Viva Wyndham V Samana

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    P

    Dishonest and rude administrative staff

    Reviewed by Pops on Apr 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great entertainement and bar staff. Horrible administrative staff. Rude and condescending to staff and guests. Will not return becaus of administrative staff.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1442 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Memorable Vacation

    Reviewed by Mike O() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed from August 3rd to August 10th and for us it was an enjoyable experience. We were looking for a nice resort, good food, great beach, and time to relax and we found it here. No reservations for the restaurants, no dress code (long pants), no beach vendors, no time share sales pitch, no stress, and no problems. We had a vibe room on the main floor with a small pool, nothing spectacular about the room but very clean and comfortable. Housekeeping staff was great no issues. The beach was as advertised nice clear water and just sand in the bottom. We took a walk on the beach every morning very beautiful and scenic with the mountains in the back ground and never felt unsafe. We had breakfast at Le Marche every morning comparable to other resort we’ve been to in the past. We had lunch every day at the snack bar by the beach. There was less choices than Le Marche but what they had was good and the stone fired pizzas where awesome. We did all the restaurants and fusion and Le Mediterranea where our favorites. The staff in our opinion where great and helpful. Our Spanish was limited but we found a lot of the staff spoke good English and for the ones that did not between our limited Spanish and their limited English we ended having great conversations. It’s always been a habit of mine to ask all the serves and bartenders their names and we always addressed them by their names with the proper pronunciation. If I had to single out a few staff that made our stay extra memorable it would be Santos and the other would Michael. Santos worked at Le Mediterranea and Fusion, once you got to know him he always greeted us with a hand shake and also when we were finished. Santos made us feel very welcomed and made sure we had everything we needed. Michael worked at the snack bar by the beach and he also went the extra mile to make us feel very welcomed. Every day when we arrived for lunch I was greeted with a high five and he always addressed me by my name. Even though the snack bar was a buffet Michael was always around to make our water glasses and drinks where filled and have a quick conversation. Kudos to all the staff but a special thank you to Santos and Michael. I would recommend this resort 100%.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wanted this trip to be good, but

    Reviewed by palmtrees8(Guelph, Canada) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    High expectations were what I wanted with a 4.5 star hotel. Secluded in the forest, great beaches and good food. Raw sewage smell lingered when walking back to the room, along with garbage on the other side of the fence. The Fusion Restaurant also had high hopes but uncooked salmon was not cooked further but taken away. The pool was wonderful with a short walk to the stunning beach. The sun was so hot that a good sun burn is still itchy after this trip, take lots of sun tan lotion and after sun care. The room smelled moldy and the solution was to increase the air conditioner temperature with a colder one. Staff were great to deal with and always a smile. Entertainment on a daily basis was hit and miss, the dancers were fantastic. The bed had a big dip in the middle of it which was hard to roll over on. The thunderstorm was breathtaking during hurricane season. As you are unable to drink the water the rooms were always stocked with bottled water, soda's, and beer. I would book again but in the quiet villa's on the other side of the road. Upon arrival to Dominican is was a surprise to find out that all passengers were finger printed at the airport, and at departures totally hand frisked. This has nothing to do with the resort but a new experience to a foreign country.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Beautiful Resort

    Reviewed by SavouryAndSweet(Orangeville, Canada) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful week of rest and relaxation. The resort is clean and well cared for. In general, the service is good. The beach is breathtakingly beautiful! The water is warm, clean, and never crowded. There are many lounge chairs, side tables, hammocks and beds. We wonder why the resort allows people to “hold” their spots with towels though and leave them unoccupied for hours on end. We stayed in the new bungalows and I highly recommend spending the money on this upgrade. It’s very quiet and private. The rocking chairs on our own private patio were so comfortable and nice to have, in addition to the two lounge chairs. We spent a couple of hours every day enjoying our own little patio and plunge pool after a day at the beach. It was nice to have the fridge stocked with soft drinks, water and beer every day. Also Pringles and Nuts!! We also had three small bottles of rum, scotch and vodka left for us. I am not certain, but this might only be provided in the bungalows. Housekeeping was excellent and very kind. I did request face cloths after a couple of days which don’t seem to be provided unless requested. Although our room and the grounds are exceptionally tidy and clean, some areas, including our room was smelly, a sewage smell, which I assume comes from the “fertilizer” used on the beautiful gardens. It wasn’t overpowering and I got accustomed to it. I wished I’d had essential oils to help with that though. The main pool area is beautiful too. If you enjoy wine, be prepared. The house wine is really bad. However you can purchase imported wine by the bottle ($28+). Sadly they resort also only offers one beer, Presidente, that is not great and we were disappointed but to be able to order alternatives, even at a cost. There are plenty of other options for people who like mixed drinks, but for those of us who like beer and wine, it’s disappointing there isn’t more of a selection. I would gladly pay extra for that. We didn’t really enjoy the food but there was always plenty of variety and we understand it’s comparable to other all inclusive resorts. For the most part, service was good but like other reviewers, we were surprised that the front desk staff, who we walked by several times a day, weren’t more friendly. We just assume that guest services and reception would/should be the most hospitable. Be sure to pack bug repellant for the biting flies at the beach. We used repellant once a day and only had a couple of bites but others we saw and spoke to were covered in bites and weren’t prepared. With just a little repellant, the bugs left us alone. The minimum wage is very small in the DR so I would encourage visitors to bring lots of small bills and generously tip the staff throughout the stay. They greatly appreciate it.

    wonderful holiday memories

    Reviewed by 610stepha() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stayed one week at Viva Wyndham and had a very good and relaxing time. My personal highlight was the photo shooting with the photographer Jefrey (he is at the resort and has his office there). He took beautiful and very professional sunset pictures of us. My husband doesn't like photo shootings, but Jefrey is lovely, has charisma and knows how to build a relaxing environment. The outcome is just amazing. I am so happy to have very natural but very professional holiday picture. The photos will always remind me of this unforgettable holiday! Thank you Jefrey!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Great Hotel and Staff!

    Reviewed by Jim F(Kitchener) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The room was clean. There was only the basics, ie, towels. There were no tissues, or the amenities you would expect with a 4 1/2 star resort; face cloths were never returned when taken by cleaning staff. I called for face towels and they never delivered them. The food was very good and there was a good variety. Reservations were never required, a pleasant surprise. Drinks were good quality. The beach was very clean. I loved everything about the resort and was certainly pleasantly surprised of how everything was run. I will definately be returning.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX