Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection
    6. Finest Playa Mujeres by The Excellence Collection review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Great for families

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a great resort for families. The pool and waterpark are great for kids. The pool is also divided and has an adult section. So you can put the kids in camp and have some quiet time with adults. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The restaurants are great. So many that we couldn't even try them all. The room service was a bit lacking. Food was bland. Overall, a great stay for all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Not a 5 * any more! 4 hours for food! Musty stinky rooms!

    Reviewed by The Family Trip Planner on Apr 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is going to be a bittersweet review. I love Mexico and it's people. That still applies! But this was supposed to be a week at a 5 star, expensive property that came highly recommended. We have been terribly disappointed by Finest. We booked it August 2016 for a mini family reunion in April 2017. We had 3 swim-up suites booked with a request that they be as close together as possible. I realize there are no guarantees. The request was on file and I emailed the property who did email me back about a month before our arrival, as a reminder. The front desk clerk must've been new and did not know the property layout. He had us in the same building and assured us "07" and "08" are next door to each other and "04" is just three doors down, same side. Well, not so much! 04 and 07 were on same hallway, 3 doors apart but 08 was on a different corridor altogether. So, quite spread out and two of the rooms 07 and 08 are at intersections of pathways so quite busy areas -- not the best locations, for sure. Anyway, moving past that first let down! The rooms - all 3 - smelled severely musty/mouldy. To the point that allergies were triggered and headaches. Most noticeable when you left for a meal and returned. Housekeeping staff did their best with a lightly scented cleaner and I would think it was gone, 30 min later it was back. Horribly unpleasant. Way beyond that tropical scent that comes home on your clothes. This was nasty! The staff generally were great, just couldn't do enough for you, honestly! The problem is there's not enough staff! Where it's noticeable is in every single restaurant and bar. These men and women are run off their feet! The same person is hosting, clearing, taking orders, serving...maybe cooking, lol? I started to wonder when one night our meal took 4 hours! Not by choice!! Property is only 3 years old maybe. Corona contract ended 6 months ago so no Corona on site! New management perhaps??? Somethings wrong and it's not the staff's fault!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Amazing family resort!

    Reviewed by Ang on May 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was the first time we took our children 7 and 8 years old on an all-inclusive vacation and it couldn't have been a better time. The resort was amazing and we loved that we didn't have to make a reservation for dinner. The staff treated us very well throughout the resort. Our room was spotless. We loved the free wifi throughout the resort and we didn't find it slow at all anywhere on the resort. The food was excellent...but just be aware that you you cannot dine with shorts, t-shirt and flip flops except at the buffet. The drinks were free poured and it was the first time we actually had waiters serve us pool side consistently! The beach had ample loungers and we didn't find it crowded at all. We will be back again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort. Great water park for kids.

    Reviewed by CBFreeb on Jul 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is located in beautiful Playa Mujures which was approx 30 mins from the Cancun airport. There are two water park for the kids. One was for ages 3-6 and the other was for ages 7-12. The older kids' park was fantastic! There is also a playroom with pool, air hockey tables, etc. The resort had lots of live music which was fantastic. The night of the 'beach party' they had an amazing band and a colourful dance floor. The whole family had a blast. There were 8 restaurants and a few bars. The buffet was really good as they have chefs that will prepare your eggs, or grill meat for you right on the spot. Overall the food at the restaurants were really tasty. However, be sure to read the dress code prior to leaving. Men were required to wear long pants and closed toe shoes for the majority of the restaurants so be sure to pack those in your suitcase. They will request that you go back to the room to change. Also, plan to go to the restaurants when they open, otherwise the wait could be fairly long. The service at the restaurants were fairly slow potentially due to being under staffed. It was probably the biggest complaint of our trip. The rooms were really spacious - our room had 2 double beds and there is a pull out sofa. The fridge was well stocked with beer, pop and water. They also stocked the room with chocolate bars, cookies and chips. In addition, the hotel supplied bottles of vodka, rum, wine and tequila in the room...all included! The showers are really big but there are no drapes or curtains which would require coordination if you have older kids sharing the room with you. We will probably go back to this resort but may want to see if the service time improves over time. I hope it does because it was a beautiful resort, with friendly staff and great amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    WOW!!!!!!

