Grand Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 10458 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Mr Paul Mcinnes

    Reviewed by paulver(Scotland) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Hi i would like to say our rooms have been very clean and tidy thanks to our maid on 1512 fantastic job. Our food has been good in every restaurant we have attended only one thing at Route 66 starter is always luke warm but service was great. Beach fantastic amenities as good as anywhere i have been including sister hotel in Mexico.Now the bar staff are always busy but one of them sticks in my mind and his mame is Jimmy he remembers your drink and keeps you topped up without asking you will get great service from him, (hola ammigo). Down at the beach restaurant there is a lady called Yamaris forgive my spelling if i have this wrong she works relentlessly and is out of this world (She should be promoted). Now here it comes my complaints noisy passageway in my block from 23.oo until 2am maybe some please quite signs would be a good idea. Seaweed on beach (down to mother nature). A Great Hotel For Vacation ENJOY.

    3 star not 5 star - understaffed resort

    Reviewed by Nicky101207(Hamilton, United Kingdom) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We have just returned from a family holiday at the Grand Sirenis. Firstly I have to say that the complex itself is beautiful and the grounds well tended BUT more like a 3 star plus hotel. Certainly not the 5 star it claims to be. The sports bar and coffee shop are the best places in the complex. Every member of staff were friendly and we were always passed with a greeting and smile, and especially those who tended the pool bar during the day. The maid service was varied and sometimes rooms weren’t cleaned until around 5pm and sometimes no towels were left. The service to customers is what is letting it down. The complex is clearly understaffed for this time of year and staff seem to give priority serving to Spanish speaking guests. The main bar in the lobby can see you standing waiting for 15/20 minutes with bar staff attending to Spanish speaking customers first regardless of them getting a tip or not. The buffet restaurants service is appalling. Every morning we went for breakfast and could never find a table which was set and would have to ask several waitresses constantly for cutlery water and coffee and after a wait we “sometimes” got them. We ate there a few nights for dinner and had excellent service twice from an older man there called Pedro who was very attentive. There is an abundance of food choice for breakfast and dinner so something for everyone. The Japanese by far is the best restaraunt with the Tex Mex second. My partner was very ill for 2 days after eating in the Mediterranean one blaming the seafood he ate. We ate in the Italian several times but the last time both my son and partner were served with steaks which were rare with blood running out of them. We left straight away after complaining and again he was ill. The pool is disgusting at the swim up pool bar with a smell of urine and beer in it. Never saw it getting cleaned at all the whole time we were there which may have been another cause of so many people being ill. Most people we met had similar experiences to us with sickness and service from staff. I wouldn’t recommend this Hotel at all. The shops in the hotel are a total rip off. We paid $27 for a sun cream for my son after he got burned. Go to the market for anything you need. Bus leaves every day at 1pm and get your souvenirs there at half the prices!

    Fantastic hotel and staff

    Reviewed by sharon19632019() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I went to this hotel with family in June 2019 for 4th yr in a row. The hotel is lovely and staff are nice and friendly and polite, animacion team are fantastic, brilliant shows and work hard, hotel room cleaned daily ( be patient the maids have a lot of rooms to clean so dont moan. We have never had any major complaints and if anything small(very rare) just went to reception and it was sorted. The staff work very hard at the hotel and we obviously love the hotel and staff or we wouldn't have gone back 4yrs in a row and hopefully be returning for our 5th yr at the Grand Sirenis Punta Cana next yr.

    Vacation 06 Jul - 13 Jul 2019

    Reviewed by alvaraj(Puerto Rico) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I highly recommend this hotel. It is beautiful and the service was great. If I was to say something negative it would be that I think more service is needed at the buffet area due to people that attend there, but the food was great. For familys with kids, they have a Water Park. They have so things to do for all ages. I even dared to go down in one of the water slides. At the beach area we met Antonio, he gave us great service and made us laugh so much. So if you decide to go to this Hotel ask for him. He will treat you as family. Our Housekeeping Aide (room 2237) building 22, Mayra was so nice with us. She gave us a great service and was so loving with us. Our Nexus tours, Pablo gave us the best offers and accommodations. Jose, our tour guide to Saona Island was great, he even gave us a history class. My experience with the Dolphins was more than I expected. I never thought that one day I would dare to swim with them. It was one of a kind. Over all my vacations were great!??

    2 WEEKS OF NIGHTMARES

    Reviewed by Niamh N() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    So me and my family have been to the Dominican before years ago and loved it. Well this year I finally took my daughter on her first holiday, never again will we come back here or even to the country and I’m so upset by that. I recently did a review on their Facebook page and got the same old rubbish of what happened was due to change in climate. Within the first 3 days my daughter had caught a gastro bacterial infection and because of this was severely dehydrated. The on site clinical doctor told us that if we had a claim number from our travel insurance for the hospital outside of the resort, she would be treated. Well anyone who is British taking their children to this resort (if you can call it that) do take a credit card with you. Me and my mum spent 13 hours in a tiny little consulting room, with my daughter laying there, no observations done, refused treatment, even though the doctor there said she HAD to have antibiotics, no offer of food or water! Every time my child was sick when she woke up with nurses walking past, non of the checked on her, we had to beg for any kind of medicine when her temperature spiked! In the end, 13 hours later, we had to pay 3000 us dollas (that was just the deposit) so my daughter could receive treatment. The resort has got a long way to go before it can be deemed a 5*. The only member of staff who was amazing and had shown any concern for my daughters wellbeing was our MAID!! My sister and partner, went to get burgers from the beach bbq and found they were still raw. My dad had noticed how at this same beach bbq, the raw and cooked foods were being handled by the same utensils. To which, not 2 days after my child came home from the hospital, feeling a little better after what seemed like a rushed discharge only two days after been sent in, ended up ill again, with food poisoning and had a fever! The general hygiene of this resort I couldn’t even rate. They are far too under staffed at any of the buffets as you have to wait around for at least 45 minutes for your drinks, not all tables have any cutlery and if you asked for more, well your eating with your hands. The food, well can’t say a lot of it was cooked to any actual standards, most of the adults on our family trip spent a lot of time in the bathroom after eating from any restaurant or buffet. Pools are not clean at all, I kept my daughter away from them after she was ill the first time for the rest of the holiday. Can’t say too much for the clean bedding that we had in our room as our bedding never got changed whilst we were there (2weeks) I didn’t realise after the first few days we even got a bath mat or face clothes or even hand towels as they were never put in the room. We had one of the more renovated rooms and you could just see the wall paper peeling off, stains all along the head boards, bathroom I don’t think was actually cleaned once since being there. I will never recommend this resort to any one, so many British families who’s children and adults we spoke to were ill on this holiday. I have even had a few American families who saw my last review on Facebook contacted me and commented on the review with similar not so pleasant experiences. I already know what my reply will be from the management of this resort so this is to everyone planning on coming here. Don’t just please don’t even book it.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX