whala!bavaro

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    We truly enjoyed our trip and stay at the Whala Bavaro and the WestJet staff are the best

    Reviewed by Jack on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The vacation package was great. The locals were very warm and friendly, Staff looked after us with great respect couldn't ask for any thing more, Check in was quick and easy. We only had one bad experiance " Do Not Order The Lobster Special Dinner It is unacceptable and uneatable

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Wonderful Week at the Whala

    Reviewed by NSJanet on May 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Stayed at Whala the first week of April to celebrate my birthday; we had no issues with the hotel. We stayed in the suite section at the back, no issues with the room. Bar service is hit and miss, coffee is terrible not Dominican coffee but drinkable. Food is basic but good, hotel is only 147 rooms so there is not a big selection but you will not go hungry. Beach is a short stroll down the street. If you are used to 5* treatment and 5* resorts this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a basic hotel with good food, no loud entertainment to annoy you and want a quiet place to relax and meet new friends around the pool this is the location for you. We would return and would recommend the Whala without hesitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    W

    We love the Dominican People but the resort needs some better organisation

    Reviewed by Wolfgang : Halifax N.S. on Apr 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My Wife and I went for 10 days to the Whala Bavaro Resort The customer service Roberto and Jose were very helpful and very efficient ! Our Maid Carmen a very pleasant hard working women and helpful to . In the buffet and in the bar a very happy and helpful waiter is Julius,always on his toes to please the guests. The bad : The coffee was the worst we ever had in any resort in the Dominican Republic and we were 18 times visiting other resorts. Overall it is a small quiet place and the price was not bad. But we would not recommend it to any of my friends. And we would not return to this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    5

    Website misrepresents Hotel - Did not believe bad reviews. Check out travellers pics instead of stars - my new lesson learned.

    Reviewed by 50 in the DR on Mar 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst hotel I have been to in 20 years. My passion is the DR!! Travelled with a family of 6 adults. HAD to change rooms for unsafe or unsanitary reasons 3 times and only on the 4th day after they insisted they had no rooms or wanted funds for an upgrade. Drippings from the ceiling-still don't know if condensation, air conditioner or toilet water. Had no phones in the rooms, so could not contact front desk or people we were travelling with. No entertainment at all-could be my mistake, thought I read there was. I have never met a Dominican that could not look me in the eye...I did this trip. Instead of admitting to the issues and trying to find a work around, they ignored you told you to come back hours later, days, later, then changed shifts...it was a game to them to survive all the complaining. I finally asked for our WestJet rep, who admitted issues with hotel and tried very hard to accommodate...but still 4 days later. We were only there for 7 . False advertising on the website: This hotel charges for their better rums - found out the hard way. 6 shots Anjero Rum 22 USD. Go offsite to BAM and purchase a large bottle for $16USD Bar is only open 10 AM to 11 PM = this is not an all inclusive-nor does their site give the hours. You pay for what you want after 11 pm - which is there disco on the beach. They give towels out only Monday-Wednesday and Friday's. Very low on loungers everywhere. The coffee really is a coffee machine, and there is no real juice's or tomatoe for Red Eye's-SAD. Saw a rat near the buffet tables and pool, yep no lie. Heard of 1 inch thick bodice spiders in other rooms by two different people...but I personally did not see them. Do have salt water showers!! First time for me. Did not have hot water twice - but not an issue for me. Did not have water once - said the pump broke - can happen. Upon leaving they had sewage issues - explained the week Positives: Food is tasty, you won't starve. Only 1 fish one meat selection daily.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 248 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    If it wasn’t for family, 2 weeks would’ve been a nightmare!

    Reviewed by Olivialeahh989() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My family and I visited Whala for 2 weeks and although we managed to still have a terrific holiday it was no thanks to Whala and the staff there. Firstly, we arrived as a family to be told our rooms would not be near eachother, of which we completely disagreed to and stated we specifically asked to be close as we were on family vacation. After this, they finally put us together but our rooms were deplorable. We were placed in the old building of which was absolutely unacceptable for a supposed 4* hotel. The air con units were hanging of the wall, the room was overlooking a building site and the bathroom was dark and dinghy, the taps rusty and it wasn’t very clean to put it kindly. Yet again we expressed our disappointment and stated the images on the website were nothing like what we’d recieved...just under 500 pounds later of OUR expense we were placed in the new building with sea view rooms which were substantially better but still had issues. Bathroom door was on the wrong way and this caused my dad to gash himself rather severely due to the sharp edge on the shower door handle. The water for the showers continually had issues, we called receptions several times to make them aware no water was coming through and many times it took hours to fix. The main restaurant was laughable. Every time we went for food, whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner, there was never any glasses or cutlery on the tables where the staff couldn’t keep up with the guests. Looking around many of them weren’t doing anything and instead huddled in groups for gossip. I asked a young guy for glasses and instead of him politely getting me some he refused with the excuse being “I don’t work on that side of the restaurant”...had there been any staff on “my side” I would have asked them, but there wasn’t. A chef, of whom was a women, had a vile attitude towards anyone who seemingly didn’t speak Spanish, I asked her for chicken one evening and she gave me skin, no chicken. When I went back for more, she gave me basically the smallest piece of chicken I’ve ever seen. The food on offer was unfortunately really poor, never changed and we basically lived off rice or pasta. I was told by a lady at reception they didn’t exchange money- however there was a sign stating they did...slightly confusing as to why she said they didn’t. When I asked about where I could exchange money she sent me off campus down a alleyway of which was highly uncomfortable to walk down, I believe this was absolutely appalling and have never had to leave campus and travel alone, keeping in mind I am a younger lady. The small mini markets surrounding the reception were all absolute rip offs excusing on, of which was owned by a lovely man from Magaluf- definitely use his only if you go. We were charged 50 dollars for 5 drinks, 2 packs of cookies and some cream for lip sores. No prices on anything either!!! Outrageous. We paid 270 dollars for a premium meal and it was an absolute rip off, the steak was horrific and extremely chewy and the lobster so difficult to eat. No drinks came with it and no afters so we were slightly confused as to why it was so expensive. Drinks at the sky bar aren’t included in the all inclusive which we didn’t mind however they again weren’t cheap, it worked out about 7-8 dollars a cocktail. The advertisement for Whala is a complete con may I add, it looks nothing like the pictures, so make sure you do proper research into the hotel before you even consider visiting however I’d strongly advise against it. Overall we made the best of our holiday however I wouldn’t ever return and highly wouldn’t recommend.

    Love the people and liked the hotel location.

    Reviewed by thomasru88(Groningen, The Netherlands) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Overall stay was very good impression and there is no perfect place but heer we had good stay. Everybody in this hotel working are doing good jobs but on first hotel reception workers were a little arrogant but after they opened up but I didn't come here for hotel workers and came here for weather, sea and different exerience and all almost perfect. If we see a good price we go back for December again.

    NICE HOTEL WITH GREAT STAFF.

    Reviewed by 09w66(Derby, United Kingdom) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    There are many things we liked about this hotel but the staff and location stand out the most. Very welcoming and very approachable to help with whatever we needed. The room was fantastic too. Spotless, good beds and shower and plenty of space. The hotel is quite big as it’s spread out with different swimming pools and areas to use. It was all clean and well maintained. We liked the location as it felt safe and is right by the beach.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    10 fantastic days.

    Reviewed by HankRo77(Yonkers, New York) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Took my wife here for our annual break. Impressed overall and enjoyed it. Room was clean, good bed and shower worked well. Location by the beach was a winner. Did use a couple of the swimming pools but went to the beach more often than not. Amazing weather and great overall atmosphere at the hotel and the area. All staff were friendly and welcoming from the day we arrived till we left. All inclusive food and drinks were high quality too and we definitely didn’t go hungry. Great hotel for couples.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Clean, friendly and affordable!

    Reviewed by Chanda C(North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Clean, friendly and affordable! The staff (especially Pedro) was welcoming and would get whatever needed to make the stay more comfortable. The snack bar, restaurant and buffet were all very good as were the cocktails, we loved the cafe! The pools were very clean and the seaweed was cleaned up off the beach daily. Please note, depending on when you go to Bavaro, there may be seaweed in the water. The really warm and rainy months, it is present all over the island. We had massages by Linda, she is excellent! We would definitely go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX