Moon Palace Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    Amazing service and very clean. Beach always closed and waterslides closed down.

    Reviewed by Jason on Sep 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The Grand at Moon Palace Cancun was a beautiful resort. We were dissapointed that the water slides were all shut down and nobody let us know. We spent more time at the other resorts (Beach Palace was in Cancun was amzing and had a great beach). The beach at the Grand was actually closed and apparently is always closed due to sea weed, rays, etc. Overall nice place, but would stay at the Beach Palace next time. Totally agree tha the hotel credits are just a scam.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Read and be cautious before you reserve

    Reviewed by Twindad2009 on Aug 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We've been to this area 6 times at 6 different resorts and have enjoyed all of them, until now. I have to agree with the other reviewers which had dodgy experiences. Take heed of their comments as they are spot on. Here's my take: - Too big and too disorganized to have any personal touches and complete inability to take care of the little details which are part of a 5 star experience.. True 5 star resorts in the area (Paradisius, Royal Playa del Carmen, etc.) know how to do it right. But if you don't know any different, then you might be happy here. Overall, my kids summed it up best... "When can we come back and go to one of those nice resorts"... From the mouth of babes. I recommend you enjoy a true 5 star experience elsewhere. We look forward to seeing you there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    R

    Wouldn't go again .

    Reviewed by Ryan on Sep 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    Nothing was open , no golf course , no water slides , Resort credits are a scam , lots of hidden cost . The grand is a scam .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    everone went out of there way

    Reviewed by D and D on Jan 05, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Wedding

    We had an amazing time going back !!!!!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 33164 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Ramon gondola

    Reviewed by Paul B() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Amazing meal and service. Nothing was too much trouble, they even went down to the basement to find my daughter some mint ice cream which she had been craving all holiday ?? Ramon was very polite and helpful and made our visit to Gondola very special. Luis Trevino was supervisor this evening, he came to our table and was very attentive ?? ?? ?? ?? ??

    Fabulous

    Reviewed by juliemcook(Cancun, Mexico) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great service at the pool side restaurant this evening from Ricardo and Clarivel at Moon Palace Nizuc. We have had an amazing two week here. Beautiful exemplary service across the whole hotel. Can’t wait to come back.

    We keep coming back!

    Reviewed by GerGlen(Glenelg, Maryland) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent two non-consecutive weeks at Moon Palace/the Grand this year – the first, the week before Easter, and the second in July. We brought children and grandchildren (boys 11, 8, and 6) with us in July. As has always been the case we had an awesome time (almost all of it on the premises) which included golf, spa treatments, miniature golf, bowling, tennis, great food, water slides at the Grand, and the kids club at the Grand. Unfortunately, the boys did not have time for ice skating which has been added to the list of children’s activities. We even had time to spend a day at Beach Palace in the hotel zone where the kids got to see baby turtles hatching! Arian, the diamond beach concierge at Beach Palace, took care of us all afternoon. While the facilities at Moon Palace/The Grand are great, what brings us back over and over again are the warm and wonderful employees of Palace Resorts. We would be remiss in not acknowledging each one of them, although I know we will probably leave someone out. So here it goes: Viviana, Anel, and Erik, our Diamond pool concierges, are very special people. Warm, friendly, and caring, they could not do enough for us and made our vacations very special. Diamond concierges at Nizuc - Rocio, Humberito, and Carlos helped us in planning our vacations. Rocio went above and beyond scheduling all our dinners and family activities before we even arrived so we didn’t have to waste any time once we arrived. She often came out to check on us at the pool to make sure our vacation was going smoothly. While we try to walk everywhere, occasionally we take the Diamond shuttle. Roque was our driver most of the time. He was our bellman when we first went to Moon Palace in 2008. We so enjoy seeing him every time we come. We also want to thank Williams who has also driven us around when Roque was off. Tavola is our favorite restaurant and the managers, Frances, was great. Miguel, Pedro, David and Luis were amazing waiters and made every evening we spent there a pleasant experience. Thanks also to Osvaldo, the wine steward. We would also like to acknowledge Guillermo, the manager at JC Steakhouse and Carlos, Cilia and Angel who waited on our large group. We had a very special dinner prepared for us at Los Caporales Restaurant one evening. We would like to thank Angelica, the manager who arranged the dinner, Diego, who prepared delicious guacamole, and the waiters Yair, Diego, Carlos, and Martin. Thanks also to Alexander and Emilio, our waiters at La Trattoria, Jose our waiter at the Japanese Steakhouse, MoMo, and Margarita and Eduardo, managers of El Manglar Restaurant. We have known Margarita since we started coming in 2008 and we always get a smile and a big hug when we see her. Last, but not least, we want to give a shout out to Albert, a waiter in El Manglar Restaurant. In addition to being a terrific waiter, he was a great conversationalist, having gone to high school not far from where we live. At the Nizuc gym every morning at 6 a.m. I am always greeted with a big smile by Javier, the manager. Not only is he a good gym manager, but he also provided some great workouts for my daughters in some of the classes he taught! Finally, special thanks to Manuel, who puts out the towels at the Nizuc pool each morning and to Julio who cleaned the pool each morning so that we could enjoy it. Thanks also to Ramon, the bellman who took our baggage when we were leaving, and to Braulio who works in the Mexican gift shop at Nizuc. He took the time to wrap a ceramic alligator painted by one of my grandsons at the pool – above and beyond what he was required to do. The only suggestion we would make is to install some water slides at the Grand that children between the ages of 7-14 can use. The height requirement on the large water slides at the Grand precludes a lot of pre-teens (and our one married daughter) from using any of the slides. Some intermediate size slides would be a welcome addition!!!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Sunrise stay

    Reviewed by Restaurantcriticnot(Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here as the first part of our 2 week holiday. We had a standard room which we chose to have 2 roll out beds as it gave us all enough bed space for 4. Room was very nice and resort was fantastic. All the pools were clean and so many restaurants with a great variety of foods. Whilst lots of people did it is not essential to reserve sun beds. Entertainment team were good. Whilst it’s an all inclusive hotel tipping is essential as the staff rely on tips. Transportation around the resorts was good on the golf buggies. We used resort credits on the spas which was fabulous but from what everybody said the resort credit trips were not good. We visited the beach palace which had a much nicer beach as it had no seaweed and lots of water sports which were cheaper than the resort. This is a really nice resort the smell of the seaweed is a little of putting from time to time but the resort more than makes up for it.

    Destination Wedding

    Reviewed by niematheproducer1() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was about 80 of us that attended my cousins wedding. The resort was beautiful, the only unpleasant experience I had was the smell of the beach that bothered me. We could not to go the beach at all because of the amount of seaweed the resort mentioned it was worst this season not sure why. After the first day you get used to the smell. However, no beach for us but the resort had so much to do it made up for it. The food was ok, except I’m a pescatarian and I would suggest they serve seafood at the poolside and more vegan options so a lot of times I would have to leave my family go get food well pizza was pretty much the only option during certain times of the day. Where my family was able to order wings etc at the poolside. The best portion of my trip was the jungle Jamaya tour and zilpling 900 ft above the jungle and swimming in a cave amongst bats in beautiful water and fish was the best experience ever! Me My son and cousins faced some fears that day! I can’t wait to find other tours around the world to experience. All I’m doing now waiting to Get our pictures and videos from the establishment because we didn’t bring money. But would Like to purchase them online which we’re having difficulty doing and not sure why.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX