Occidental Caribe

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Janis on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is amazing as always in Punta Cana. The layout of hotel is excellent espeically if you stay in the 3340 area. Walk down the stairs or tak elevator and right at pool. Very short walk to beach. The beach snake bar is open until 5 am which is fantastic. The pizza parlour above the beach snack bar is a must. Personalized pizzas while overlooking the ocean. Every where you go in the evening there is entertainment, not just in one location. This makes it a very lively resort. People have said the people serving are not friendly. This was not the case, they were very friendly if you were. Even without a tip. This could easily be a 5 star if the updated the bathroom ( if functions just fine) and upgraded the buffet with a little more options or making sure they are cooking enough at one time. For example, shrimp on the grill. Chef would put about 15 on, and would be gone in 4 people. So you had to wait in a line, for next batch to be cooked. I have been to Rui and Grand Bahia several times in Punta Cana, and can say I would return to Occidental Caribe over them just based on layout of resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11377 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Bad Customer Service

    Reviewed by Lauren S() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My friends and I took a girls trip here expecting a week off from work, the staff provided us with the opposite experience. The service here is very poor. We made dinner reservations at the Hibachi restaurant on the resort and showed up 5 minutes early. They told us to wait outside until the exact minute of the reservation, and were extremely rude. At the restaurant they also did not come to take our order or give us water for 40 minutes. The food did not come for an hour and a half after the reservation. This happened at all the restaurants that we made reservations for on the resort. The food at the buffet was also not good, and birds were flying in over the food as we went through the line. The front desk people were unfriendly, as well as the other workers. Overall had a very bad experience with customer service.

    Great Service.

    Reviewed by opreplleci(Keasbey, New Jersey) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is one of my best resort for choice. Staff is friendly and helpful. I had great time with friends. They need to have soup available for the drunkies, I have experience twice where there’s no food to be found.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    02/23/2019 - 02/28/2019 stay

    Reviewed by Exploration631684() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    there were 24 of us that went ( 16 adults and 8 kids ) and 8 out of that group was their 1st time going on a tropical vacation . We've always liked Dominican because of the beach and the staff's service is always beyond your expectation ( this is my 7th X ) . So I booked this vacation for everyone and when we got there it was chaos checking in our groups ...grant it there were another big group checking in the same time as us and those groups got their welcome drinks but not our groups … we had to ask for it or send some of our friends that were waiting in line . So check in was not a good experienced . Every morning for breakfast and lunch was a challenge trying to find silverware or a staff member to get us coffee ( for breakfast ) or water . My husband only drinks cappuccino when we go on vacation ( he feels its a special treat ) and was shut down was told to get it at the bar in the lobby . We had stayed before where they didn't serve it at the breakfast place but they sent someone to get it and that was a good feeling to be treated that way …. Our rooms were Ocean front 3244 , great view but we were woken up by the loud music and food trays at 5 a.m. because they were setting up for breakfast so I wouldn't recommend staying on that section. 1st day showering and brushing our teeth there , our sink was clogged and our shower so we asked them to please fix it and they fixed the sink but not the shower and we had asked for them to come back but never did so I ended up doing it myself with a toothpick and used my flip flops to try to make suction ( like a plunger ) because I couldn't deal with water up to my ankle every time I shower ! it shouldn't be something I should be dealing with … all of my groups rooms I guess were that way …..asking for extra towels and bottled water was a challenge …. My clients were not happy with their experienced at this resort , if I didn't go with them I wouldn't believe them but I was there ….staff were not attentive or friendly we even tip every time but was still getting crappy service ! we were all asking if we were all on an all inclusive vacation because it certainly didn't feel that way …. I feel horrible giving a bad review but that's what we experienced . I wouldn't book anyone back at that resort …. The Dominican cuisine restaurant staff were really friendly though...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Beautiful Resort and Facilities, but a nasty buffet made it hard to eat at times.

    Reviewed by Beemuirman(Cleveland, Ohio) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I have been to many all inclusive resorts and here are my points.... GOOD: -Beautifully manicured grounds, warm and clean pools, amazing beach with no seaweed and white sand. - The best fitness center ever in terms of many types free weights for working out. - Many friendly employees that have amazingly genuine smiles and are very gracious. - Decent tiled and clean rooms with excellent air conditioning, nice bathroom, many cable tv stations, ironing board, iron, comfortable bed, free safe and a very nice balcony of good size. ( the sliding glass door doesn’t lock, but it would be hard to reach from the outside) -Quick 20 minute ride from and the the airport - Decent Restaurants such as the Italian (slow service at times), seafood and Japanese. - Respectful, and attentive bar service. - The employees are very laid back and very accommodating and not too strict. Thank you. The BAD: - The worst tasting and looking buffet food for breakfast and lunch. Many items look visually unappealing and lack flavor and are of very low quality. The bacon is hideous! There is no attention to temperature which is critical for food safety. The employees (due to the food and beverage management’s fault due to lack of caring) don’t monitor the temperature of the food. Many times the food is cold when it should be hot, such as beans, rice, potatoes, soup, and meat, etc.......and who can eat cold potatoes and soup? - Lack of consistency in food preparation. Minestrone Soup in the Italian Restaurant is served one day with a little pasta in it ( the correct way) and the next time it was missing. One day breakfast buffet has only mashed potatoes, next day cold sliced potatoes, another day a potato dumpling. One day the Caesar Salad is served with Anchovies and the next day none. The menu in the Japanese restaurant shows Mitsu Soup to be served, but it never arrives. - Some employees rudely solicits tips and it can be a very uncomfortable and awkward situation. I find that even if you tip a $1 or two, that some are disappointed. I find this situation may occur because some idiot guest ( Mostly my fellow Americans) over-tip and screws it up for the rest of us tippers. I saw a guy tip a bartender a $20 bill and another Canadian guy tip $5 for two drinks....you guys really need to chill and don’t be such a show off. This resort claims that tips are included, but even tipping a moderate amount might seem too little by some employees. I find this area to bring down the enjoyment of the stay. Attention to the General Manager: Please replace or retrain your Food and Beverage Manager that oversees the buffet restaurant. Food needs to be of higher quality and less quantity! Focus on FOOD TEMPERATURE and monitor the temperature of food consistently while in the container. Start caring about this because lack of attention shows you don’t care about temperature and it’s impact on food safety. My wife got sick for the first time ever in her life by eating at your buffet. This is very rare for her.

    Beautiful Place, Horrible Food

    Reviewed by Tourist12149093026(Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The beach, resort, and pool are beautiful. The food is absolutely horrible. You had to wait in line at 6 am to make any reservations. Due to this fact, we were stuck eating at the horrible buffet and surviving off of bread all week. It took us two hours to check in with a large group. Checking out was also a disaster. We paid cash for the security deposit and had an early flight. The man at the desk told us his manager was not there to access the money, so we never received it back. On top of that, the taxi's we ordered from the resort the day before to take us to the airport never showed up.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX