Hyatt Ziva Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 9637 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    THE BEST!!!!

    Reviewed by Deweyj23(Las Vegas, Nevada) on Oct 23, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have stayed at many all inclusives in Cancun but Hyatt Ziva is the best in our opinion for a variety of reasons. #1 The staff. Amazingly friendly, attentive, and lots of fun! #2 The food! High end quality meats, food, drinks and restraunts unlike many other more expensive resorts. #3 The beaches. You are surrounded by water on three sides. This makes for amazing beaches and fun times in the water with ability to always find a great spot and not be surrounded by people #4 You can find a party or read and sleep on the beach/pool #5 Being from Vegas we dont choose resorts based on pools because we could care less. But Hyatt Ziva has huge expansive beautiful pools #6 not a ton of kids and after 5 times of being there if they do have little ones they tend to be at one pool and adults tend to be on the other side at another pool #7 Service!!! #8 Best COVID experience available. They are crazy careful, masks, social distancing, sanatizer everywhere! Feel way safe!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Better than expected

    Reviewed by Alisha S() on Oct 21, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This place was amazing! The staff is amazing! Let Ivan, Irma, Vianey, Bernardo, and all the others pamper you during your stay. AC works great, bed comfortable. Perfect stay even after Hurricane Delta

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Outstanding resort

    Reviewed by stevelS4645BT(Greensboro, North Carolina) on Oct 19, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wow! This place is great! From the time I arrived to when I departed. The resort is very clean and the staff is super friendly. They have plenty to do at the resort including entertainment,kayaking,plenty of great restaurants. Thanks Juan Daniel for the great service at the pool. ????

    Good Hotel, Great Location, Awesome Staff

    Reviewed by shackrock(Cincinnati, Ohio) on Oct 19, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First, mandatory "we went during COVID-19" note... COVID/MASKS: The hotel was at ~25% capacity due to Covid-19 and government regulations in Mexico. I assume this meant less staff, but of course also far less guests - which was welcomed for our relaxing stay. The hotel had sanitzer available throughout which was nice. We are very conscious about mask wearing as we don't want to contribute to the virus spread and do our part. The hotel required masks on the property. The staff was excellent about proper mask wearing - I never saw a single employee without one. The customers, however, were not. I'd say 95% of people on the property didn't wear their mask after they got there on the property. Of course I would expect this when dining, drinking, or at the pool with proper social distancing, but otherwise I was expecting mask wearing especially indoors. It was not enforced very well and I would say we were one of the only groups to wear the mask when walking around or indoors (except for dining/drinking). I wish that was a bit more enforced, actually, or that people were just more respectful when you're walking or sitting near others. THE PROPERTY/LOCATION/GROUNDS: Considering there was a hurricane a week ago, the property looked great. They were still cleaning up and repairing some things, but it didn't bother the stay or trip. The view is probably the best on the coast there, as the property is on the corner and has 75% views of the ocean. 2 large pool areas. 2 beach areas. One beach area is quite large and has a lot of chairs and umbrellas. The water and beach/sand is immaculate. The hot tubs (there were 2) did not work, they were the same temp as the pool, that was also a disappointment. THE STAFF: Amazing. Super attentive, super nice and respectful, as I noted always wearing masks, and genuinely great people that are nice to talk to! 5/5 for the staff. THE ROOMS: Quite clean. I am probably most picky about the rooms in most places I stay as the properties tend to age and maintenance/cosmetic repairs are hit or miss as time goes on. The room was in decent shape. It was a suite, and it had a balcony with a Jacuzzi on it. The windows didn't open which was a total bummer, but I think that must be common for the area due to high temp and humidity and AC costs. The Jacuzzi had a broken drain but it was fixed within 2 hours on request. The lights randomly wouldn't turn on one day, and maintenance fixed it, then it failed again, and they fixed again and it seemed to stay on. It was a problem in the electrical panel which is slightly concerning though. Nevertheless no real issue there besides not being able to use the restroom while the lights were broken (no windows, it's pitch black in the bathrooms). As is common in most hotels, the ventilation covers are pretty filthy. The bathrooms are a bit like a dungeon, I think in general the property is an old build/design and thus is quite simple/blocky/plane overall. The bathroom rooms did not have fans which I also think it a must have on vacation properties, HA! THE FOOD AND DRINKS: It's an all inclusive, and you can upgrade various drinks (wines mostly) and food options (like filet, lobster, some speciality things at the various restaurants). The food was hit or miss unfortunately, which is my #1 thing on these types of vacations. I'll try to go through each of them that we tried: * Moongate/Tepenyaki - this is basically your typical hibachi restaurant. Nothing too special. I thought the food was pretty poor here actually. The experience was OK overall. I give this a 3/10 and was not impressed with any of the food even though I typically love this style even though it's a bit corny at times. * Tradewinds - this is your steakhouse type restaurant. We upgraded to filet, and it was quite good. Cooked very nicely and the sides were decent. I would give 6.5/10 in the outside world, also had a great salad here. * Chef Table - this was the best experience of the vacation. Essentially a private dinner (up to 12 can book, but you will have your own table depending how ytou book it). It's an upcharge, ~$100 USD/ea after tip. I highly recommend doing it if you're a foodie. There are 6 courses and wines are paired to them. It was interesting, engaging, unique, and attempts to mimic a special fine dining experience for half the cost - and does a pretty good job at it.I'd give 8/10! * Lorenzo's - Italian. Great presentation but overall just OK. The hommade noodles were actually quite well made, but overall most of the flavors of each dish were lacking and needed more richness for that classic italian feeling. 5.5/10. * Habaneros - Mexican and Tacos - Really well made, everything on the menu we tried was excellent and authentic (obviously...) awesome flavor pairings and well executed. Also it's outside next to the beach in open air and is the perfect atmosphere. 8/10. * Chevy's - American - just typical american fair, inside it's like a 50's diner. Nothing impressive but they do execute the dishes just fine. I'd give it a 6/10. Nothing special though. * Other - There is Saasil which is the mixed-drinks bar. This is the best place to get any decent mixed drinks, they are all pretty good although quite sugary - but that's typical of any bar honestly. Not a ton of high end alcohol options. There is also the tequila bar downstairs which has a large tequila selection. The open restaurants/bars rotated due to COVID-19 and reduced capacity. THE SHOWS: There is something each night, some are kid-based. We watched the michael jackson one and the dancers must have been professionals. It was surprisingly well choreographed. We caught a glimpse of disney and others but weren't interested. The one thing I will say above all else is that the music is painful to my ears because it's all a 128 kbps MP3 or something. I highly highly highly recommend higher quality audio files since it's blasting over some pretty decent loudspeakers. It would really add to the experience. With the tingy audio coming from the speakers it really "Cheapened" the performances we saw/heard. An easy fix there would go a long way. THE ACTIVITIES: We participated in the workout-type activities each morning. One was yoga/palates on boards in the water. Very awesome. They also did a cycling class, it was OK but a lot easier and so it wasn't as much for us - also the bicycles had sticky feet pads and left our feet blue for a good 2 days. THE GYM: Very nice, well equipped. During COVID its 15 people only. I would recommend they block 2 treadmills and other cardio equipment in between instead of just 1, because nobody is doing that with a mask on and it s a great chance to spread germs. THE SPA: I didn't partake but wives did. It was nice they said, although not the best massages ever. Also highly priced ($120-$160 for 50 minutes vs. $60 back home). We also had to pay an extra $90 for a 2nd car to the airport since we departed at a different time from our friends. We stayed in a 2BR suite (at higher cost vs. 2 individual swim up suites), whereas if we booked 2 rooms separately it would have been included AND cheaper, thought that was a bit scammy but it is what it is. Overall, would go again, but likely at a cheaper price - I felt even with the 40% off discount it was a pretty pricey vacation. I wish the food was a bit better overall and we could get higher shelf drinks rather than unlimited quantity. I would like to pay the same for LESS of a HIGHER QUALITY in the alcohol department if it's all the same net costs to them. I may even pay a premium!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Lazy staff

    Reviewed by zyada15(San Diego, California) on Oct 19, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I really wished the staff was more accommodating. They move at a slow pace and occupancy levels are low. They are also rude. Rooms are not up to standard and are not clean. -Room wasn't cleaned for two nights that we stayed. Interestingly they took the tips we left but left everything dirty. We actually had to inform our butler to ensure our room was cleaned. -Room service food order was always missing actual ingredients on the dish. How do you forget the eggs and chicken on a breakfast dish that comes with eggs and chicken. Thanks for the breakfast chips! -Our clock and our tablet that you order in room dining for was down a whole day. When we informed the front desk they said we need to talk to our butler. Just fix it already. For the price we pay for each night you should just take care of broken things at your hotel. I shouldn't have to wait until the next day for my butler to fix it. -Rooms smell bad. Like a moldy, stale order. We had to request to change to another room and it wasn't much better from the first one. They ended up having to bring a diffuser to our room and a air humidifier. Ridiculous! -Rude staff at the bars. The main lobby bar we got completely ignored and they served others who came after us. The rooftop pool bar, had a server who sarcastically said see you in 5 minutes. We actually had to get up and go to the bar to get our drinks served. She should have been coming over to us with orders. Rude. I don't believe my husband and I will stay here again. Sad, because we've always traveled and stayed at Hyatt hotels in the past like Hotel Ziva in Montego Bay and the one in cabo. This cancun one left a bad taste in my mouth. Enough for me to take time out of my vacation in my room currently to write this review.