Cancun/Puerto Vallarta experience, but I didn't expect to stick out *quite* as much as we did. But that was fine for the most part - we love being immersed in Spanish culture. We found almost everyone to be VERY warm, patient and helpful with us as we dealt with the language barrier. We had a big laugh with our server at Tortugas as we ordered "horchata" and received a spoon ("cuchara"). :) We did have an embarrassing incident with a life guard making fun of our meager attempts at communicating with him in Spanish. It could have been good-natured, but it certainly made us uncomfortable as everyone around us laughed. Also, the COVID test that was required for US re-entry was a bigger deal than I had expected. To get the test documentation required, we had to go to the front desk and provide our passports to book an appointment. With the time-sensitive nature of this process, that added a layer of anxiety. We were able to schedule an appointment within the required window and were told that the doctor would just knock on our door at the specified time. I didn't have a good feeling about that, but he did show up at the scheduled time. However, the charge for this service, for 4 people, was $333 (US), paid directly to the doctor in cash. Luckily there were ATMs on site because we didn't bring nearly as much cash as we needed. Beach - unfortunately, the beach was red-flagged the entire time we were there. We tried to venture out a few times, but it was just too rough to swim. But Ricky (Elvis??) and the rest of the crew at the rental hut were extremely helpful with life jackets, kayaks, etc to help deal with the waves. But, overall it was a fun experience. Huatulco is gorgeous and most of the people we encountered were very nice, patient and accomodating.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Barceló is so very special

barbaraeL1075EV on Sep 15, 2021

Our stay was absolutely fantastic. We enjoyed every minute of our time here. Dayna is so personable and kind. She made us feel so very special. All of the employees go above and beyond to give the best service possible. I highly recommend staying at Barceló in Huatulco.

View All