Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Los Cabos
    5. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
    6. Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    L

    Outstanding service

    Reviewed by Lee on Jan 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Travelled to this secrets location in the middle of December 2016. My husband and I had a fabulous time. We booked room deal of the day and we were not dissapointed, we had a garden view, but we could see the ocean from our bed. The service is outstanding, I asked about a special drink and the next day the bartender I had asked had gone home that night and looked on ytube how to make it for me. Food is very good, lots of options on restaurants. This is our second visit and we will be back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    This place was a 10 for us!!

    Reviewed by Ron on Dec 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was one of our best holiday resorts . We have travelled mexico for 25 years and stayed at all levels of resorts. Every part of this vacation was a 10 from the food,service, rooms etc. The entertainment staff were very friendly and got you involved with the many events they planned. Our favorites were Lucas,Lia,Anthony,Kenya and David. My favorite pool waiter was Augustin. I cant imagine anyone not liking this place???

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Extremely Disappointing

    Reviewed by Gloria on Nov 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We booked this resort as a special way for me to celebrate my 60th birthday with my family. We anticipated a wonderful five star experience. The only 5 star part of this resort, is the resort itself. It is very beautiful and that is the nicest thing I have to say about this resort. The food and especially the restaurant service was hugely disappointing. The only option for dinner service is one of the a la carte restaurants where we had to wait a long time for service and then the service we received was the bare minimum. The quality of the food served was hit or miss and the food portions are small. On my birhday we were grateful just to get the waiter to our table to take our order then deliver the food to the table; that was pretty much the only time we saw him. Add to that, he neglected to deliver my birthday cake to the table despite my son being reassured before hand that it would be served. Although, to be fair, the resort did not acknowledge my birthday in their daily announcements of guests' special occassions, despite being told at book in and on numerous occassions during signing into our rooms. The worst service though was on our last night when we returned to the Himitsu restaurant because we had enjoyed the food there on a previous visit but not the service. On this night the service was the worst we had received to date. I don't believe I have ever been so neglected by a waiter before, add to that we left most of the beef on the plate because it was so difficult to chew. In regards to the resort, be aware that it is very out of the way and the taxi ride into town is costly. Also, even though they call themself a golf resort and the resort is surrounded by fairways, the course itself is not part of the resort and you have to pay for a taxi to take you to the course. As for the beach, we were informed at check in that it is a non-swimming beach so water activities

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    m

    The perfect getaway to run away to!

    Reviewed by mere_aw on Jan 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is the perfect quick getaway for western Canadians. The flights from Calgary are perfect. We booked a last minute 5 day escape, which really worked out to 5 nights and 6 days. Hotel is reasonable distance from the airport. This resort is the nicest and cleanest place we have yet to stay at. Best service, great food, perfect size and a view! All rooms face the ocean, so no need to get an ocean view. Very quiet and relaxing. Easy to get chairs by the pool at any time. The beach is ok, but that doesn't really matter since you cant swim in the water anywhere because the ocean is too rough in Cabo. So hence why a nice pool area is so important. As this was the easiest trip to plan, with a convenient location and flight times, we may make this a frequent getaway. We cant wait to take our friends. I would rank this as 5 star plus resort. We wouldn’t change a thing. For those with a handicap, the resort is fully accessible and accommodating. For newly weds, perfect honeymoon spot. This felt like a second honeymoon for us. Don’t hesitate! * tip: Cabo is a desert location, it does get chilly at night!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4113 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing Trip - Can't Wait to Visit Again!

    Reviewed by Yogi-Vero() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Secrets Puerto Los Cabos is hands down a superb resort! Their staff, activities, amenities and restaurants are absolutely wonderful. You can tell how attentive they are toward making their guests feel welcomed and happy throughout their stay. Everyone is so hospitable, and I find this to be a very common theme with Secrets Resorts (I've previously stayed at their Capri Riviera Cancun and Papagayo Costa Rica locations). The Entertainment Team at Los Cabos is also very professional and creative in hosting such fun events throughout the day/night - everything from guided walks on the beach, bike tours, painting and archery classes, water aerobics and games, a night out in the town, etc. It's never a dull moment if you decide to completely stay at the resort. This trip left such a lasting impression and I can't wait to visit again!

    Enjoyed this resort!

    Reviewed by sara f() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Husband and I enjoyed a relaxing stay at Secrets Puerto Los Cabos! Room was comfortable and food was great. Although we spent a few hours in beach chairs enjoying the ocean view, we opted mostly for the pool. Entertainment was fun and the waitstaff at the pool were very attentive. Our favorite part of the day was breakfast because Leonel was the best! He went above and beyond each morning and knew our drink order(s). Will recommend this resort to our friends and family. Thanks for another enjoyable stay at Secrets!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Relaxing Oasis

    Reviewed by Guide637992() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Another wonderful trip to Secrets Los Cabos. My husband and I have been three times, and it never disappoints. Staff is amazingly friendly and courteous. There are events you can choose to do - like mini golf, water aerobics, and a poker tournament - or just sit by the pool! We will return again next year!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing Resort!

