Aston at the Maui Banyan Condo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    Across the road from 3 great Kihei beaches, restaurants and food/shopping close by .. You MUST spend the extra for a deluxe room!!

    Reviewed by Doug Blades on Nov 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit with our 2 teen-age kids (1 bedroom kitchen unit was P407 and attached lock-out unit with 2 double beds for the kids was P407A) The whole unit was very roomy and had a nice balcony with partial ocean view (given as an upgrade though) this particular unit is slightly below my expectations for a standard room. We did ask about the "deluxe" units and they are units that have been more recently renovated and should absolutely be your pick if you want a true 3+ rating. You could definitely see the difference in units when the hall doors were open for the house keeping staff during the day. All the staff were great and did their best to provide you with a great experience. The property itself is truly beautiful and the grounds keeping staff do an awesome job manicuring everything and keeping the pool and BBQ areas perfect. Location across from Kamaole 2 beach is primo! The buildings were built in 1990/91 and the room units we stayed in (P407 & P407A) appears to have had very little done to them renovation wise since 1991. Carpet was dead and needs to be replaced (maybe try tile or lino for sand coming in off the beach ??) Walls look like they were spot re-painted/patched sporadically, a few pictures were actually painted around while they must have been left on the wall. One of the burners on the stove didn't work and shows its 1991 vintage. Bi-fold closet doors were NOT hung with care in P407A. All of the above could be overlooked because the unit was roomy and did the trick. But .. shame on the owner of this unit, as the bed in master bedroom is right sacked. My back was so sore after 2 nights, I slept on the pull out sofa and everyone knows how great a pull out sofa is. On the 3rd night, I asked house keeping if they could swap out the mattress and they graciously put a foam pad unit under the sheets and gave me a thick blanket to sleep on ... this and some Aleve tablets got me thru the rest of the week.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 832 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Standard Room

    Reviewed by AdvisorBLT() on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for the month of February. The grounds at the Maui Banyan are very nice. We have stayed here a couple of other times and had really nice condos. This year we were booked in a Standard room. The first room we were taken to was awful. Very dated and very dirty. We were given another room that night until they could find us better accommodations. The room we stayed in for the duration of our holiday was okay but I definitely wouldn’t book it again. We wore slippers whenever we were in the condo as the floor was dirty. The dishwasher didn’t clean the dishes and the sink backed up every time the sink was drained or the dishwasher was used. They did fix that when I told them about it. Only half the plug ins in the kitchen worked. I have never given a bad review before, however, for the price we paid for this room I would expect to have had an updated or, at the very least, a clean room.

    Great location

    Reviewed by Nonnita02(Canada) on Feb 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went to this complex as part of our vacation package with Westjet. Our flight arrived rather late, the office was already closed, but, they are very well organized. Our condo keys were in a safe waiting for us. With the help of our transfer driver we got them. This is a big complex, with several buildings, a very nice condo, lots of room. The washer and dryer were perfect . Two washrooms, one with a stand alone shower was our favourite. Friendly and helpful staff. Very well maintained, centrally located. The Expedia Tour desk on site helped us to plan our stay.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    It’s OK

    Reviewed by 915brigittel(Calgary, Canada) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Though tired the apartment was large and well equipped. Beware there is not even salt and pepper or oil to cook. Very friendly staff. Indifferent housekeeping. They came daily to change towels (even after I left a note NOT to do so) and empty garbage. Nothing else. The floors and bathroom were not cleaned during our 10 days stay. We left our outdoor shoes by the entrance but sand has a way to travel. I suppose I could have complained to the front desk but I was in a holiday mood. There are two pools, way too small for the number of people in the complex. The good beach is across the road.

    Excellent Condo

    Reviewed by GreeneMomma(Muskegon, Michigan) on Feb 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a great place to stay on Maui! Our condo was updated and very nice. There was tile floor throughout. The king size bed was exceptionally comfortable and the pull-out couch was just right for our daughter. Stackable washer and dryer in the unit was a big bonus. Rooms were quiet and private with a big lanai (table and seating for four plus room to spare) perfect for outdoor meals or morning coffee. Service was excellent. We had a broken coffee decanter upon arrival, and they brought us a new one right away. Free parking, great location across from Kam II beach... I just can't say enough about this place! Highly recommended!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Maui

    Reviewed by Pat S(Dawson Creek BC) on Jan 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We absolutely love the location of the Aston Maui Banyan. You can enjoy the sunset on the beach in less than a 5 min walk from your room. There are 3 restaurants within 5-7 minutes. Cafe Olei ask for the macadamia nut crusted Mahi Mahi. You can see the Humpback Whales breaching from the beach!!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX