Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    Pretty good resort in Varadero

    Reviewed by Ahoy on Mar 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    The staff and service were great. We really liked the facilities of the hotel and the beach was beautiful. The one thing negative thing was that the rooms were in need of some repair. We had adjoining rooms, and one of the showers didn't work, so the only option was a bath. Lucky for us, the shower in the other room worked. Also, the rooms were somewhat run down- missing light bulbs, some water stains on the ceiling and it looked like some black mould on the celling in the bathroom. A lot of the drawers didn't open, the closet door didn't work, the door to the balcony didn't lock. However, we did have a good vacation and the rest of the resort was well kept, the pool, beach, eat was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    You get what you pay for!!! Great Stay

    Reviewed by Carl on Jul 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    My family stayed for a week. Overall the experience was great with both Westjet as well as the resort. The Westjet Representative was helpful and informative about the resort and what to do outside the resort. Explained what to expect in and around the city. We took his advise and went on a catamaran tour of one of the island paid extra , which for me was the highlight of the trip. The resort was good. But don't expect it to be 5 star as advertised. Far from it, but based on what we paid it was pretty good. Relatively clean, staff friendly, spoke at least some english, food was average. Alcohol was limitless : Suggestions The "orientation" by the westjet representative would be better done on the very first day of the visit. Resort suggestion - AC system was bad. Was very hot and the AC in the room and some of the public places were not up to par as what we wanted and experienced in other countries - The beach towel situation was ridiculous ! Stayed for a week and never was able to get a new set of towels. no matter what time i went to the clubhouse there would be no towels!!! - The facilities needs a facelift. At least the rooms need some upgrades Overall we enjoyed our stay

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Worst resort we've ever been to. Would never go back there.

    Reviewed by John & Doris on Feb 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our first time to Cuba and it will be our last. We've never been so disappointed in a resort vacation. The buffet was huge, but the food was terrible. We saw the same food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It wasn't very appealing. There was blue mold on the bread one morning. I ate the prepared for you spaghetti for lunch and dinner no bread thanks while I was there. The A La Carte Japanese dinner was the best of the 3 dinners we had in the restaurants. My husband thought he would have a hot dog one day, no mustard, no relish, no ketchup. He did love their ice cream though. Mashed potatoes, I believe were instant mashed potatoes from a package. Yuk!!!! Lobster was dried out and rubbery. They had hamburger patties, but no buns. I would have loved to have a salad. I didn't see lettuce once while I was there. There was cool water for showers nearly every day. The tub is so high that you could have a bad fall getting in or out of it. Not safe at all. Our bed linens were not changed once while we were there. We were given two beach towels and told to hold on to them as they would not replace them during the week. My purse was put on the top shelf of the closet and when I needed something out of it one day, I reached up and realized that the purse and everything in it was soaking wet. The pillows and blanket that were up there next to the purse were not even damp. What gives? The patio door had no lock on it. Every time it got windy outside, we got this foul sewer smell in our room. We realized that it was coming up through the drain in the bathroom sink and tub. Disgusting to say the least. The resort needs major updating and renovations. Most of the staff were friendly, but the main desk staff seem like we are bothering them if we asked a question. We often heard "Look in the book". We arrived Friday morning, but didn't get to see a Rep until Saturday morning. We had luggage missing, it didn't arrive until Tues. AM. Would not recommend to anyone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Great stay!

    Reviewed by Maritimer on Jun 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    First time to Cuba...great experience! Food wise there was something for everyone no matter your taste. Room was good tub drained a little slow . Room was cleaned daily by great staff. All staff was very friendly. Will definitely go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    r

    Stay Somewhere Else!!

    Reviewed by rdc on Apr 12, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Booked this vacation through Westjet Vacations. This was our second trip to Cuba , our first visit to this resort and our last..... I am a positive person and shortly after arrival at this resort realized that I would have to draw on whatever positive energy I had make the best of a bad resort. Where do I start... From the beginning of the vacation the front desk staff were anything but welcoming and seemed indifferent. During a relaxing chat one evening with my family by the pool, my husband almost got the chair cushion pulled from underneath him by a worker who barely grunted and informed him to get up, as cushions were put away at 6 pm.... Later that same evening we watched people get escorted out of there chairs and told to move elsewhere because these chairs were being picked up and placed elsewhere. Many of the Resorts restrooms were closed for cleaning by 8 pm every evening and the ones opened rarely had toilet paper or paper towels. The Tex Mex a la carte was a fiasco...tacos and fajitas with no shells..just meat and beans. BBQ chicken with no BBQ sauce, just marinara sauce. Pool towels were rarely available as truck delivering them did not arrive for 3 days in a row. Buffett ran out of glasses and plates on a regular basis and tables were dirty. There appeared to be a skeleton crew of staff, trying to do there best in a busy resort. Glasses at bar were hot commodities and you were never sure if you would get one. The topping of all this was the sewer drain by tennis courts that back flowed raw sewage and human waste that was not cleaned up during our entire stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    A

    We had a week in Paradise at Iberostar Laguna Azul !

    Reviewed by Avery on Apr 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    It was our first time in Cuba and we loved it at the Iberostar Laguna Azul. The resort is very beautiful , the beach is amazing and the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Nancy, the girls at reception not so friendly but you don't need to deal much with them. We would go again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    " we loved our stay!! the staff was excelent.

    Reviewed by Bob and Diane Alford on Mar 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    For a first time visit it was great experience for us, Yes it was A great location, Yes the staff was very accommodating, Yes we would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    d

    Expensive hotel with many maintenance issues.

    Reviewed by disappointed on Mar 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    There are maintenance issues all over the resort. Cool to warm water for showers. Shortage of clean linens and towels. Things in rooms that don't work well like sliding patio and cupboard doors, drawers that fall out not stops, lights that don't work, bar in tub came out of wall while I was getting into tub. Tub very high to get in and out of hot tub shower in hot tub hand held. Very dangerous for seniors. Lobby smokey and closed in. Desk person likes to send you elsewhere for help. Main bar off of lobby ran out of mint one day, no mojitios. Huge buffet, lots of choices, that no one wants. Grilled fish dry overdone. The Paella on the beach was the best food while there, served once a week, we were lucky to be there at the right time otherwise out of luck, few people even knew about it. Process to reserve al a carte long and tedious in smokey lobby. We didn't participate in the activities around pool or beach, loud music with minimal particiaption, not very creative. Seen better at other resorts. This is not a cheap resort fairly new about 7 yrs old. Someone is taking a lot of money out of this resort, but not putting money into it for maintenance. One positive comment, the beach is beautiful, but that is true anywhere in Varadero.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8674 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    First trip to Cuba

    Reviewed by Lisapatio(Hamilton, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful time at Laguna Azul. The staff were wonderful, very hardworking and pleasant. The beach was beautiful, weather was great! There are a few things that could use updating at the resort and the a la carte restaurants were not very special. However, the buffet always had lots of selection, with fresh pasta bar, fresh grilled meats, omelet bar and many, many other food selections. We had heard that food was a challenge in Cuba but we were pleasantly surprised. Entertainment staff kept things happening at both the beach and the pool. Special mention to all the staff at the swim up bar! They were terrific! Felix, Aylin, Yoselin, Ernesto and all the others (don't know all the names), you were the best! The hotel lobby bar service was great too! We read many reviews before going and some were not good. We have to think that those are perhaps people that wouldn't be satisfied anywhere. Overall, great value for $$.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great trip

    Reviewed by ecavana1(Detroit, Michigan) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Clean, staff are friendly, excellent value here. Cuba is not known for great cuisine, but there was something for everyone here. Family of 5 travelling it was worth a 4* price. Fresh food. No illness. Drinks decent. Bank in lobby. Bring lots of cash, no bank machines. No cash advance on visa. I took 1000 and just changed to cuc cuba as needed. Met many repeat travellers here due to good value Iberostar and cuba is a fiem bet.

    Definitely not a 5 star resort.

    Reviewed by goodn3ss(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    What a terrible experience. Booked this trip in Dec. 2017 for a wedding with 53 other people. We arrived at 1030AM, didn't receive a room until 7PM, had to carry my luggage around all day. How do you book 53 people a year in advance and not have rooms for us? Then it continued. Booked a double queen room, they only had a king room, had to share a bed for 7 days with a random wedding guest. If you're getting married, do not use this resort. Nothing was done by the wedding planner - the ceremony wasn't set up properly, the dinner tables were incorrect and the dinner provided was not a proper 4 course meal as promised. When you pay $10,000 extra for a wedding planer to ensure everything goes smoothly and she does ABSOLUTELY NOTHING - it's very frustrating, so all the bridesmaids stepped up and did everything ourselves. The DJ the hotel provided fell asleep during dinner, so we woke him up and replaced him with one of the guests who was more than happy to DJ for free. Also, when we were eating dinner, a chunk of drywall fell from the ceiling right onto our plates. Yummy. The only thing about this resort that was exceptional was the bar staff, maids, etc. 5 star resorts should provided wifi, not charge for it and have it only available in the lobby where everyone is trying to use it at once. The buffet is not that great. Some food is eatable but alot of it was cold and unflavored. I recommend going into town to eat fresh food instead. Overall, first time to Cuba and my last.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-1

    Just about 3 stars

    Reviewed by JorgeAGomez(Sarnia, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was our 4th visit to Cuba so we are very familiar with the status of some resorts and hotels. The whole facility was very big but not well maintained. Upon arrival at the room, we were greeted by a cockroach. Also our patio door had no locking latch, so we had to improvised by placing the ironing board on the door to keep from opening. Had to do the same in my son's room. My son's refrigerator was not working so i did some troubleshooting and found that the wall receptacle was the issue. Our air conditioning started leaking all over the entrance of the room. It took a few trips and phone calls to get the repair guy to show up. Our sheets and pillows were very smelly. They did not get replaced until we took them off the bed completely. We tipped every day but did not help. You could see hair balls in the corners of the room. Food was the worst i have tried in cuba, there was nothing special about it. I love cuban food, so we had to go to town to get the good one. There was too many signs of the place not beeing clean. I saw a buffet staff member poored orange juice from a bucket that was completely mouldy underneath. Also when a glass or plate brakes. It takes quite some time for staff to clean up the mess. Keep watching kids walk by the broken glass over and over. Be prepared to see encounter multiple issues.we met some great staff members that were willing to help. I don't consider myself a complaining individual but there were too many thing to ignore.

    Beautiful

    Reviewed by SeanP1947(London, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Family travelled here for March break. It us what people say! Beautiful location on stunning beach. The resort is clean and the workers are excellent. It could use a but if an update, and the food limits this to. 4 stars. Would recommend and return!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX