Iberostar Selection Ensenachos

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 6706 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Private Paradise with New Ideas

    Reviewed by AleksChrz(Montreal, Canada) on Sep 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are repeat customers of this hotel resort and as always, it did not disappoint. We travelled there in August 2019 as a couple. I would describe this resort as a private lush green island, spacious with different places to discover each day, very friendly people, and Cuban authentic. Whether you like to rest at the pool or beach, this resort will offer you different places to relax and spend the day. It is nested on a private island surrounded by calm clear waters, full of vegetation and small wildlife (crabs, fish, lizards, butterflies, bats, stingrays, hummingbirds, eagles, starfish and if you are lucky, large iguanas, cats and dogs!) HOTEL: The hotel recovered nicely from the hurricane and we were not disappointed. You would not know that this resort was completely devastated back in 2017. Staff and management did an amazing job at renovating and the vegetation has recovered quickly (kudos to ex-General Manager Mr. Jose Ortiz Nunez, who is a legend at this hotel, and new General Manager Jaime Coll who is doing a great job). We stayed in the Spa Section which was very calm and relaxing. Make sure to check out the 9am outdoor yoga class before breakfast! If you really want to be away from it all and feel like royalty, opt for the Royal Section. They make excellent vodka martinis and provide personalized service. You cannot get bored as there is entertainment every night. We truly enjoyed the live Cuban bands – it was authentic and lively, and everyone, from young to old, was having a blast. The Lobby bar is always open, and you will be able to enjoy an unlimited amount of drinks, from espresso to delicious pina coladas. RESTAURANTS: We enjoyed hanging out at the Buffet. The food varied each day and we enjoyed speaking to the different chefs. If you want a great experience, choose to sit in the same section. They have an amazing team of waiters that will anticipate your needs. If you have a craving and missed the lunch hour, no worries! The hotel recently opened a 24hr snack bar! You can have your afternoon coffee and sandwich (freshly prepared by the chef), sit on highchairs and watch the afternoon news while cooling off. BEACHES: Want to relax? Take the 10-minute walk to Ensenachos beach where you can snorkel, read a book and sleep (the water is so calm you can sleep while floating!). If you are traveling with young children or older parents, go to Megano beach; it is the closest to the lobby. You will find an amazing snack bar, lively music, activities and of course, a beautiful long beach to take long walks on. PEOPLE YOU MUST KNOW Buffet: Yuri & Daily, Javier, Emerito & Greter – these amazing people made our stay very memorable. Don’t hesitate to ask for them when you go to the buffet! Hotel Management: Mr. Leniel De Leon Dumenigo (Customer Service) is a great person to know. You will find him in the main lobby being attentive to guests and ensuring that their stay is memorable. Don’t by shy and go introduce yourself to him! Ms. Geysi Ostero Rojas (Customer Service Manager) is one of the hardest working people we met at the hotel. She truly cares about guests’ experiences and reacts quickly when something needs to be done.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Food was for 2* or worse.

    Reviewed by Andy L(Toronto, Canada) on Sep 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    It was my 10th visit to Cuba and worst one. Good sides: staff very friendly and tried their best, weather OK, beach good for leisure and snorkeling as well. Take me right – I know this is Cuba, not a Nice or even Riviera Maya. Bad side: FRAUD! We were promised and paid for 4-1/2* service, got food around 2*. Main buffet (both floors) been closed just before our arrival and we were not informed about it. Cuban rep of AirTransat told us that they informed Canadian counterpart, nobody passed this information tom us. For 3 days stay locations for breakfast and lunch changed twice! About food offered: 1. No buffet at all. 2. No frying station - just plain omelet for breakfast with bad oily taste delivered from the kitchen. 3. A lot of flies on the vegetables - after our comment waiters move boxes to kitchen and delivered to tourists by request on the plates (just hid it from main dining room, ha-ha). 4. Even at diner restaurants provided over salted or hard/chewy meat. A lot of mosquitoes on site, we were told by hotel's employee that due to lower number of guests all services and headcount reduced by 1/3 (approximately). CONCLUSION: never ever going to this resort and do not use Tripcentral as a reservation agent. From Tripcentral they said it was MY responsibilities to call AirTransat prior to departure and ask them for any?? possible updates. By our demands both family from Canada were transferred into an another hotel with much better service. I never have left a negative review of a place visited before but let me be very clear on this one: WE ARE NEVER GOING BACK THERE and are going to make sure everyone around us gets tired of hearing about this vacation

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    MY SECOND HOME

    Reviewed by cdtweety21(Montreal, Canada) on Sep 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything about this hotel is AMAZING Food , rooms , most beautiful beach in cayo and fantastic staff ... I stayed in the spa section in May 2019 and came back in August 2019 I JUST LOVE THIS PLACE The a la carte restaurants are fantastic aswell Definitely will be returning

    Cuban standards?

    Reviewed by Roving182022() on Sep 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This is our fifth visit to this resort and it will also be the last for my wife and me. It seems a lot of time has gone by since our last visit but obviously, only a few years actually are enough for the deterioration of the place. It started with a defective a/c in the bus en route to the resort. They figured, despite every passenger's objection, that it was better to wait 90 minutes on the side of the road for another bus than to use the bus without the a/c to get to the hotel (50 minutes trip). We were told it was because of Cuban standards(?). We were lodged in the Gran Village and one of the only positive things I can say about the place is the very well maintained gardens surrounding the village. Other than that, the buildings, installations, villas, even the chaise longue on the beach are way past their prime.No hot water in the shower (curiously, some warm water in the bath), no phone line working, no wifi, busted furniture, defective toilet (we had two, good thing), leaking faucets, main cafeteria closed, access to Megano beach limited but who cares since Megano beach is destroyed, no lights on the walkways at night, and on and on ... For me, my lifetime worst experience was on this trip: being awaken at midnight by what I found out after using the flashlight, was two nasty sting by a scorpion. Yep, that's right, a scorpion in our bed. And if being stung twice by a scorpion isn't enough, I was also stung by the personnel's response to the whole thing. I captured the scorpion in our ice bucket (useless bucket since there is no place to get ice in the evening) for what I was sure would be a visit at the doctor. The first thing the head of security did when he saw the scorpion in the bucket was to pick it up, go outside and get rid of it in the garden. So I thought, "that can't be a good sign", and it wasn't. Despite the fact that I don't speak spanish, I do speak body language, and what they were saying was, the problem was not the scorpion, the problem was that they were here when the scorpion stung me. Obviously, I was a bigger problem than the thing. I had to ask for a consultation with a physician, I had to make the decision to visit the clinic and of course, I had to pay for the consultation. And here is where a third sting came from: No one from management came for a follow-thru or to inquire about my health or condition. Everyone was hoping for this story to go away. Since then, I have learned that no scorpion on Cuba is very venomous, but nevertheless, the whole thing was handled very poorly. To add to our displeasure, because the lobby did not have wifi on the night of our checkout to complete the transaction with our credit card, the girl behind the desk essentially had the attitude that since we had an 8cuc balance (that's approximately $11 Cdn) but didn't want to pay (?), we should simply go away. That one was worthy of an oscar for laziness, inertia and bad faith. I never have left a negative review of a place visited but let me be very clear on this one: WE ARE NEVER GOING BACK THERE and are going to make sure everyone around us gets tired of hearing about this vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Terrible.........so disappointed!!!

    Reviewed by val2121(Innisfil, Canada) on Sep 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Second time here and truly unbelievable change. Too many things to list. Can summarize by saying the heart has gone out of this hotel and no-one cares. It will not survive if not addressed. We will never be back!