Omni Rancho Las Palmas

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4635 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful resort, few COVID precautions

    Reviewed by brienie4(Culver City, California) on Apr 18, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We visited this weekend for my nephew’s birthday and my overall opinion is that this would be a great place to visit during normal times, not necessarily during COVID, depending on your comfort level. The grounds were gorgeous, clean and very well kept. I thought it was a nice touch that they had the remote and a pen in a sealed bag saying it had been sanitized on the nightstand. We were able to check in ahead of the 4pm check in time, which was very convenient. We booked a pool view room on the first floor so that we could walk out to the pool. This room type was more expensive than the others, so we were very disappointed to learn that all of the pool gates were closed except the main entrance to control the number of people entering the pool. Upon check-in, we were given wrist bands for our allotted pool time. They have the pool slots broken down into 4 hour increments (which doesn’t do much to control crowds, apparently.) However, they offered that if we needed a wristband for another time, we could check for availability. It became very clear once we arrived at the pool that they weren’t really enforcing the wristbands/time restrictions at all. The lazy river and main pool were packed and barely anyone wore masks anywhere except for inside the common buildings as required. The pools are closed from 1-2 each afternoon for cleaning. The lazy river and slides are lots of fun for the kids and adults, too. We decided to order breakfast ahead and go pick up our food to eat on the balcony. Upon picking up the order, one of our entrees was missing, so we had to wait for that to be prepared while the rest of our food got cold. Then when we checked our bill, we noticed that a 10% take out charge was added to the bill. There was no mention of this when ordering and you’d think they would offer to refund that due to their mistake in missing one of our items. We ordered food and drinks by the pool the first day and had a cabana on the second day. The servers were excellent, very attentive, friendly and helpful. The food and drinks were subpar for the price, so we ended up ordering dinner from local restaurants both evenings.

    (mid) Apr 2021 Visit -- Beautiful Grounds But Had Higher Expectations For The Rate ...

    Reviewed by 448samanthat(San Francisco, California) on Apr 18, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed: mid (April 2021) Room Type: 1st Floor Vista View > ADD' INFORMATION < * Pool access (due to Covid restrictions): upon check-in, you are offered either a 9am-1pm time slot ~ OR ~ a 2pm-6pm. From 7pm-10pm, it is based on 1st come, 1st served until limited capacity is reached. Times in between the aforementioned, are times that the staff cleans the pool decks for the next time slotted guests. * Splashtopia (lazy river and waterslides) and Family Pool are all encompassing (both are not separated by a fence or attendants limiting capacity). Once you are allowed entry by a staff member you are in the Family Pool/Splashtopia area. This is not clear information on the Omni website. * Upon check-in, you are given a dated and time slotted pool paper wrist band. Different colors for different days and times. > PROS < * All the staff members were extremely nice. Did not come across any rude staff members. * BluEmber breakfast was delicious (may mean something coming from a gal from "foodie" Bay Area). * Staff continuously on golf carts stopping at each building to pick-up garbage or dirty linens. This went on past my 11pm bedtime. * Grounds were kept meticulously clean. > CONS < * Room updates DEFINITELY NEEDED! You can clearly see this on the extremely chipped and damaged bathroom wood vanity cabinets. * Restaurant Tips: The restaurant takes it upon themselves to round up the tip amount I left for the waiter. I left a $17.26 tip for our waiter. The restaurant rounded it up to $19.00. The check-out clerk couldn't explain why and just asked "I hope it's OK with you that they did that." I normally would balk but I just didn't have the energy. * Splash Grill: Pricey(!) and food was mediocre. The food must be pre-prepared because it came out lighting fast BUT lukewarm for typically hot items. > TIPS < * The sanitized remote control, door tags and pen are all in a plastic bag on the bedside table. > OVERALL < * The Vista View room had a wonderful view of the golf course. It was quiet and had a little area with 2 wicker chairs and wicker table. * A little pricey stay for what we were offered. The consolation was FREE PARKING for guests.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Beautiful Property But...

    Reviewed by TeacherMD50() on Apr 10, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I love the location of this hotel and the fact that it is pet friendly. However, this hotel needs a room update desperately if it is going to charge the prices it does. Since it’s on a golf course, the grounds are well maintained and beautiful. The rooms are another story. They are so outdated, I stayed here 10 years ago and nothing has changed except that they are more run down.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    Great time at Rancho Las Palmas

    Reviewed by tomcE7483TE(Encinitas, California) on Apr 05, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family really enjoyed our stay. We went to the splashtopia, it was so much fun there. It’s also dog friendly, and next time we’ll bring our dog. And the staff was nice, even gave us a late night golf cart tour.

    Good but needs work

    Reviewed by Ruhlmanfamily(Colorado Springs, Colorado) on Mar 27, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I had high hopes for this resort, despite some sad reviews.... me and my best friend booked this trip over spring break with our kids. Upon check-in, we were greeted with a “hi” from a woman, and another in training...and they seemed irritated we were bothering them. This shocked me as I’ve been to 4 star resorts....and that’s never been the welcome I’ve received. No big deal, we continued checking in. The pool situation was not explained to us despite me asking questions on when we could go to pool. Come to find out we had morning pool times and that was it. if you want all day pool access you better be willing to shell out the money for a cabana (they don’t tell you that, but we figured it out.) after finishing check in, we were handed our keys and sent on our way. Immediately upon pulling up to the buildings I noticed dirty dishes in the flower bushes and I couldn’t figure out what that would be. I later saw that this is a practice all through the resort by housekeepers. I’m sure it’s someone’s job to come get them....but the dishes sat in front of our building 2 entire days. That’s just crazy to me! Have some pride! the rooms were just okay. They need updating and lots of work. We got upgraded for free to poolside, which was nice for the kids but if you have littles who will be easily kept up at night by music by the pool, this upgrade isn’t for you. Casey, our poolside server both days was a delight. He’s pleasant and kept it real with us. I always appreciate a genuine person who doesn’t come off fake to make a buck (recognizing this is their job, but he def took good care of us.) It was okay, I don’t leave here overly wowed but it was relaxing, and it was beautiful. The golf course is gorgeous and seems well kept...bluember was just okay. Certainly expect to pay resort prices however do know there is food within walking distance or a quick 3 min drive. We even DoorDashed one night (papa Dan’s was a nightmare highly don’t recommend) The kids had an amazing time and that’s all that matters. I wish for the money I spent, that just a few details could have been a bit better. Communication and welcoming upon checkin being number one, and the dishes situation throughout the resort the other.... I don’t know that I would come back or highly recommend to anyone for a longer trip. For a few days, it served its purpose and was really enjoyable and relaxing.