Catalonia Royal Tulum

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 9492 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent hotel. Fabulous Holiday

    Reviewed by hedgeh0g344() on Oct 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent all round. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.Our accommodation was very good. The hotel is set within a jungle so not much daylight hits room, but this wasn't a problem. Several restaurants to choose from, all excellent food. Attractive bars and amazing swimming pool with swim up bar. Beach front location so you can swim straight into the Carribbean. Gloriously warm sea. All staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for us. Nightly entertainment if you want it and activities during the day. We just lazed about as it was too hot to want to be very active. Plenty of sun loungers poolside and at the beach. Only dissapointmentnt was that we had to come home! Highly recommended and we can't wait to back again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Fantastic

    Reviewed by nnicolajayne236(Swansea, United Kingdom) on Oct 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Such a lovely hotel. Staff can't do enough for you. Would definitely recommend and definately would return. the food is probably the best I have ever had at any hotel. Absolutely 5* entertainment was very good also.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Our Home From Home

    Reviewed by Shona H(St. Andrews, United Kingdom) on Oct 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second stay at Catalonia Royal Tulum and although we hesitated in booking for the second time we are so pleased that we took the chance. Our first stay was outstanding and our concern was that the hotel could not improve on perfection and that our memories would spoil the second visit. How wrong we were. This staff at this hotel make sure that every visit is memorable as they treat all guests like family and the hotel indeed becomes a home from home. Another concern we had was the newly erected pool bar, but there were very few incidents during the time we were there and the convenience outweighs any negatives. We used it only occasionally as the service we received at the pool from the wonderful, smiling and exceptionally efficient Marissa made trips to the bar unnecessary. Marissa's shift changed 3 days before we left and the pool was never the same without her. The beach at this hotel is also outstanding. Very private and adults only so we always found a lounger and the reef just to the left is host to amazing marine life. The themed restaurants cannot be faulted. We tried them all as usual and although our preference was the Tapas and Thai in the original positions and formats we still thoroughly enjoyed our meals there. Our favourites have to be the Mexican and being greeted by the delightful Amalia and served by Hernan who we had met 4 years ago and The Grill where it was amazing to be greeted by the charming Aury and the unforgettable Gabriel. Finally, breakfast and lunch at the buffet and grill. We always asked for Alexandro (and Audencio) or Aracelli, these people are so special and make the dining experience so enjoyable. They never forget your drinks order or breakfast requirements. Their service is outstanding! Quetza-what can I say! We feel as if we have known this lady all of our lives. She is so kind and caring and greets everyone with a smile. She should be the first face to greet guests at the hotel. Her enthusiasm and charm make you want to love everything about CRT. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we always felt as if we were valued guests. Please make Quetza the Ambassador for CRT she is an exceptional asset! The accommodation, location, food and drinks at the hotel are all fabulous but people are what make Catalonia Royal Tulum the spectacularly outstanding hotel it is.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Our third time here has been good but disappointing

    Reviewed by SDCOUG0505(Las Vegas, Nevada) on Oct 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    So we came here for the first time roughly 9 years ago, again 4 years ago and are here now. What we have continued to like: -The vegetation and "the path" that goes past the guest rooms from the lobby to the pool/beach makes this a very charming destination. -Despite all of the issues with seaweed, we were happy to find that the beach was clean and the water blue. -We purchased the Priviledge Junior Suite that includes a hot tub on the patio. Because of all of the vegetation and being located on the top floor, it makes for a very private outdoor experience. What we found disappointing: -They moved the tapas restaurant from being outside by the cenote to the pool area and replaced it with the much less desirable and less tasty asian cuisine. It was one of the things we were most looking forward to when booking this hotel as the tapas food plus the location made it a top experience in all of Cancun/Riviera Maya. Sadly the tapas are still good but the location is very "blah." -The overall service and food selection has been disappointing. B-loved if you pay for a "privilege room" is decent food albeit not much selection and the service there has been good however the other buffets and wait staff have been either boring, novices and/or rude. At the lunch buffet for example, I had to almost beg the staff to cook the pasta or chicken even though it's listed on the pasta bar or grill. The breakfast staff was also surprisingly rude and just didn't seem to know the difference between what's rude and what's friendly banter (ie, you never start off a conversation with a new guest with an insult even if you think you are being clever/funny). What is apparent is that the staff here appears to lack experience in customer service. Because of the seaweed issues with the Riviera Maya we had taken a break from the area for several years and instead visited other hotels in Cancun (such as Live Aqua and Secrets The Vine) and perhaps just got accustomed to much better overall service. Still it's disappointing to be met with resistance and poor attitudes when I was nicely requesting what was supposed to be available on the menu. -Finally, although we upgraded to a "privilege room" and thus have a reserved area on the beach for us, this is the first time we have visited this hotel where if you want a chair by the beach you'd better get up early and reserve it. Again, it's not the end of the world but it's so much more relaxing to be able to visit resorts where this isn't an issue and you can always find a pool or beach chair regardless of what time you seek it even if the hotel is full. Also, while they had drink service on the beach, it was decidely slow as they only had two employees taking drink orders for the entire beach area. Overall still a good hotel and good value but when compared to other higher end hotels in the Cancun/Riviera Maya on this stay it became quite clear that the service (and to be honest the food selection) is lacking because many of the employees either appear young and/or not well trained. We loved the room with the jacuzzi but very sad the tapas restaurant had moved from the romantic cenote setting to the pool area.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Lovers Lane??

    Reviewed by superbabe1074(Nashville, Tennessee) on Oct 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I recently visited this resort with a group of friends to celebrate a 40th birthday. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a moist towel and a fruity, juice cocktail. Check in was fast and accommodating. There were 4 main restaurants. I did not visit the Asian or the Steakhouse restaurant on this visit. The Mexican restaurant was average. I had the traditional soup and it was amazing! The sea bass was just ok. We also ate at the buffet restaurant and the food was actually delicious! We ate at a small restaurant by the beach and the food was average. This location had an excellent expresso martini! The Margaritas bar had an amazing strawberry balsamic margarita! The lunch/snack shack had great food! The chicken Caesar salad was delicious and the nachos and flank steak burrito were also great.The host “Sandy” was super salty. When we asked for an extra chair for our table so one of our friends could sit with us. He actually told us “no” that we couldn’t have an extra chair and literally said “You’ve got to be kidding me” when we asked. We were floored by this response. There were plenty of seats available. There were lots of fun activities each day. Pool and sand volleyball, yoga/Pilates/ water aerobics, corn hole, etc. The beach was beautiful with plenty of shade if you wanted it. There were lounge chairs, hammocks, and beach pillows that were amazingly comfortable. The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. Nice shower and the rooms were exceptionally clean. Definitely a nice resort for couples. Not much of a night life. The spa was nice but mostly average. The massage I received was good and the relaxation area was amazing. I loved the fact that we got an hour of hydrotherapy for free with our “price ledger” package.