    Reviewed by Bertha T() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just got home from a 3 night 4 day stay at this amazing resort! PROS: This resort is one of the best ones we have been to, by far. The entire hotel staff is warm, friendly, welcoming and so eager to help. The hotel grounds are kept up beautifully and the food in all of the restaurants is tasty, plentiful and delicious. Check-in and check out, were a breeze (we upgraded to preferred), the preferred building is great to grab a light snack and fantastic drinks. The rooms are beautiful, well kept and clean, the AC is great, and the view (ocean) was fantastic! The pools and the staff there were amazing, the waiters are very attentive, and always provided us with cold drinks with a smile. Room service was exceptional, always on time, and easy to order (they have a tablet in your room to order from it and someone will call you immediately to confirm your order). The food was always hot and fresh and plentiful. The entire staff was amazing, friendly and very hard working (so tipping is a must)! CONS: The beach is inaccessible (the waves are extremely rough and the beach itself is very rocky. The one lady at the excursions table (the blue flowered shirts) at the entrance sold us a boat deal to go see the famous arch and "upgraded us"-but when we got to the boat they told us she had not sold us the "upgrade" but rather overcharged us for the "VIP" area that we had to pay another $15 per person on the boat-to get. Very upsetting! Resort is about 45 minutes from Cabo San Lucas. No way to distinguish the "preferred" guests and the "non-preferred" guests" so everyone could get into the "preferred" pools and locations. Overall, however, our stay was wonderful. Plenty of drinks and food-ALWAYS! Friendly service and great amenities! I would definitely recommend the resort to anyone wanting to spend a relaxing weekend!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Disappointing experience

    Reviewed by Nicole M() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    It’s been a little over 3 months since my husband and I vacationed at Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort. So why did I wait this long to write a review? Well, I wanted to give Secrets an opportunity to address my concerns. At the time of this writing, no satisfactory redemptive action has transpired. We recently spent 5 nights at the resort, from Sat 5/2/19 to Thursday 5/9/19. We paid extra for the Preferred Club services and amenities. For the most part, things were fine except for a couple of issues, one involving a particular resort staff member. The original issue became secondary when he decided to treat us disrespectfully with his flippant attitude, and his dishonesty. This person’s name is Miguel P.. He serviced the Preferred Club guests at the time we were there. During the 6 days 5 nights stay, we received no housekeeping service for 2 of those days. The green light was on as it was supposed to, signaling room service request. We came back from the pool on Sunday afternoon (day 2) to find the bed not made, the bathroom not cleaned. I called Housekeeping. They came and did a quick tidy-up. The same thing happened again on Tuesday afternoon (day 4). This time I called the Preferred Club guest desk. Housekeeping was sent to clean the room, but they left without replenishing the toilet paper. Had to run after them to get some. Cups and glasses from two days before were not picked up either. Incidentally, the tablet that came with each room was not working. When I called on Monday, we were told someone is going to come by to pick it up and fix it. No one came or called; the tablet never worked during the entire stay. Not wanting to have to take a chancel with the housekeeping service for the rest of our stay, we decided to speak to someone in person. Miguel P. was working the Preferred Club desk when we showed up Tuesday late afternoon. Regarding the tablet, he said that he was the person we spoke with. He made no apology about it nor did he explain why he didn’t come It was like “Eh, no big deal!” In response to the housekeeping issue, his words were “The turning down the bed is a complimentary service, a courtesy. If you want rose petals and the full turn down service, you’d have to pay extra”. He also commented that they have been a bit short-handed. Was that a good excuse, considering what we paid? I told him we were not asking for special turn-down services, just the standard offering that came with every room, to all guests. To make up for the “inconvenience”, first he offered us breakfast in bed. Then he quickly changed to 1-hour hydrotherapy spa. Told us just go to the spa and they will let us in However, nobody working the spa reception desk knew anything about Miguel’s arrangement when we tried to use it the next afternoon. Once again, Miguel P. was manning the desk when we checked out Thursday morning. Told us we were all set to go. Said nothing more, no “thank you’, no asking how our stay was. Nothing! We found out later from friends who were also vacationing there that we were supposed to fill out a survey/review upon checking out, right there at the desk, on the tablet, on-line. It now became obvious why Miguel didn’t want us to complete the review. He knew what we were going to say. At that point, the problem was more him than the housekeeping service misses. I felt that he was dishonest, discourteous, disrespectful and that he “punked” us. Miguel seemed to work the PC hospitality desk a lot. I would think that management would put a professional, courteous, and customer service oriented individual in that position. Upon returning, I contacted Secrets via email (the address on their website) requesting a link for an online review since we did not have an opportunity to provide feedback. Never got anything, never heard from them. I completed the survey from the booking agency, Vacations-to-Go, and reported everything. I also emailed all of this information to the booking agent, Bernadette. She said it would take 30-90 days to hear back from Secrets. That is insane and ridiculous in itself. But I waited. Two months went by, I heard nothing, so I contacted her, copying the agency’s owner on my email. Then, and only then did they escalate the matter. Have been working with Megan for the past month. Still, no acceptable reparation came. The only thing Secrets management offered was a free upgrade to their Preferred Club the next time we visit, with stipulations on dates and availability. Of course! Why would spend our hard earned money again on Secrets and take a chance at another bad experience? At this time, we are not inclined to spend my money at a place that doesn’t seem to value our business.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX