Occidental Caribe

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Janis on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is amazing as always in Punta Cana. The layout of hotel is excellent espeically if you stay in the 3340 area. Walk down the stairs or tak elevator and right at pool. Very short walk to beach. The beach snake bar is open until 5 am which is fantastic. The pizza parlour above the beach snack bar is a must. Personalized pizzas while overlooking the ocean. Every where you go in the evening there is entertainment, not just in one location. This makes it a very lively resort. People have said the people serving are not friendly. This was not the case, they were very friendly if you were. Even without a tip. This could easily be a 5 star if the updated the bathroom ( if functions just fine) and upgraded the buffet with a little more options or making sure they are cooking enough at one time. For example, shrimp on the grill. Chef would put about 15 on, and would be gone in 4 people. So you had to wait in a line, for next batch to be cooked. I have been to Rui and Grand Bahia several times in Punta Cana, and can say I would return to Occidental Caribe over them just based on layout of resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12284 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fair Stay

    Reviewed by angrami_ii() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Food variety is limited, beach is great and pool is ok but I would never visit again this hotel. If you can spend a few buck more I strongly suggest to visit another hotel even from the same Barcelo chain but personally not this one.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Needs update

    Reviewed by Persida C() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Rooms are old and outdated. They are also small for a family of 4. Room when we arrived was missing towels AC didn’t work well cleaning not done and tub was clogged. My kids hated it and will not return

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Occidental Caribe hotel and resort.

    Reviewed by tchomphel(Mississauga, Canada) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our recent family vacation in Punta Cana Occidental Caribe was overall very satisfying. Hotel have one of the best beach compared to other good hotels. I would say food is average ( not really good or bad). Loved their daily fresh fruits and Mexican restaurant. Both the pools are very good and the pool bar was good. The staff are super friendly and helpful. However if you tip just a dollar you get exceptional service and smile. I liked everything in this hotel based on the current standard and pricing. Love the beach area soccer or foot ball and beach volleyball area if you love those sports. Except few things, food needs improvement with quality, add more international beers, WiFi is paid service. We did two excursions ( Saona island, which I don’t recommend for the price, you won’t spot any sea creatures as advertised, long trip with less time to spent on actual Saona island). La Hacienda ( boggy ride, zip line, horse ride, safari with local food ) was ok for the price. For shopping soveniers hotel have free shuttle service to the stores, but they’re all connected means it’s pricy and the extra added price are distributed from driver to hotel front staff. But if you happen to go for shopping, don’t shop from the 01st store who doesn’t bargain, go to 02nd store where you can discount or bargain almost 50%.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent value for the money

    Reviewed by dmitri_perepelov(Pincourt, Canada) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Good hotel: big pools, excellent food, spacious rooms (sweets at premium level strongly recommended). Good for couples and families alike. Would definitely recommend to my friends and - for the first time in 10 years of travelling - would even want to come back!

    COSTUMER SERVICE TERRIBLE

    Reviewed by Freddyog() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    In the reception they should have more consideration to the costumers because we do not go to that hotel for free we pay our money, there its an employee called REINA that she has a terrible attitude she did not want tp help the customers

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX