Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
    6. Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    Paradise anyway you look at it!

    Reviewed by JerryNJ on Jun 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed a week at VDP in May of 2014. We loved everything about it. Friendly and accommodating employees. We ate at the restaurants a few times and enjoyed the food and drinks. We had a studio room on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view overlooking the pool. Everything in the resort is incredibly clean! Walkin distance to many places to eat and have drinks. There's a bus stop right out front so getting around is easy. A large grocery store is a 10 minute walk to stock up on snacks, water and other essentials. The resort is beachfront on Banderas Bay with spectacular views of the mountains and bay with many water activities available. All this for a very reasonable price. I highly reccomend Villa Del Palmar to anyone visiting Puerto Vallarta. I am looking forward to returning to PV someday and will be staying at VDP for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Comfortable and Relaxing Pleasant Surroundings

    Reviewed by WinnipegWay on Mar 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had a comfortable vacation at this resort. It was not great or fantastic or exceptional but it was comfortable. We stayed for two weeks. March 2 to 16 It rained for the last 2 days of our stay. *The check-in process was smooth and quick we arrived at approx.11:00 AM We were given our AI wristbands by 11:20 AM and informed that our room would not be ready till 3:00 PM. Okay; no big deal we'll go and catch a bite at the restaurant Patron . But before that happens we are met by the concierge to go over the hotel welcome package. Nice thought; but in reality it was a timeshare pitch; which for us was okay since we bluntley told him that we were not interested in timeshares. *The room when we finally got our cards was a delux studio with a small kitchenette. The decor was not mexican in my thinking but some gosh awful post modern pastel pinks and blues with two double beds instead of the king size we had requested!!! Our vacation provider does not seem to have much pull in the type of representation they have for meeting their clients requests at this resort. The room was 3227 2nd floor located in building 3 and the room was facing the distant main highway for Puerto Vallarta we were never bothered by traffic noise as we were far enough away from the street We at this point made up our mind to stay put and get on with our vacation. LIKES: The staff who checked us in, the maid who made our room, the waiters and pool boys who served us; were what made the stay pleasant. The evening entertainment had some really good performances along with a few mediocre acts. But a good balance of entertainment. Place overall was clean; DISLIKES: AI does not mean all food and spirits available to us during stay only beer available Corona ACK!!ACK!!GAG!!GAG!! , Pacifico others extra; bailey's extra. Very small beachfront. The insufferable SPRING BREAKERS whose behaviour mimics morons . If they were in my hotel I would kick them out so the rest could enjoy their vacations.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3651 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Be vigilant of your credit card

    Reviewed by KurtLarson101(Bakersfield, United States) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We love staying at this resort, and this was our third time. The rooms are clean, the service is excellent and the food is fabulous! There's just one thing that keeps happening every time we check in. You need to be very vigilant when checking in. I recommend that you take with you a copy of the confirmation email and your bank statement that shows how much your deposit was at the time of making reservations, and know exactly how much your final payment is. I also recommend checking your credit card transactions every day your there. Every. Single. Time. there has been a problem during check-in and with the charges. In the past, they tried to collect more than what was owed, and they attempted this again with my buddy who was checking in at the same time as me. Luckily, he had his credit card transaction showing what he already paid. They swipe your card more than once when doing transactions. This time, they made a copy of my credit card by placing a piece of paper over it and rubbing a pencil over the numbers. I thought that was quite odd. Then they put my credit card in a hand-held card reader and claimed it said the chip was not working. He did this as he held the screen away from my view. He re-inserted it again and claimed the same thing, without ever showing me the screen. Then he said “let me try another terminal” and put it in another reader and immediately turned it towards me so I could see the screen and it worked just fine. On the second day of our stay, my credit card company notified me that a pending transaction of $110 was charged to my card. When I brought this to the front desk, they assured me that “they have an employee that does nothing but go over all their transactions every day to make sure there are no mistakes” and that “he would have caught it before it was finalized.” My buddy had the same thing happen, and they told him a different story, that the person who charged his credit card was “new and didn't know what he was doing,” and that he would “talk to him about it.” Finally, my reservation included a $100 room credit, that I tried to use to buy some photos that the resort took of us during their theme nights. When I went to check out, they said I owed $21.34 for the photos. I told him I wanted to use the room credit, so he said “sure, I just need your credit card.” I asked why, and he said, so he can 'return the $21.34 to my card,” which he never did. When I go on vacation, I do so to get away from all my worries. It's not a vacation when all you do is worry and watch out for people ripping you off.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Pleasantly Surprised

    Reviewed by Daryl A(Victoria, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We decided to go back to Mexico for a last-minute vacation. We usually stay at 5-star resorts but decided to give this resort a try and we were pleasantly surprised. The resort is older, but everything is kept in great condition and everything was very clean and manicured. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, the food was good, and the facilities met our needs. The best thing about the resort is the friendly staff and the great service they provided. Other people complained about having to sign for everything even if your go all inclusive, but you get used to it and it is understandable as many people do not go all inclusive and many of the guests have time shares so they have to keep track. Time share sales are pushed but all you have to do is say no if you’re not interested. They only thing that was bothersome was the number of aggressive vendors on the beach as they would come up to your beach chairs repeatedly even after you tell them no thankyou! I don’t begrudge them trying to make a living but after you politely tell them no they should leave you alone. Overall the resort exceeded what we where expecting, and we will be going back at some point.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Such a good service

    Reviewed by AntoniaJ1988() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I can’t believe how good is the people in this place! I need to mention the concierge team cause they were amazing! Irma, Brandon, Luigi, Carolina, Diego, Ramon, Faviola! Every time we got to the desk they had an answer for everything, they helped us with tours and reservations outside! It was an amazing stay! Thank you all!

    No Kid’s Club

    Reviewed by steponne(Virginia Beach, Virginia) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I signed up for a “marketing trip” a few years ago without researching the group. Upon research, I tried to cancel. We knew coming into the trip that this was not a luxury resort, but after reading the reviews we figured it couldn’t be too bad. We also had the option of staying on the sister resort, flamingo, but picked this hotel due to proximity to the city and the kids activities and pool slide. Our kids, 8 and 6, were looking forward to the hotel. We had researched all the kids activities and they had their daily itinerary planned based on the kids activities - scavenger hunt, water balloon fight. Per the website, they had something planned everyday!!! FALSE ADVERTISING!! Upon checking in at 2 pm on Sunday our first stop was the kids club. We opened the door (behind the ice cream shop) and there was nothing in the room. We asked our concierge and she assured us there was one. She promised to check and get back to us, we never heard or saw her again. Needless to say, there were no kids activities while we were there. The kids were so disappointed. The good news is that they enjoyed the pool and activities around the pool like bingo and water volleyball. The also had looked forward to the nightly activities but 2 of the 3 were cancelled. On our last day, Thursday, we saw the sign for kids club. We asked the activities director where they had been all week. He said they were there but I told him there was no kids club sign by the pool with activities until Thursday. We checked out the room again and this time it had pool noodles, activity cart, etc. we deduced that it must have only been on weekends or maybe it was impacted by Easter holiday. Either way, it impacted our overall experience with the resort and the group. We felt taken advantage of. The restaurants were average as well. We ate mostly off the resort except for breakfast and pool side. We had all inclusive but were annoyed by having to sign receipts every time we wanted anything and the expectation of tip of 10% or more was crazy. We always prepare for tips at all inclusive but not to the level of this trip and always as a gesture and not an expectation. Ending on a good note, we had a one bedroom suite in building 4 and it was nice and met expectations. The pool staff was great. We tipped well so our pool guy made sure we were well taken care of. They are the hardest working people on the resort. I would make sure you do your research before you pick this hotel. Everyone talks about the staff, which are good, but not the best. We’ve been to Puerto Vallarta multiple times and this resort was the worst by far.

    Great hotel but showing its age

    Reviewed by kdzglobal() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our room was in need of upgrading. Adding colorful and interesting art touches. Kitchen was totally repainted in bright colors but the wooden cupboards really dated the room. Service was great. Everything was very clean, great food and concierge surface was exemplary. Really enjoyed our week.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX