Barceló Bávaro Palace

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    A

    Disappointed! Poor food and service. Don't go here!

    Reviewed by Al & T on Jan 19, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Disappointed! Worst trip in the past 20 years! Beach, pool and weather were great but Bad food & horrible service. We selected a Junior suite, but no alcohol in the mini bar & no wifi - like it was 1990! Unless you paid extra - Everything was an attempt to up sell-join the Barcelo club, join the premium club, join Barcelo vacations - like airport time-share sellers!! Resort appeared overbooked & understaffed. Rooms were old & dated-not like the pictures advertised.Had problems with electrical, access to our safe, hot tub motor and bed bugs (they took our reports). Had the maid change the sheets and tipped her every day but the room was just old. Found 2 ala-cartes to eat at (Hoyo 19 and La Brisa) that were better than the main resort but access was limited?!? Would never book here again - just horrible service.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    You worked very hard for a trip, go somewhere else.

    Reviewed by Russ on Jan 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    I tried to add my full review, however, I am not afforded to opportunity to give the full review. So unfortunately, here's what I have to give: PROS: Rooms had a wall safe, A la cartes looked beautiful from outside, nice to get away CONS: Literally too many to mention. My family and I travel 2-3 times a year to resorts and all over. This is not a great resort to stay at and for the $$ they charge, I know you can find a better brand to put your money into. I mean you worked hard for the vacation, so why wouldn't you want to have the best bang for your buck!? This place is a dud. From customer service to cleaning the rooms and stocking them, this resort is a big fail. The photos of the beach and resort are staged big time!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 20326 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Would not return.

    Reviewed by nikkosuav3() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Resort itself was beyond beautiful. Super clean outside and a well kept beach. However, my stay was far from enjoyable. I'll start with the room. Check in was at 830. I get to my room and the air conditioner is not working and the room is hot as hell and smells like fresh paint. The front desk tries telling me the sensors are not lined up on the sliding glass door. Unknowing at the time, I check the sensors. They are matching up. I call back and they send a maintenance guy. He arrives and agrees the sensors are lined up and checks the thermostat. He removes the thermastat and leaves. I don't see this guy for another hour and a half. During that first hour I call the front desk and ask for a new room. The "manager" at the front desk tells me she will upgrade my room if he doesn't fix it. Finally, he replaces the sensor and tells me it will work eventually. We leave and come back to the room hours later. The room is still a boiler room! I am now irritated because it's 2pm and I just want to shower and unpack. I go to the front desk and ask to speak to the manager as I would like my promised upgraded room. The manager now states she never told me she'd upgrade my room. After about 5 mins of discussion she finally gives me a new room with an ocean view on the 4th floor. (I'm happy with the "upgrade", but I don't recommend booking on the 4th floor as you can barely see the ocean due to the height of the palm trees). Only downfall is I wouldn't be able to check into this room until 430pm due to availability. Mind you my check in was 830am and I'm now getting into my room at 430pm. This was just the first of many issues during my stay. The majority of my issues lie within the staff. Countless times during my 7 night stay I dealt with rude employees. I always felt like I was inconveniencing them and they would look/act irritated when I interacted with the staff. One of my most memorable moments is when I needed an additional key for my room as they only supplied us with 1 key despite request for 2 (we did not recieve the key at the front desk, the bellhop helped us move from our old room to the next). With everything that went on that day, I just wait for the next morning to get a new key. I go to the front desk and ask for an additional key. The lady looks at me with the most pissed off face, rolls her eyes at me and goes, "why?" Her tone was so rude. This wasn't a why like, "oh why? Did you lose your key?" this was a why like, "why the hell are you bugging me with this and did you lose the only key we gave you two?!" This is not what costumer service should be like. So now onto the food. I get it, it's got to be hard to cook for thousands of people on a daily basis, but common. The buffets for lunch are worse than food served at a golden corral. Food that's supposed to be hot is cold and food thats supposed to be cold is hot. The omlettes made in the morning were the warmest food I ate the whole trip. Also, the omlett guy that fist bumps you is the nicest man on the resort. Dude was super friendly and nice. Try to avoid the buffets if possible dine in at Hoya19 by the golf shop. This is not my first all inclusive and I know how they go as far as reservations go. You need to book days in advance for your dinners and they book up quick. Or at least that's what they tell you. Half the time the restaurants are literally half filled and supposedly they had no openings the night of. Beyond bogus tactic to make it appear busy. The 24 hour sports bar food is standard pub food, but again. All cold no matter what time you try and eat. It's a shame that the unfriendly staff ruined what could have been a great trip. I tried to overlook the staff and focus on the positives, but when I encounted rude staff on a daily basis it's hard to look passed it. One thing to mention is that I've stayed at a lot of all inclusive resorts and the language barrier is huge at the resort. Last thing I'll say is that I see a lot of 5 star reviews, take them with a grain of salt. A lot of them seem fake. Oh yeah, and the power went out on the whole resort.

    My 29th bday!

    Reviewed by marco_tulio34(Pembroke Pines, Florida) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I can definitely say I got my money’s worth. I will be staying at this resort in the future. The staff was pleasant and friendly. The guys in the Japanese restaurant made my bday fun. I recommend this resort to anyone who wants to be surrounded by a fun staff who will make your experience a great one!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great vacatiins

    Reviewed by maximo c(Oxnard, California) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Recently we were on this resort, despite the bad publicity about Punta Cana and find it very safe. The check in was slow and sloppy but the bell boy made up by giving us a midnight tour on our way to the room. The food was not very impressive and I have find out about the 3 Barcelo resorts I have visit on the last 10 years have been the same. The Italian was the best of all of them, we,did not try the French, just because it wasn't included in our package.the 19th hole a la carte restaurant was ok and the service was fenomenal, same as the 2 ladies at the bar by the Barcy kid's pool, Leonidas and Elizabeth, they were always happy and making sure we were feeling welcomed, running the extra mile to please their guest, kudos to this 2 nice ladies. The rooms were a little bit unkept for a 5 star hotel, paint drips on carpet and sour smell on the room ( it got solved right away) also, the servibar was not filled up every day as it should (or were spected). It has definitely room for improvement.

    Absolutely Amazing for Family!

    Reviewed by drbelmonte(Grand Rapids, Michigan) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing experience for families with young kids the proximity to the pools the ocean the kids place couldn’t be any better! We had a blast, we felt safe, we had a time of a lifetime! A must have!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Vacations

    Reviewed by pmarqu738585(Orlando, Florida) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Barcelo Bavaro Punta Cana is a great place to visit for vacations. From the staff to employees, they all make your stay just like you belong in this place. Their attention towards you, make great bonding, considering that you only stay for a few days. All employees try to make you feel like you should had stayed longer in this Resort. Congratulations to all this great people!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX