Iberostar Mojito

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    We enjoyed ourselves. Beach is really nice, serving staff were amazing, very clean and safe.

    Reviewed by Steve on Feb 21, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I recently spent a week at the Iberostar Mojito in Cayo Coco Cuba. We arrived 10 hours late due to WestJet flight delays which cost us a day, and upon arrival only 1 staff was there to check multiple flight guests in. I don't fault them for our midnight arrival, but check-in was slow and tedious. When we arrived in our room, basic is an understatement. 2 double beds were pushed together, very uncomfortable, no dresser for clothes and we had no cold water in our shower for the entire week despite reporting it multiple times to the front lobby desk. That aside, the resort was very clean, the walk to the beach was reasonable (2 mins), grounds were well kept and very clean, serving staff were very nice and went out of their way to ensure our happiness. Entertainment was a surprise - not cheezy entertainment (other than bingo night), but live professional musicians along with good dancers, singing and other musical acts were a real treat. The Disco is a ghost town, so don't waste your time. Food, typical routine basic cuisine in the buffet that didn't change all week. If I wasn't celiac, I would have died for one of the pizzas at the pool bar. All in all, we would return as we did enjoy ourselves. The beach was really nice, staff were great and resort visitors were all really nice.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    defiantly a 3 1/2 star not a 4

    Reviewed by Gege on Mar 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Beautiful beach, but so far from the actual property, about a 10 min. Hot walk. Would have been so much nicer if resort was on the beach. The staff were absolutely delightful, however by day seven I inquired as to how often the sheets were changed. I was told daily, but in fact it had already been seven. I rarely received mini bar drinks, unless I hunted down my maid and asked for them. Restaurant and bar staff were great, except in the lounge area. If you didn't tip, you were ignored after the first service. This went on everyday. The restaurant layout and service was so annoying. You had to wait in line every mealtime to be served, sometimes 10 to 15 min. Then you had to stay in line to get to the rest of the buffet's hot food. It was not easy for our party of six to sit and eat at the same time, someone was always waiting for food. The choices were rarely varied. They ran out so much so often. I can assure you that we ran through more than a hundred pesos per couple just tipping everyone. Loved the warmth of the people in Cuba, but, I would never return to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    Best vacation ever, above average staff!

    Reviewed by Hannah from toronto on Dec 08, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    AMAZING! I went with my aunt and mother for 8 days, we did not have high expectations because we have read lots of bad reviews not on iberostar but Cuba overall and did not want to be disappointed. We were so pleasantly surprised, from the moment we had the fastest and easiest check in to the moment we got on the plane home we were treated like celebrities. The staff are amazing! we particularly loved Danyer and Roberto, they are apart of the entertainment staff and they went out of there way to make sure we had a good time! The bartenders always remember your drink and made sure you were always full. A must see that wasn't very advertised was the cigar lounge, Freddie the bartender is always doing cool tricks and treats you well, the in-house band is amazing and the guitarist definitely needs to join an American rock band he is unreal! overall best trip ever the positives definitely out way the negatives!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4015 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    3rd Visit This Year

    Reviewed by davidfW2963AN(Nova Scotia, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hola Just got back from the Iberostar Mojito for the third time this year. The vegetation looks almost back to where it was pre Emma. The visible signs of restoration are every where. The paths between areas are being rebuilt. The small touches are apparent every where. Some tidying and rearranging was done in the lobby. While we were there they were putting up Christmas decorations. A Christmas tree in the lobby (Cuban style) and rope lights everywhere. It looked most festive! It was great to see the familiar faces of our Cuban family and meet some new ones. It has become our second home and we don’t consider going anywhere else. I have to say it is not just the Cubans that we have come to know and respect but some of the other guests as well. After you have gone there several time you will get to notice that others travel at the same times and to the same place. The feelings we have are shared by many other. In this past 12 months we have varied our normal travel times to coincide with others. We renewed acquaintances from 5 and 6 years ago and started new ones. In discussion with hotel management, occupancy needs to be improved to restore the staff levels to previous numbers. I would like to see lots more people enjoy what the Iberostar Mojito family has to offer. See you there, we will be in the lobby!

    Best Friend Vacay to Mojito

    Reviewed by danielleemarie96() on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My best friend and I stayed at the Mojito from March 22- March 29 2019. I have previously went to Cayo Coco and stayed at the Memories Caribe and this resort was nothing compared to Mojito. We spent almost every night at the snack bar and the bartenders that worked most nights were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean, brought along some gifts for the maids and they were very appreciated of them. Beach was beautiful and relaxing. Overall, we had a great experience at Mojito and one of the major reasonings was because of how amazing the staff was. See you soon Mojito All the staff at this resort were amazing and I would recommend this resort to anyone!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Wonderful Iberostar Mojito

    Reviewed by Ferne B() on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    we just returned from this amazing resort. As people have stated before the employees deliver outstanding customer service, the cleanliness of the resort was excellent, we were in room 2306, our room was cleaned from top to bottom every day. Our towels and linens were impeccable. The shower always had great pressure and plenty of hot water. The beach is beautiful and compared to many resorts there were always lots of thatched huts available. The food was good, many choices and well prepared. The only suggestion I have is to have more labels for the food. I do not each fish or shellfish and was very hesitant to eat many of the dishes. Thank you to all the Iberostar Mojito employees for such a lovely vacation

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Family Vacation, Great Value.

    Reviewed by RyanL355ard(Kingston, Canada) on Apr 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our Family visited the resort from March 22-29 with a group of 16. The pricing of the resort first caught my eye and after reading the reviews here on trip advisor, we decided to book it as it fit well into everyone's travel budget. This is my third trip to Cuba (second to Cayo Coco). I am always skeptical of trusting reviews however i can confirm that the reviews on this resort are very accurate. The top reasons you will enjoy this Cuban gem are the service, beach and above (Cuban resorts) standard of food. Service: The workers at this resort go above and beyond to make your experience memorable. As many have mentioned before, we witnessed and met many returning guests. It was very nice to see returning guests being greeted by the staff with hugs and smiles as if they were extended family. Beach: The beach is certainly something that brought us back to Cayo Coco. We have traveled to many islands in the Caribbean and Cayo Coco features some of the clearest waters and whites sand you will find. Even though it was a bit of a walk for the elderly family members, the beach bar is equipped with food and bathrooms. It has everything you need so you don't have to walk back and forth to the resort. There are golf carts that will provide you transportation however you need to request this. They aren't just running steady shuttles like I've seen at other resorts. I've seen some review complaining about the lagoon however the kids enjoyed looking for the different creatures in it (fish,crabs etc). One of our family members brought fishing poles and spent time fishing in the lagoon...for him that was one of the standout features to the resort. Food: Like any all-inclusive resort, the buffet gets repetitive. We were pleasantly surprised by a few things. Breakfast had a nice variety. We enjoyed the Omelettes, French toast and Pancakes. For the french toast they have cinnamon/sugar and even "Maple Syrup". now keep in mind it is a Cuban version of maple syrup... however it is certainly better than what they called "syrup" on other resorts. In my opinion there is no need to bring any from home. We mainly ate lunches at the snack bar near the main pool. As many have noted before the options are available are great. They do have mustard and ketchup here. The ketchup is not Heinz...if you are picky you might want to bring some. There are a couple of things to note about the snack bar...it gets quite busy and can sometimes take a while to get your food however the servers are super nice and attentive and the other thing is the BIRDS! A word of advice...**Tip** sit or move your table to the area where there is a ceiling. You will know what i'm talking about when you get there. If you don't you WILL get pooped on! :) We did not try any of the a la cartes as our kids are picky eaters. We stuck to the buffet and found that most nights they had a different meat being carved up (Turkey, Roast beef etc). The pasta station is popular as well which i tried and enjoyed. Dinner was certainly my least favorite meal of the day as alot of the food didn't agree with me, however there are plenty of options. **Tip** They have steak sauce! You have to ask for it... but they do have it. Aside from the 3 main attractions to the resort (service, beach and food) there isn't much i can add that others haven't already covered. Yes, The resort is older, but very well kept. The rooms look like they've been updated with flat screen TV's which we hooked up the Nintendo Switch up to (**tip** if you have kids) The shower heads are great. The beds and pillows are better compared to other resorts. Others in our group had issues with their rooms that were solved quickly (toilets and safes not working) If you've been to Cuba you know what to expect...these rooms are occupied almost all year and receive maintenance on the fly. There is still a lot of repair to be done from the hurricane however that won't impact your stay. There were a handful of workers working on the walkways and showers around the main pool while we were there. They don't get a lot accomplished in a day but they are doing what they can. Like many things at this resort "They do very well with what they have to work with!" In closing, this resort delivered and exceeded our expectations. Great Value is probably the best way to sum it up.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great vacation at Mojito

    Reviewed by wademurphy1969(St. John's, Canada) on Apr 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Stayed at Mojito from March 21 to 28. From the beginning of our vacation to the end the service was excellent. Fantastic staff at this resort. No food issues but found the selection in buffet very repetitive. A la carte's we're very good. We had two. Entertainment ok, they do the best with what they have. Beach clean and of course being Cuba--- beautiful. Brought along some gifts for the workers, very appreciated. Had one issue with our toilet, fixed promptly by maintenance. Lots of loungers and palapas, no need to reserve. Also had no trouble with getting loungers poolside. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX