Grand Velas Riviera Maya

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Michelle on Mar 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Best AI I ever stayed at ; stayed at well over 10.... Service over the top, food amazing, solo beautiful!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4258 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing!

    Reviewed by Chau M() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It certainly met expectations I had gathered when we traveled here. We stayed in Zen Grand, and it was a beautiful place, with out of this world service. The service was definitely the best experience of this place. The waiters are kind, and cater to your every need. The room was exquisite, with everything within a moments reach. It was like a dream come true! Sadly, the beach was rocky, and hard to get to from the room. The actual beach part of the beach was fine. The service was amazing as always. 5 out of 5. When you walk into the ocean, you are in for a nasty, and painful surprise. Tripping on sharp jagged rocks, not fun. The restaurants has great food and drink, service and all, there is no problem with that. But to consumers, time may be an issue when waiting for food to come. I understand, it takes time to prepare food, and to prepare food for multiple families at once, but to those that aren’t reminded of this obstacle, it may be more of an issue than it needs to be. Overall, impeccable service, beautiful hotel, and amazing food, with an experience sure to satisfy most.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A Trip to cherish

    Reviewed by sundaygolf(Guildford, United Kingdom) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    For us it was a family vacation and truly exceeded our expectations. My wife and I are used to much smaller resorts but due the incredible service and attention to detail the size of the resort seldom mattered. The room in the Ambassadors section was very well appointed and included a plunge pool. Which we did not use but did give us a larger balcony and a quieter view. The quality of the housekeeping was wonderful. Never wanting for anything. On arrival we met our Concierge Danni who was with us all the way. Making our restaurant reservations dealing with any problems. She just seemed to know when we needed her. The pool area is where the staff really stood out. They were well led by Carlos and the staff who looked after us could not do enough. We were particularly grateful to Luis, Israel and Michael. There was always plenty to do for our Grandkids, the entertainments staff doing so much to ensure they had a memorable holiday. Thomas the Entertainment Manager was always coming up with something new. We loved most of the restaurants, our favourites being Luca and Sen Lin. In the main they exceeded our expectations with both food and service. The bar is set so high, only two of the restaurants fell slightly below standards. Frida where the food was amazing but somehow lacked the warm friendly service shown elsewhere. Azul during the day was excellent but if you eat there after dark it was impossible to see the menu without a flash light let alone the food. Shame if it did more in the evening we would have certainly used it more often. The beach is troubled by seaweed which is kept under control by the staff. Some days it can be a problem. The ocean is beautiful but it is not an easy swimming beach but the quality of the pools make up for that problem. Overall a great resort extremely well run blest by superb staff.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Pampered

    Reviewed by amypark000(Brea, California) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The service and attention to detail are impeccable. Our concierge Roberto arranged our excursions for us, changed dinner reservations, provided me with the 30 hangers that I requested, and found us at the pool to provide us with information when necessary. Luis , Orlando, and Isreal made sure that we had cold water bottles, cleaned our sunglasses, and got me my vodka sodas as I laid on my lounge float in the pool. They were so wonderful. Every waiter at every restaurant was top notch. There is a nice quality beach bag in the room that you can borrow. Along with the snacks, they provide Alka Seltzer! The gorgeous table settings at the restaurants all matched, the stemware was high end, the live harpist to saxophone to mariachi musicians provided for exquisite ambiance in every setting. We ate at every restaurant, our favorites were Sen Lin and Piaf. They ask you if you want sparkling or still water then give you choice of orange slice, cucumber or lemon to flavor your water. The maid service was remarkable. They arranged my make-up, brushes, and toiletries way better than I would! The turn down service was just as wonderful. We received everything that we asked for. Extra coffee pods, soap, etc... I have never had such good service in all of my life. We went hoping not to break the bank, but we wanted to tip everyone more than we did, and I believe we were pretty generous. Every staff member to the taxi drivers they employ were so humble, they made me want to be more like them. I know that they are trained to be that way, but we Americans can stand to learn from these hard workers on not behaving like others should treat us like we're something special when we are not. They even gave us a box of candy when we checked out! We stayed at the Ambassador section and we loved it because it was so hot and humid and the breeze from the ocean cooled us off. We noticed that in the Zen section, there was no ocean breeze. We will eventually visit every Grand Velas, it was just that great.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wow!

    Reviewed by JMB12065(Orlando, Florida) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from a 12 night stay at Grand Velas. It was our 5th time staying with them, and yet we are still blown away with the quality and experience. My husband spent ten years working in the travel industry, and we notice now much thought and detail goes in to everything. The place settings in every restaurant (including the buffet), the linens, the pool loungers - everything you touch is quality. We never passed one employee that didn't greet us. Yet, as perfect as it all is, there is still a friendly and comfortable feeling. We were treated like celebrities, and still feel we left as friends. There are too many details to write about, too many people to thank, but I will try to give a few examples of our stay: -At the Zen pool, where we spent most of our time - not only would the wonderful staff greet us by setting up fresh towels on the lounge chairs, bring ice and water, etc., but they would clean our sunglasses, and have our drinks ready. You can order food as well, but throughout the day they bring little treats like tostadas, tacos and popsicles. Alfredo brought us samples of fresh juice he wanted us to try. Oscar treated us like royalty, anticipating whatever we needed. The entire staff there - Gabriel, Denise, everyone made us feel very special. -In Azul, we sat with Felix every morning. He is exceptional and a real asset to Grand Velas. He knew our breakfast order, and would ask the chef to prepare made to order huevos rancheros every day for my husband. He even had the chef Jaime come visit us to tell me how to make them at home. Jaime and Felix made sure we had anything we could ever want at every breakfast. There were a few days there was no table available in Felix's section, but when he saw us he still came over to say hello and to talk to our server about what to get us. Zynnia is a perfect hostess for Azul, always a sincere smile and welcome! -Marco our concierge made sure we had whatever we wanted in our room, down to the coffees we liked in our Nespresso, and extra cream. (He even sent us home with the cream from Mexico that we can't buy in the US). -At Piaf, my husband commented to the manager that the foie gras ravioli was one of the best dishes he had, in the world. (We've eaten at Michelin star restaurants in Europe). The manager introduced us to Chef Mario Soto, and Chef Soto invited us back another night where he custom prepared a special appetizer of them for us. -Chef Bruno Oteiza, a celebrity chef, was visiting when we were there. Amy knew we loved his signature Cocina de Autor restaurant, so she introduced us to him. He invited us as his guests to try the new menu he plans to introduce (it was amazing!) I cant talk about Grand Velas without mentioning the food. We are real "foodies" and the Grand Velas restaurants are a destination themselves. We ate at each several times. At Cocina de Autor, Chef Velasco made a different menu for each visit, so during out time there nothing was repeated - and everything was wonderful. Chaka' is open for dinner with a new menu, serving Mayan cuisine. We had lunch there many times on past visits, but never dinner. We tried it based on the recommendation of Felix in Azul, and we were so happy we did. They customized tasting platters for us, because we weren't familiar with Mayan food. Everything was a delicious as it was beautiful. Chaka' is just an example of how Grand Velas incorporates local culture into the stay. So many large hotels are "Americanized" - so that when you are there you aren't thinking too much about your location. This is the opposite at Grand Velas. Mexican food and culture are front and center, in the best way possible. (Yes, Americans will find plenty of familiar food, but it's not the feature). One night they even hosted a party to celebrate the birthday of Mexican artist Frida Kahlo, which was a first rate event (it was better than some weddings I've been to!). Grand Velas, we cant thank you enough for your wonderful hospitality and the quality you continue to put into everything you do. We've traveled extensively in our lifetime, and never had a better experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Excellent

    Reviewed by jkgeorge7(Houston, Texas) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great place for family getaway. Excellent service and amenities. We stayed at the Ambassador, which had wonderful views and was a short walk / car ride to the other two areas of the resort. Would visit again soon...

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX