Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    Great weather, great flights!

    Reviewed by Kristine Brokopp on Mar 06, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Rated 5 star resort, but fell short at best. Check in was not friendly, gave us the wrong room at first and when I told him that wasn?t what we asked for, was met with attitude. Suite had three phones and none worked. Safe didn?t work, had it fixed three times throughout the week. Jacuzzi tub jets didn?t work, and even thought we told the concierge and the front desk, it was never fixed. Food at some of the restaurants was terrible, but some was really good...strict dress code, we were refused at one restaurant. Harassed constantly with ?up selling?. Was misled into a ?meeting? where we were offered ? exotic travelers membership ? at the cost of $12 000 usd for 10 years. We told the ?salesman? that we wanted to take time to think about it, but we weren?t too convinced that it was something we wanted, then went back and told the salesman that we wanted to take a couple days to think about it. He was angry and extremely disrespectful toward us. Which made our decision very clear after that. The beach was terrible. It was really small, and full of seaweed. The negatives at this resort outweighed the positives, for sure. And by day four, we wanted to leave. We were thinking of bringing our family for Christmas, but it definitely will not be at this resort. Nor will we recommend this resort to anyone else. The WestJet flight was great, and the seats were the best! (Preferred). The weather was 28 Celsius everyday, so it was nice to escape the snow and cold.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    Everything I could ask for !

    Reviewed by Jamie on Mar 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Friends

    Generations is an out standing resort, I would go back in a heart beat. The rooms are gorgeous and very clean I was on the third floor and it was always nice going for a morning dip in the pool. The food was great have no complaints about that everythjng is updated and nice. The people working there and amazing ! Always putting smile and their faces and mine making your vacation wonderful. The location was breath taking, the views are also breath taking. The only complaint I have about generations is the cost... But you got to pay to get what you want, but it was so worth it. Thank you generations for making my vacation a lasting memory.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3228 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Poolside Entertainment

    Reviewed by Loxrocks(Kelowna, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Jose, Eddie & Jimmy were amazing. They went over and above everyday. They made our pool time very enjoyable and engaged in a ton of activities (basketball and beach fun) with the entire family. Thank you for a great time!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Family Vacation with kids 6 and 10

    Reviewed by InfrequentTraveler58(Saint Paul, Minnesota) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went to Generations for 6 nights in March with kids, ages 10 and 6. We had gone to El Dorado in 2005 for our honeymoon so we were excited to combine a little reminiscing with a family vacation. Overall we had a fantastic time and would probably go back here. This area has great all-inclusive value, plenty of excursion options, and here’s a resort that caters to families. Highlights: • We got a 1-bedroom swim-up suite. The room was a great setup for us (2 couches so kids didn’t have to share a bed, and a sort-of-private bedroom). The kids loved the balcony pool and I thought that it was worth what we paid extra for that. It was nice to read a book in the shade in the late afternoon while the kids continued to swim on the balcony. At night it was nice to use the balcony with the kids sleeping. • We liked the size of the resort. Not overwhelmingly big, and everything was close by and convenient. Our conclusion is that although other places offer more things, you don’t actually use all of them and we were 90% just at the pool anyways. • The food was really good. In six nights, we went to each restaurant once, one dinner at Xel-Ha, one adults-only dinner at El Dorado, and the Mexican fiesta. The Indian and Asian seemed like odd choices for a kid-friendly place but they all had kids’ menus so we got interesting food and the kids had pasta. Lots of pasta. • Lunch at the Palms had awesome views. • The Mexican Fiesta was a lot of fun…don’t miss it. You can snag a table a little early. The mariachi band was awesome and the show was fun. • The staff was really friendly. We didn’t use our butlers nearly as much as some on Trip Advisor seem to, but they were good. My standard for “knock your socks off” service is Disney Cruise Line at 5 stars. This wasn’t at that level, but we got what we asked for, so I’d give it 4 of 5 on service. • Kids loved the pool and we spent most of our time there. It was fun to see what unannounced activities popped up each day (e.g. zip line, foam party, coin hunt, water acrobats, etc). And they loved swim-up smoothies. • Being able to leave the kids and go down to adults-only food or drinks at El Dorado was an awesome feature and gives a nice break in the middle of family vacation • We loved Xel-Ha but be ready for a long tiring day! • So many friends asked us beforehand if we were sure it would be safe to take a family here, but that wasn’t even a remote concern. Things that could be better (all minor stuff): • Kids club is better for younger kids. Our 10-year-old could have used a few more activities for her age. • Not the greatest swimming beach so don’t expect that. You can, and we did, but we mainly stayed by the pool. Decent enough for beach beds and raeding. • I never found the 5K race (hint- the health bar is at El Dorado) • Buffet could use a little more variety I can’t compare to other family resorts in the area because we haven’t been to any, but we were plenty happy with this one!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Family vacation to Generations, Riviera Maya