    Reviewed by EK on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beyond amazing! The rooms are beautiful and a great size, the staff are so wonderful and made sure everything was satisfactory when ever we came accross them. The Japanese restaurant was incredible and the Market Place Buffet was the best I have had in Mexico. I can not say enough about our wonderful experience at The Finest Playa Mujeres and will be back ASAP!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6424 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Finest of the Finest!

    Reviewed by Srasaboor(Orlando, Florida) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in the Imperial Suite with Private Pool. Our personal concierge, Victor has been amazing! We have wanted for nothing and have been treated like royalty. Our cabana boys, Carlos, Alejandro & Diego are also terrific. We have fresh towels, fresh drinks, lunch by the pool and anything else we want! We also had the Beachside couples massage with Magdalena & Shirley. They were great and put us in our relaxation sweet spot. We highly recommend this resort.

    Ok at first

    Reviewed by Neil C() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    As previous guests at The Beloved and would have revisited had it not changed to adults only, we thought the offering would be quite similar.... OK, Let’s start with the best bits - nice and relaxing - really nice room (finest club swim up) - friendly resort staff - generally good quality food - awesome service from Daniel at the swim up pool bar - good spa service from Getsy - decent in room mini bar - good quality gym (although can get hot and sweaty at busy times) Now the not so good points - no control over people in non swim up rooms using the pool outside our room - your room might not get serviced until after 1600 hours (happened to us 11 of 13 days so far) - Market dining can be a bit bland and the section where they cook steaks/chicken can be very slow .... indeed tonight there was nobody behind the counter for over 5 minutes. Pizza this evening was over cooked and stuck to hot plate - Dumas beach bar chicken can be under cooked - I’ve had raw sections twice this holiday so far, probably the demand is too great for the small grill - a la Carte restaurants are ok if you are prepared to wait in excess of half hour or get there before 1830. We (wife and I) visited the french (40-50 minute wait), teppanyaki (30 minute wait despite several empty tables), and surf and turf which had two empty tables - couple in front were told 30 minute wait so they walked off and we were then told 40-50 minutes .... hmmm, let’s do the math? :) At the start of the holiday I would have booked again, but given my experience to date, would think twice. Not quite Exellence.

    Super amazing!

    Reviewed by Global607268() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the moment we arrived at this fantastic resort we have been treated with the most outstanding service! The concierge team have done everything they could to make our holiday so special! A big shoutout to Diago, Damien, Angel, and Emilio from the Finest beach club for always looking after us so well. Also Sara in the concierge lounge for arranging the room that we wanted from our last stay in here at the Finest. A special mention to Francisco and Sean in the Finest beach club for being amazing waiters and always there to help us with anything we needed. Thank you to Javier in the Surf and Turf and Javier in the Tapas. Both of them were fantastic on our nights out at these great restaurants. This is a fantastic resort and we will most definitely be returning.

    Cousin’s wedding

    Reviewed by BonnieStray(Salt Lake City, Utah) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my first time in Cancun at an all-inclusive resort. The dinners we had at Dukes at Lizos were great, but the breakfasts and lunches didn’t wow me, except for the pop-up taco bar. Those were authentic and delicious. Also, smoothies at the juice bar rocked. Our room was fine. There was no view of the ocean, but we could see one of the pools. Get to the pool or the beach early to stake out a spot. They fill up quickly.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    the best trip

    Reviewed by Lwillson1() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were in finest around one week, my children were staying in kids club all day, while my wife and i spend time together in the restaurant in the nigth we go to the piano bar and we had a romantic dinner, in the market kitchen Margarito always was attentive, also went to the spa and we had a babysitter who did not remember his name, we had a great hydrotherapy and ivan helped in the treatment all time and he never left us alone and he xplain step by step. we Will come back in december, finest resort is the best resort and the people is very attentive.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX