Oasis at Sunset reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.0 Very Good

  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.0
  • Service 4.5
  • Value 4.0

1981 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Wedding nightmare

Day0906111 on Oct 13, 2021

Myself and my husband booked our wedding with the hotel in June 2018 for a wedding date of 4/4/2020. Throughout the time from June 2018 to March 2020 i paid the hotel Sunscape Splash/Cove (Name changed to Oasis at Sunset Montego Bay) $11233.50 USD for a scheduled wedding on April 4th 2020. On March 17th 2020, the Global Pandemic of Covid 19 hit closing all borders and the hotel/Resort. We were understanding and changed our wedding date to October 9th 2020. In June 2020 the Owner of the Hotel Sold the hotel to a New Owner and decided to start renovations canceling our new wedding date of October 9th 2020 and postponing it to February 14th 2021 as renovations were due to be done by December 2020. In February of 2021 the hotel contacted us stating that they were canceling again BECAUSE THEY ARE STILL RENOVATING. At this time we informed Antoinette Watson and Carol Slee (Vice President) that we would like to cancel for our refund. On the flip side the hotel had over $100,000 of our guest money held up and our travel agent Liberty Travel contacted an attorney in order to get our guest their refund processed . The hotel VP Carol Slee says this was only wired and done because the hotel did not want to be sued by liberty travel and that money is currently tied up.  Recently we were told that the hotel has run out of money due to not being able to be open and renovations but we paid $11233.00 and are now out of money that they have not refunded . The pandemic caused us here in the USA to NOT have our dream wedding , lose jobs, have to move and now have a child on the way and we NEED OUR MONEY. This is illegal to be holding our money this long  !! We want our money please . 

TripAdvisor users rated this property 2 out of 5

Why not to consider this resort

ShreyaS803 (Mississauga, Canada) on Apr 04, 2020

Overall my experience was negative and the cons outweigh the pros... So I don't have much positive to say about the resort. Rooms: It's a family resort but no elevator so it was difficult when they couldn't accomodate our 1st floor request for part of our stay. We had to carry two strollers up and down the stairs everytime we took the kids out. Rooms: We also requested a crib for the baby - it arrived 7 hours after we got the room and only because I called them 3 times to followup. Once the crib was set up, the room was so tight we had zero walking space... We would jump across beds to get to the door. Kids food: Food for kids was very limited, and the limited variety was poorly made. For example their pizza is made on flatbread that is hard and stale (pic attached). Pasta at the restaurants had no flavors not even salt. Fries were the only decent option for kids (is that even considered a meal?) Food: Their buffet options are quite limited, and the flavors are just not upto par. One evening we ordered a basil pasta and there was no basil (pic attached)! And the pasta sauce was a low quality bechamel sauce without any seasoning or spices. Ordered risotto another time and the vegetables were raw and not even slightly cooked/sauteed. They don't have any smoothies or fresh juice at buffet. We traveled with a vegetarian in our group and they pretty much ate potatoes and pasta due to limited options. The bars: drinks at only the lobby premium bar are good, but other bars on the resort watered down the drinks quite a bit. The bars and pools open pretty late - I think 10 am it was. We also got scammed by their onsite photographer, and the resort provided zero help. We purchased two photos from them and were informed that the photos would be emailed later that day (we were checking out the same day so we left in a hurry to catch our shuttle.) When we landed back home we saw they only emailed one photo. It's been 4 months with several follow up emails and pretty much pleas from my end - which the photographer has ignored over and over again, and the resort has offered zero help in this situation. The photographer works out of the resort lobby and not once did the resort bother to followup for me. Resort continuously ignored my request for help and refused to speak to the photographer to see what the problem is. It was out first trip with our newborn and so the photos served an important memory to us and still absolutely no care by Sunscape Cove, its head office AMR Resorts, nor the photographer. After multiple requests and emails to all these people, it's unfortunate but I never recieved the photo with our baby or a response.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Heaven on Earth

169erinj on Mar 21, 2020

Taking a trip here during the nationwide pandemic is not ideal circumstances, but we LOVED every minute of it! The location was amazing with several beach areas (one right outside of our first-floor hotel room)! A swim-up bar area, lazy river, and several spots for kids. They had a game hut full of items for entertainment, vendors lining the inside of one bar area for travel free shopping of local goods, and so much more! The food was incredible! Five restaurants were available for splash members and two additional restaurants since we were staying at the Cove. At many all-inclusive places, the food can be a drag, but this was no joke! From appetizers to entrees and desserts, everything was delicious. Shekira started off our mornings serving us at the restaurant with such amazing hospitality. The best part of this place, by far were the people that were caring for us. They were always incredibly nice and genuinely wanted us to do nothing but relax and enjoy our time. Shaun, the first man we met, took our bags and refused to have me help, saying this is your paradise and no help is needed. Then we met Tiffany, a wonderful front desk person who helped us to upgrade our rooms from the Splash resort to the Cove. Carlisha and Vinroy, our butlers, took incredible care of us! Making sure we had everything we needed and could always be in contact with them. They truly went above and beyond to provide for us as guests. The bartenders always had a great signature drink and a smile on their faces! Some of our favorites were Shemar, Novar, Cruze, Richard, and so many others! OD came around on the segway by the beach and showed us how to ride it! Really fun guy and always helpful when we needed him! The spa was incredible and the staff there are amazing! They explained each service to us and made sure to provide such great care of us during our massages and facials! Mr. Wise was a great tour guide for our downtown shopping excursion! Offering great advice and guidance about where to shop and how the folks in Jamaica operate. I could say so much more, but just know, THIS is the place in Jamaica that you want to be!

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Wedding, Honeymoon, Vacation

NicoleandJason311 (Windber, Pennsylvania) on Mar 18, 2020

Beautiful country, resort and friendliest people that work very hard to make sure you enjoy your stay. We got married on the beach and enjoyed several excursions. All the staff was wonderful especially Carlisha our butler she was awesome all 8 days of the trip. The wedding department was great and made our day special. Can't wait to go back for our anniversary

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Good food, friendly (kitchen) staff

F7705XZdaveb on Mar 11, 2020

Food is pretty great, and the entertainment is nothing to complain about! The staff is friendly EXCEPT for the towel booth “gentleman” and the “life guards”. Towel service guys are incredibly rude when you ask for a towel If they’re out (how are we supposed to know, make a sign or something) the “life guards” are incredibly rude and the one at the top of the slides is literally SLEEPING on the job. However, the kitchen staff/waiters are all so incredibly kind.

View All