    Reviewed by Gina P(Nova Scotia, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We are a family of four, with 2 girls 5 and 8. We are members, and are delighted by our first time at this resort. We are staying for 10 days. Here are the pros and cons. The best things are: -Amazing, hot weather, usually with a lovely breeze from the ocean. -Very good (sometimes excellent) butler service for all personal needs and bookings. Luiz has gone above and beyond. Isreal is very attentive. They are both wonderful with the girls and get them anything we need. They really try to understand your preferences and remember them. -All restaurants are incredible, and the service is as well.The buffet restaurant is delicious and lots of healthy options. My favorite was the Haab, Indian restaurant - the chef is from Sri Lanka. -Incredible, generous yoga instructor from Chile. -Centralized services (pools, restaurants, beach) is a great feature when you have little kids -The pools are salt water which is amazing and swim up pools in most rooms -Access to all other owned resorts on day passes(with membership) -Access to adjacent resorts El Dorado and Casitas included anytime (adults only) -Child care kids centre is fun and staff are interactive and nice -Ping pong, volleyball, water sports, snorkeling, kayaking - all included -Movie at the theatre and a live show most nights. The cons are: -I have a peanut allergy, and one night ordered room service which included shortbread that had peanut in it. I ate this without knowing it, and had a bad reaction, including vomiting, and had to call the doctor. He was on sight and excellent. However, the medical treatment made me loose a day of health, and cost over almost $150 USD. I was very sad by this experience considering we tell everyone about the allergy, and stay in resorts to protect me from this risk. We also continue to get chocolates in the fridge which have peanuts. (When we filled out our reservation forms through Prestige we filled out the special requests section informing that there was a peanut allergy). -I think gentle room scent is a lovely feature, if produce from natural essential oils. However, there is strong scent pumped into many of the common areas, including the main lobby, and spas, and some other spots, the family games room (my husband who loves scents and at times wears cologne was overwhelmed by the sent in the game room after being there less than 5 mins and had to leave the location. He could still taste the sent for a long time after leaving.). This has triggered my asthma on several occasions and after 24 hours of strong asthma which couldn't be controlled by inhalers, I needed doctor service again - he identified I needed another shot to reduce my reaction - another $200 USD for the whole service. I have not needed either of these services at home in over 20 years and was saddened by these experiences. I can't go into these main areas. Very disappointing and easily avoidable I think. In Canada, we aren't used to this, as most public locations and most office are now scent free as they understand the negative health impacts of this. -The other thing for people considering membership is that it is very hard to book a room above Ruby benefits less than 8 months in advance at many of their resorts. - Our premium in room menu was not made available to us until we asked twice, and then only by taking a picture of a screen. This is the first time we have used our membership, and we hope something can be done. We will update with more information when we are finished our vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Fantastic Vacation

    Reviewed by torontonian1975(Toronto) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is a wonderful resort! It is small, geared towards families with plenty of activities for adults and children alike. The food is great and there is also entertainment in the evenings. Bring water shoes because the beach is rocky in the shallow end. Only criticism is that the night before we were to depart, I had arranged for a bell hop to arrive at on the last day at 6:45am and they never showed up. We were a bit pressed for time catching our shuttle to the airport. Overall, I highly recommend this resort!

    Nice family vacation

    Reviewed by Lisa A() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The friendliest staff! At the pool Rosaura, Ernesto, Rudolpho, Ivan, the young man making omelets ever morning! and Butler Luiz ! All amazing!! Unfortunately there is no sitting areas outside other than the pool or beach and at night there is only an indoor bar, no where to go sit and relax outside. Food was good, not a lot of choice though.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX