Bahia Principe Grand Bavaro reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.0 Very Good

  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.0
  • Service 4.0
  • Value 4.0

11881 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

No Refund after 4 months!

Sofie_Co_1996 on Sep 15, 2021

I booked the hotel for 2020, due to Covid it was canceled. We booked again for September 2021 with the flexible rate (100% cancelation). In May 2021 I send a lot of emails for canceling my vacation (Switching job). Finally on 28/5/21 they canceled it. Till now I didn't received a refund. I send a lot of emails, and they always assure me that the money will arrive soon on my bankaccount. It's now 4 months later... I'm getting very impatient and upset.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!!!

Sybil2950 on Jun 29, 2021

Unfortunately this was the worst trip my family and I have ever experienced. We love traveling multiple times a year and never in a million years expected this outcome. We booked our vacation months in advance, we departed Friday June 25, 2021 and was suppose to return June 30,2021. We were registered to stay in the Bahia Principe Bavaro. We were also dropped off at this property, after waiting on an hour-long check in line to our surprise we were told we were at the wrong side of the resort, we waited on a resort cart and were driven to Bahia Principe punta Cana.           Upon arriving we checked in and were taken to our rooms. Which were 8107 & 8110. To my surprise the room was unlivable, dirty sheets, filthy bathrooms along with a broken patio door and broken light fixtures and holes in the walls. I was astonished, after dropping our luggage we took a cart back to the main desk trying to speak to a manager about the unfit conditions of the room. We were met with workers repeatedly saying “sorry no speak English”. The following morning (June26, 2021) I woke up in pain and called the resort medic, and there was no one who could understand me on the phone.             Disgusted with the reality of this trip I called Jet blue to air out grievances to someone who would listen. Later that afternoon after many calls with a Jet blue representative we booked a COVID test on the property being that we had successfully booked a early returning flight.  We were approached by a head manager named Alberto and the assistant manager Pedrito, they explained that we were placed on this side of the hotel due to a Dominican Holiday and that side was overbooked (The representative I spoke to let me know that they were told that portion of the property was closed). They offered a change of room, champagne, two persons spa treatment (even though it was a group of four). We thanked them but declined and let them know we would much rather end our trip early. They said okay and we returned to our rooms.          To our surprise room “8110” door keys was disabled. We returned to the desk and they gave us new keys. I returned to my room and the keys were still DISABLED. By this time I’m exhausted from traveling back and forth. I went into my sister's room “8107” and called the front desk. We sat waiting for a locksmith for (3 hours). There was no urgency or concern, and honestly I had begun to feel like things were being done deliberately, because we declined their offers. The morning of the checkout (June 27, 2021) we made our way to the front lobby like the jet blue representative told us to do. She told me on the phone the prior night that she scheduled us a shared transfer with BD experience and the pickup would be at 8am.                 According to the front desk they had no 8am scheduled pickup, but instead had at 9:30 am pickup. We expressed that that would be cutting it close being that boarding of our flight began at 11:03am. We were ignored and ended up paying a taxi to take us to the airport. Thank GOD my family and I made it home safe this afternoon (June 27, 2021). Upon arriving and going through customs my daughter's passport was flagged, it was registered under a Hispanic man. She had to be taken to a back room to speak to homeland security. This may be a mere coincidence but I cannot help but feel targeted. I cannot help but think about the three hours my daughter and I were locked out of our room with ALL of our personal belongings inside. Below I will attach all photos and videos.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Girls trip

AmazinA1 (Chicago) on May 27, 2021

Overall we had a good time. Nice resort, the entertainment for adults was dull after the first two days. Stayed 5nights. Swim up bars were closed. The room lights were very dim. Very dim! Staff was really nice. The mosquitoes were definitely biting, make sure you bring repellent. The food was just ok, nothing special about it. I don’t remember anything to brag about. Oh the seaweed was ridiculous, better to just get in the swimming pools. The spa- massage was great! I would definitely try another resort if I returned.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Caribbean

GiulianaMartino1 on May 03, 2020

I went a few years ago and I loved it. The food was amazing, the rooms were always clean and what can I say about the beach? Was fabulous. A light blue sea next to white sand, I was fascinated! I would love to come back and visit Saona Island

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Not 5 star

marie h (Sheffield, United Kingdom) on Apr 10, 2020

On arrival looks great. Gardens are amazing but rooms very old needs a refurbishment. Food was ok not amazing but you would not go hungry. Booking restaurants ok but repetitive Indian was awful. Drinks not good not enough information as to what you can have.and also other hotels are in the same complex and was refused s drink as we wasnt from that hotel its very confusing!! Everything is about tipping which we didnt mind as all the staff work hard and long hours for little money. If you give them a couple of dollars they will look after you .the men thst drive the little buggy which takes you around complex are very miserable and loose out on tips .all in all an enjoyable stay but definitely not 5 star and too big next time i would look for a more smaller hotel where you can get a drink or food from anywhere. Can I say hi to Jose in the restaurant you work so hard my friend .

View All