Excellence Oyster Bay

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2856 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Terrible experience

    Reviewed by Wraylance() on Feb 25, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I booked with Excellence Oyster Bay and went through the hassle of pushing back my vacation to to adjust for their reopen date in March. I paid in full and then found out that 3 days later I had been double charged for my room. The charge clearly stated that it came from them and went through another 3 days of back and forth with my Bank and the resort to try and resolve it with no real help from the resort. Not only have I experienced having to adjust the dates of our stay several times due to their changes in the opening date, but because we paid in full, Excellence Oyster Bay has told us that it would take 30 to 45 business days to receive a refund making it near impossible to arrange accommodations elsewhere. We're unable to enjoy our vacation at Oyster Bay; through no fault of our own, but on top of that, they have failed to provide us with the appropriate customer service and proactivity one would expect when booking with a 5 star resort. It took 2 minutes for them to take our money but say it will take 2 months to get it back! Although I don't doubt that Excellence Oyster Bay is a beautiful resort, the lack of transparency and credibility is astounding and completely unacceptable! Please think twice before booking your stay.

    Fraud

    Reviewed by Carinefm12() on Jan 29, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Dont book a stay with excellence oyster bay. They are fraudulent. I booked a stay with oyster bay back in october to celebrate my bf’s bday and they pushed their opening date back and no one bothered to send an email to let me know but the representative lied that they sent me an email. I called the day before my travel date to make sure my vehicle was scheduled for pick up only for them to tell me they pushed my opening day back to sept. No one bothered to send me an email to let me know. I had already booked my flight. Luckily i was able to make another reservation with sandals Montego Bay. Best trip ever. Excellence promised me a refund within 60 business days and i am here in Jan with no refund. I have called them about 10 times and each time the customer representative lies to me and says supervisor is on another line or they will email me back and haven’t. They are a scam. They keep pushing their opening dates back so that you will book and they will try to keep your money. PLEASE DONT BOOK WITH THEM. TRUST ME YOU WILL REGRET IT. They have almost $3,000 of my money they wont refund. if THey dont refund my money in the next week, i am contacting my bank and i will hire a lawyer to sue them. Worst company and the customer service is horrible. If you want a good resort in jamaica book sandals. Excellence is a scam and fraudelent company who cares nothing about their customers.

    Cash grab

    Reviewed by cjm461(Kennesaw, Georgia) on Jan 15, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Beware this hotel chain is intentionally defrauding guests for their money by taking reservations while knowingly pushing back hotel closures. I got the same generic response from their disgruntled customer service that they will refund 30-45 business days don't even bother waiting because that is a lie just do a chargeback with your credit card company to get your money back. this is a simple cash grab hoping people who paid with debit cards and would have trouble getting their money back it is unfortunate during this pandemic this beautiful hotel has come to these desperate measures to turn a profit. it would at least seem more genuine if the hotel to even email their guests to notify them of the property being closed. please don't book any flights in anticipation to staying at this hotel because they are fraudulent.

    Horrible communication

    Reviewed by 291kellyc(Castle Pines, Colorado) on Jan 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Over the past 5 years, my wife and I have been regular Excellence users, having stayed at Playa Majures 3 times and recently in the DR at El Carmen. Both of those resorts are as they're name says Excellent! However, similar to other reviews, we booked our trip to Oyster Bay in August and while Covid exists, as recent as two weeks ago, the site showed that the resort re-opened at the time of our new booking. Well upon checking back in last week, I was shocked and really mad that the date of re-opening was extended. That was ok but no one bothered to call me or email me that our stay was now nullified. Further more, no one has yet to call me to apologize for no communication. The bottom line is that Covid is here but not communicating with your clients is really bad at a time where loyalty should matter. I have 5 rooms set up in May with Cancun Rivera Maya but now will be canceling those and going somewhere that will actually follow through with me as a loyal customer.

    BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL! HORRIBLE COMMUNICATION AND CUSTOMER SERVICE.

    Reviewed by honestlytori(San Juan, Puerto Rico) on Dec 19, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    November 16, 2020: we booked our week-long stay (Dec 29-Jan 5) at Excellence Oyster Bay. We were SO excited! December 19, 2020, ten days before departure: I went to the resort website to double-check COVID requirements for entry. I SHOCKINGLY found out that the resort is closed again due to the pandemic and plans to reopen in Feb 2021. WHAT. The hotel NEVER notified me! No email. No phone call. Zero communication. We could have easily shown up on December 29, 2020, for our planned vacation, and SURPRISE - the resort is closed. I called customer service to gather more information and the service was just appalling. The representative casually said, "oh yeah, Oyster Bay is closed." No explanation or apology. Totally unacceptable! Luckily, I was able to cancel our flights and our suite for a full refund. I'm totally baffled by the service and lack of communication for a "luxury" resort. We will never book with Excellence again. Such a disappointment.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1