Occidental Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    n

    Disappointing, badly managed resort

    Reviewed by nellikapro on Jan 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst resort experience in Mexico by far - been to this part of the country just about every winter in the past decade. Incredibly poorly managed. Changed 3 rooms in the first 24 hours - 4 of us were housed in a ONE KING BED room: 2 adults, a teenager - paying FULL PRICE - and a 7-yr old; second option was 2 DOUBLE beds - not queen, uncomfortable for two adults. Ended up sleeping with the young one in a king bed, and a roll-out bed for the teenager - worst sleep ever. Had room for only half the clothing in the small closet which is in the bathroom, BTW. Bell boy brought someone else's purse to our room; while our 5 suitcases went missing. Eventually discovered who knows where - not at front desk, nor storage room. Staff were unmotivated and indifferent, nice sometimes but mostly seemed burdened and rarely smiled. I don't necessarily blame them - they must be dealing with unsatisfied guests all the time. Exceptions: Carolina, Chrystal, Olegario, Sonya, Jesus, Edgar. Long wait for service ALL AROUND: front desk; beach towels - self service most times; at buffets: to be seated, order, be served, refills; a la carte: once waited 45 min for appetisers, 90 min for main; bars - especially at pool/beach. Have never seen such poor variety of food choice in Mexico; especially the fruits and veggies. Though, most cooked fare and a la carte food were tasty. Once we had a la carte reservation, but the restaurant was closed. Some of the timeshare people are duplicitous, annoying and cocky - especially the project managers. Beautiful grounds and beach, lots of potential; but not under the current management. Will not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6459 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great location, fun but still intimate feel, food was good!

    Reviewed by MJM2(Santa Barbara, California) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a 6 night stay at the Occidental with our family of 5, 3 teenagers. I went in with some concerns about food from other reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. It was all really good. The buffet had great variety and different nights like Mexican, sea food, Italian and Asian nights. The reservation restaurants were also all really good and we especially liked the seafood one out by the beach. The rooms are nice, bathrooms top notch, the pool games from Fancisco were fun and really made the trip for our teens. The only improvement I would see is to get the air conditioning fixed or get some fans to circulate the air in the main buffet area. It is a little muggy and hot if there is no breeze. Other than that, our family had a great time, good food and drinks. We also enjoyed the Caribbean show and the used the spa and workout room.

    Great stay!

    Reviewed by Nessa M() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The premise, staff, location and the beach were all amazing!!! The dive staff was equally amazing!!! Liam, at the on-site pro dive, was absolutely amazing!!! The only thing I feel the need to bring up is the very slick ground by the pool, be cautions. Also the food was very sub par.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent base for a primarily dive vacation

    Reviewed by johndc(Virginia) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed at the Occidental Cozumel in early August 2019. This was our first trip to Cozumel in about 25 years. In the mean time, we’ve been going to the Riviera Maya for a week or two pretty much every year, staying at a number of different resorts, but at the Grand Sirenis more often than any other. So this review will make some comparisons. The first thing that strikes you about the Occidental is that it’s much more intimate (i.e., smaller) than the big resorts on the Riviera Maya. My impression is that this is true of all the Cozumel resorts. This has pros and cons. The big resorts are able to offer more variety of food and entertainment options. But unless you’re willing to wait for a cart, getting around these places requires some LONG walks that aren’t a lot of fun, especially in August heat. However, at both the Occidental and some of the RM resorts, walking around can be fun, since there’s a lot of interesting wildlife to see. Occidental seems to be missing a few animals we usually see on the mainland, such as monkeys, raccoons and agoutis. But a big plus for the Occidental in the wildlife department is that there is a species of iguana here that is more interesting and colorful than the one found on the mainland. Our room was very comfortable. Bed was great, climate control system was quiet and effective, and no problems with water pressure. We paid a bit more for the “Grand Concierge” class, and so got a bigger room. It was bigger than many others we’ve had at other resorts, but no match for the Grand Sirenis, where the rooms are enormous. If you’re a fan of towel art, you’ll be disappointed at the Occidental; at least, we didn’t get any, but for us that’s not a big deal. Of somewhat more concern for us was the wifi, which was OK for checking email, but very slow for just about anything else. Our Grand Concierge room was in building 18, which was very convenient to the beach and the “quiet pool”. Food was very good. Buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner all were good quality, and there was always plenty of variety for us. But as I mentioned, there weren’t as many options as the bigger resorts. For example, there was always one seafood selection, but generally not much other seafood. We tried all 3 of the specialty restaurants. The main dishes we had were all good, but unspectacular, with one exception. I would say they are about comparable to the specialty restaurants elsewhere, but I did miss the appetizer buffets with a big selection that the bigger resorts usually have. The exception to the “unspectacular” characterization was the steak “premium valor” in the Mexican restaurant, which came smothered in a chocolate- wine sauce that was similar to a mole sauce, and was a superb cut of meat cooked to perfection. After we tried all 3 (which was all the specialty restaurants we were entitled to), we told the concierge how much we enjoyed the Mexican, and she very kindly gave us another reservation there! The seafood restaurant is in an open air building on the beach, with spectacular views of the sunset and ocean, so even though the food was unspectacular, I would still go back there. In terms of drinks: The wine is a Spanish brand called “Alba”, which we thought was better than at most other resorts where we’ve stayed. We liked the white better than the red, but even the red was enjoyable. I’m still glad we brought a couple of boxes of reasonably decent wines from home, for variety. (And Mexico has a generous 3-liter per person duty free allowance for bringing wines in.) The lobby bar has a very good selection of pretty top shelf liquors. We sipped a lot of very nice tequilas reposadas and high-end mezcals, with side cars of sangrita (not to be confused with sangria), which is how these excellent beverages should be consumed. (They should not be “shot”!) And even the beach bar had some nice surprises, including our favorite gin, Tanqueray. In fact, the beach bar had something else that the mainland resorts generally don’t have – a choice of light or dark (Negra Modelo) beers! A major reason we love this area of Mexico is the snorkeling and scuba diving. Several of the mainland resorts – and particularly the Grand Sirenis – have really interesting snorkeling, including small coral reefs, right off the beach. However, in recent years, the quality of snorkeling has really been degraded by huge masses of Sargassum seaweed that drift in from the east. We came to Cozumel knowing that Sargassum is not a problem on the western side of the island. So we were hoping for some great snorkeling. Unfortunately, off the beach from the Occidental is just a seagrass bed, with no coral. There is some fish life (I saw a few small rays), but not much of interest. This seems to be the case (we were told) for this whole section of beach, including the Allegro and Iberostar resorts. Diving is a different story. Cozumel is one of the world’s premier diving destinations, and it did not disappoint. We used the on-site dive operation, Pro Dive International. They were efficient, friendly, helpful, professional, and safety conscious without hovering. My only complaint was their pricing policies. I’ll post a separate review for them. But it was great to have a good operation conveniently located right on the resort. In summary, we loved the Occidental. I wouldn’t say that I would prefer it to the Gran Sirenis if I had to pick only one to visit. But happily, I expect to visit Mexico on many more occasions, and it’s definitely on my list to visit again! However, if I were a non-diver, my decision making would probably put more weight on the wider spectrum of options for food and activities at the larger resorts.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful hotel with an extraordinary location within Cozumel Island though the service is not good

    Reviewed by TitaRobles(Mexico City, Mexico) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We had very nice 8 days in the hotel (from Sunday to Sunday) it was our 6th time in Cozumel Island. The facility is in a beautiful location within the Island (South area) and close to the 11 main Reefs, the private beach is very nice with calm water perfect to swim and relax. We loved the rooms layout, distributed in approximately 10 buildings with 24 rooms each surrounded by wonderful vegetation. The pool for adults is extraordinary and the family pool is very nice with Ocean view. Highlights: 1. Even the SPA and Gym are is really small. Erika and the rest of the crew provide an excellent service and are really kind. 2. The variety and flavor of the food, mainly for lunch and dinner. 3. The rooms are very nice, except for the bath tub which was kind of old. 4. The car rental service was excellent 5. The room service was very good and as one night it took more than an hour to receive the food, they did not do any charge (each dish costs 90 pesos) 6. You do not have to wear "bracelet" 7. Very good service in the pool bar and in the beach Low lights 1. Bad service in the restaurants and in the Lobby Bar. I would say it was a terrible experience 2. Fumigation happening and 7 pm! 3. The bath tub in room was old 4. Lot of noise after 8:30 am by the cleaning crew taking care of the rooms, constantly slamming doors. 5.Lack of ash trays in the beach and in the pool, there are very practical ones currently used in Europe and this could be replicated (made of plastic) 6. Bad coffee 7. Pool towels were old

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Buffet food had no flavor, liquor is watered down. Drink it straight and see for yourself.

    Reviewed by chrisquirk187(Baltimore, Maryland) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Buffet food had no flavor, liquor is watered down. Drink it straight and see for yourself. Taxis to and from the resort is outrageous in price so be sure to rent a vehicle from the airport. DO NOT FALL FOR ANY SALES GIMMICKS AT THE AIRPORT. All a waste of time

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX