Now Amber Puerto Vallarta

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    "Amazing enjoyable vacation from the resort to the fiendly staff"

    Reviewed by Rod Cozma on Dec 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Just got back from an amazing trip to the Now Amber. As disabled wheelchair bound traveler we have been able to many resorts in Puerto Vallarta over the years. We found the Now to be very accessible with wheelchair accessible rooms. Ahead of time I was able to contact the Concierge Daniela and arrange for the handicap room and a booking at the chefs table in the Hibachi restaurant, she was able to honor our request, very much appreciated. Right from our arrival the friendliness and concern for our wellbeing was very evident. The staff were amazing, with their energy and smiling faces were friendly and very helpful. All the staff display courteousness, professional and a happy spirit that we appreciate and could learn from, they all deserve a big shout of praise and applause! Now for the resort itself, it is very beautiful and well looked after and did not seem to crowded or noisy at 71 per cent occupancy. Chairs and towels were always available. We were able to try Capers Italian restaurant 2 times, the food was amazing and had many choices. The Castaways restaurant had many choices including Surf and Turf and coconut ice cream. The Hibachi grill was an enjoyable food and entertainment experience and the Himitsu Pan Asian restaurant was great. We were able to book the French restaurant in the Secret side as well.Every morning w e would go to the Coco Caf? and get our coffee ,loti or cappuccino , and go to the beach and enjoy the ocean. Breakfast and lunch at Carnival had many tasty food options. Our handicap room was spacious and had everything we could ask for including a beautiful view of the resort and the ocean. The grounds were well maintained with a lot of room for everyone. Really, staying at any resort as we have been to many in Puerto Vallarta over the years one may encounter a few hiccups and things that may not go your way . We must remember that sometimes it is us that may have to make an attitude adjustment and go with the flow and enjoy yourself.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    We enjoyed our stay!

    Reviewed by SandyP on May 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The Now Amber is very beautiful. We were not advised at check in that the room numbers are on the ground so we found it a bit challenging locating our room initially. The rooms are very nice and spacious and have a sliding door separating the room from the washroom with a separate door for the toilet. The El la Carte restaurant was very good with very nice presentation

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    I loved this hotel! Especially the freshly squeezed juice served at breakfast.

    Reviewed by Nada on May 17, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is an exceptional resort. I loved the spaciousness of the resort without being too large. A beautifully design lobby area - a modern twist with authentic Mexican decor. The rooms are a substantial size, and provide all the necessary amenities. The pools area is well designed with a large number of lounge chairs to choose from to catch some Vitamin D. A bonus is a swim up bar in the pool area.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Beautiful views

    Reviewed by Kris on May 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This a beautiful resort. The rooms are very nice and the views are spectacular. The Italian restaurant was my favourite, delicious! Excellent staff and service and a great location in Puerto Vallarta. You can walk to the Malecon in about 40 minutes. The beach in this area is the one downside. No fault of the resort, is just typical of this area. Just a bit rocky. The upside to the beach is that the servers come right to your chair to serve you. Still very nice if you're sitting and sunbathing and people watching. If you prefer a no Kid-zone you could try next-door at Secrets for an adult only experience, they are attached.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    First time, first Hotel ! Unforgettable experience overall!!

    Reviewed by Gigi on May 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Now is Wow...!!! Luxury, location, views, beautiful clean rooms and amazing food! Let's not forget the staff, always eager to help and please you!!!

    L

    A dream hotel with great location!

    Reviewed by Lena on May 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Excellent hotel with a beautiful view! Great location, 5 minutes away from downtown and good for both families or couples. Spacious room with separate space for the bathroom and shower and bathtub. At night you could hear the surf from the waves, very relaxing! Great selections of restaurants and food, the staff are all amazing! I was here with a group but would like to come back on my own time soon!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    I

    Wonderful hotel with great service and location

    Reviewed by Irene on May 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a great hotel with great service. The rooms were quite large and the service was amazing. The food quality was very good and highly recommend the Italian restaurant. We arrived quite late at the hotel and was happy to see that we could still get into the a la carte restaurant at 10pm.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Great Property. Great Location.

    Reviewed by NinaW on Apr 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The Now Amber is an elegant resort. Although I found check in to be very slow, they were detailed & informative when it was my turn. I found the room number hard to find, until I realized it was on the ground. Quirky, but easy to navigate once understood. The room was spacious and I liked the separate room for the toilet. The dual sinks in the bathroom was nice and having sliding doors made the room feel more spacious. The restaurants were delicious with attention to detail. The property was full when we went, but didn’t feel crowded and the waiter at the pool took care of us. I enjoyed the location and would definitely stay there again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    k

    A nice enough resort but it lacks the polish to make it a five star destination. Over priced.

    Reviewed by knh959 on Mar 15, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Certainly not a five star resort. Sales, sales and more sales. From the moment you check in with the reception desk until you depart, somebody is trying to sell you something. Vacation Club, spa, tours, trinkets, t-shirts' hats, and on and on. The beach is sub standard and full of pebbles. If you plan on swimming in the ocean you will need beach shoes or very tough bare feet. Food was edible but not remarkable. If cigarette and cigar smoke bother you then be prepared. People a surprising large number of them smoke wherever they like INCLUDING in the lobby area, pool side and even while in the pool. Lots of private functions mainly weddings but no private function area - they just kick you out of the pool section they're taking over for the function. Full credit though to resort staff. They do go out of their way to provide the best service possible. I'd also like to give a shout out to the WestJet rep Monica. She was/is wonderful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Go somewhere else

    Reviewed by Mary on Jan 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort was billed as 4.5 stars but I would dispute that rating. The hotel was okay but not luxurious. The beds were hard and the pillows like bricks. The buffet for breakfast and lunch was mediocre. The evening restaurants were only good to average. The French one was the best by far. It was nice to have access to Secrets next door but it was really not much different as a resort. The gym was old and not clean, with broken machines. The beach in Puerto Vallarta seemed to be polluted. For the first time ever on a trip to Mexico we didn't swim at all because there was brown scum in the water; no other tourists seemed to be in there either. Perhaps it was the dirty and polluted creeks and lagoons that flowed into the bay, or the horse manure left on the beach that caused the pollution. We couldn't even sit and read on the beach because of the booming music from our own resort and Secrets next door each competing to be louder. Give it a pass. There are much nicer places to go in Mexico.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4629 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent staff especially Carlos

    Reviewed by Lodders5() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel is amazing very clean and at a very good location, but what really made the holiday was the staff, one of them which stranded out was called Carlos who is very funny and part of the entertainment team, other staff such as Diego and Noeh where also very nice and funny especially Charli

    Staff and hotel review

    Reviewed by Charchar200511() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Carlos - entertainment staff He was extremely welcoming and he entertained us very well !! Highly recommend coming to this hotel, the staff made our holiday amazing! Carlos alongside the rest of the entertainment team were excellent. Would be a pleasure to come back to the hotel again next year

    Best holiday ever - the friendliest staff in the world

    Reviewed by Reditaliandevil(Chesterfield, United Kingdom) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Before I mention 2 / 3 special people who I made friends with from the 1st day I need to re-iterate that everyone I made contact with were the most courteous, most friendly, most genuine people I’ve ever met. Mexico and the Now will now have a special place in my heart. Day 1 I made friends with Jorge Robles from the poolside waiting staff. I asked him to teach me a bit of Spanish and in turn I would say it in Italian too. What a great guy! He was so friendly, so attentive, always had a smile on his face. I also got on so well with his colleaguesDaniel and Edmundo but the bartenders were amazing too. They were so hard working, busy all day and never a moan or a groan from them. What an amazing set of staff you have. I remember Daniel and Fabian and apologies to those who I’ve forgotten. On the last day they made us a special parting gift of puddings which was such a great gesture. I never go back to the same place but I d feel I d really want to make an exception this time as the staff were so kind and giving. I also met the pool concierges and the 1st guy I met was Pedro Demain Marrujo Marquez ( Yes I remembered his name as I would address him every day ??). I quizzed him about his home town Dallas but he had never heard of the infamous 80’s TV Series so we d have a laugh about that everyday Later I met the friendly Jairo and funny Noeh. Jairo was such a nice guy and would always come and chat with our group and Noeh made special provisions for the group too.

    Great Staff, OK vacation

    Reviewed by Nicole R(Dallas, Texas) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My family and I traveled to Now Amber as this was our first time at a Now Property we didn't know what to expect but expected it to be great since we've been to many Amstar/UVC properties in the past (Zoetry, Secrets, Dreams). We were a bit dissapointed in the quality of the overal guests...The STAFF and FOOD were execellent as usual however all of the little expectant things were a bit off. The clientel wasn't as kind and the overall taking care of each other and soon on, was a bit disappointing. Thank goodness we were UVC members and for some of the staff for going above and beyond for us!! We had friends traveling with us and we couldn't help but feel a bit emabarrassed b/c were used to a certain standard coming from the other resorts where things are just done and not having to request or ask and feel like a bother to them. That will be our last time at a NOW resort. We however want to give a huge shout out to a couple of staff members that went ABOVE and Beyond to take care of us. Humberto, our Concierge in the Preferred club~ he made everything happen and always checked in with us. He by far is the BIGGEST ASSEST that NOW AMBER has. He is amazing at his job and LOVES it. I hope everyone who visits NOW AMBER gets an opportunity to meet this HERO who saved our trip:)) ((He made an extra special birthday for our little girl with balloons in the room and her own chocolate cake)) ((when I got ill and needed the dr and perscriptions he was there to assist)) FANTASTIC EMPLOYEE David, Pool director~ He is excellent at his job and truly cares he oversees so many of the staff and is the guy to talk to with any issues or concerns. He great care of us!! Pedro, Perferred club bar~ He is all smiles and is a super guy! He makes excellent Mud slides that our little girl loved Daniel, Luis and Carlos Diaz~ they were all amazing too and definitely need to be recognized.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Anniversary/Coupls Trip

    Reviewed by fortisrd(Kansas City, Missouri) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was the best trip ever. The staff were so nice and attentive! We upgraded to Preferred Club, best choice ever!! I want to shout out Humberto, he was my favorite person, Ever! He helped us through out our entire stay. We went to see a show on Las Caletas Island, it was great we did VIP the dinner was wonderful..it was a recommendation by Mike/ Amstar he was another one of my favorites. I can't wait to go back. The only downfall, was the people trying to sell us timeshares. Everything was perfect!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX