Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 9195 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great week

    Reviewed by jodie x(hamilton) on Sep 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is my second time to this resort, we love it. The resort is beautiful and clean, staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are very good and the food is ok (remember your in another country) we ha e had no issues We have already booked to come back in May.

    3rd visit to Laguna Azul

    Reviewed by JPS5R() on Sep 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I have stayed at this hotel 3 times within 1 year - this will be a very honest review, please do not hesitate to message me if you have any questions about the resort. First off, i would like to point out that you cannot trust all the short reviews that give high ratings. On Wednesday or Thursday nights some people are asked to meet the guest services manager in the lobby where he will give people free wifi to go on trip advisor and write a great review with high star ratings because the “big boss” apparently checks trip advisor to see how people like the resort on Fridays. I visited this resort in March of 2018, November 2018 and March 2019. In March 2018 the resort was wonderful, i couldn’t say enough good things about it. The food was great, so much selection and great taste. It was clean, the staff were wonderful, so many fun activities, the only issue we had was our safe in our room didn’t work so we just used our friends. In November we noticed a big decline in all aspects of the resort except the staff. The cleanliness was not as good, the food had minimal selection and was not great (thankfully the pasta station kept us going), so many tiles at the bottom of the pool are missing so it can be hard on the feet, we luckily had no issues with our room. Entertainment staff, and bar tenders were great but very minimal activities around the resort. March 2019 we decided to go back because we did love the staff and hoped there would have been some improvements but we were wrong. The food was not good at all, there sometimes isn’t air conditioning in the buffet so get ready to be warm, the main pool is in very rough shape, the cleanliness around the resort is awful, its as if they got rid of half the maintenance staff. There were no fun activities however we found out that they only do the fun activities, good shows, beach parties and vamp up the food when it is a week that they will give everyone a survey to fill out at supper time so that you give good ratings (which explained why it was so great in November 2018) Where it was our third visit to this resort we were asked by the customer service manager to meet him in the lobby to write a good review and he will watch you write it to make sure its great. He is a very nice man but that is not the proper way to get good ratings on your hotel. Luckily again we had no problems with our room. For those who complain about the wifi, it doesn’t matter where you go in Cuba the wifi is not great and almost everywhere charges 1peso per hour and its in certain sections of the resort so do not go to Cuba expecting good wifi. I must point out that i LOVE Cuba, iv visited Cuba so many times and I’m not high maintenance when it comes to hotel life. Iv stayed in much worse than this hotel but for Iberostar standards this hotel is going downhill very fast so i would not recommend staying here unless you get a great deal. Most of the staff are such wonderful people and they are the reason we went back. It is most definitely not a 5 star hotel. - the beach is always stunning - Japanese a la carte is delicious - Italian a la carte is good - Steakhouse a la carte was awful - we ran to catch the last few minutes of the buffet - There is a good mini lunch restaurant that a lot of people don’t seem to know about next to the quiet pool close to building 18&19 that has good fish n chips and chicken strips, its a nice break from the buffet. - I stayed in building 19, 11 and 12. I preferred the 11&12 side as you’re closer to everything. - Everyone iv talked to that paid extra for an ocean view room said don’t waste your money

    POOR 3* HOTEL

    Reviewed by davidh142(Upton, United Kingdom) on Sep 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Visited as a party of 17 for a wedding in August 2019. On approaching the hotel via the long drive it looks very impressive, however that changes when you get into reception where you discover that there is no air con. After a quite quick check in we where taken on a long walk to our room & this is when the horror hit - the room was dissgistingly dirty, damp & smelled like a cigar factory. The bath room was un acceptable with regards cleanliness plus the the bath was that high my wife couldn't step into it. We settled on our 2nf choice room but a member of our party settled for their 4th choice room!! After unpacking we set off to explore the hotel & discovered the only place to have air con was the bedroom, whick made drinking in the bar & eating in the restaurants very uncomfortable. As for food it was pretty disgusting in the buffet with the Al a carte fairing not much better. Breakfast omelette's which where made to order where pretty good. We basically lived on chips & pizza from the 24hour snack bar. Don't eat burgers chicken or hot dogs from there - I watched the chef place a raw burger on the grill then a bread roll then turned a piece of chicken then put hot dog in roll all with the dame utensil. NO FOOD HYGEINE ANY WHERE. The general cleanliness of hotel was poor as you will see from pictures. The wedding we attended was great & the staff pulled out all the stops & worked hard even opening the beach bar for us at a cost. Overall the hotel looks nice on the surface & the staff are great but need some direction We expected far greater from an Iberostar & from Thomas Cook whom I can't believe have this hotel in their brochure. The drinks are good, little on strong side which spoils some of them, great pina colada slush from beach bar - get it as soon as they open at 10am. Beach is amazing but pool area could do with more shade & a deep clean. Al 17 of us where ill at some point but can only be expected with the hygiene standards. All in all Cuba I Wil be back, just not at this horel

    Fix the air con!!!!

    Reviewed by proudy74(Bridgwater, United Kingdom) on Sep 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    If you like eating your meals in 40C heat then this is the hotel for you. No doubt the Quality Manager will respond to this review thanking me for my views, but quite frankly people have been mentioning the air con in these reviews for weeks. The very common trait at this hotel is to acknowledge there's a problem, apologise but then do absolutely nothing to fix the problem. There are good bits though: - the beach is nice, a little deeper than other hotels further along the strip (drops away quickly to about 3-4 feet so deep enough for a 8-10 year old to have to actually swim rather than walk). - the pool areas are excellent. The main pool is the hub of the hotel, plenty of space (albeit very little shade) and very relaxing. There are two other pools behind the two wings of bedrooms which are equally pleasant but much quieter and sometimes offered better access to a breeze. The pools have lots of shallow areas and don't get too deep. - some lovely waiting staff. Other downsides: - main restaurant (besides air con). Cannot cope with demand - frequently ran out of juice, plates/bowls - the basics really. And spoons - for God's sake just put them on the tables rather than hiding them! - wifi - dropped out every 60 seconds and had to reconnect constantly. - room - booked a room for 4 but got 1 double bed and a sofa for 1 person (beware, this is a common feature of Iberostar hotels). - minibar - two cokes and one beer. Seriously?

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Very good Resort

    Reviewed by JoeLee123() on Sep 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I don't know why people rating this resort 1 star. I just come back from this resort 3 days ago (02 Sept 2019), I spent 8 days and 7 nights at this resort. I won't give 5 stars for this resort but I will give 4-4.5 stars for this resort. All staffs are nice and friendly. Food are very good. I spend at least 18 meals in the buffet in my trip but I never see any cockroach in the buffet area. Staff keeps wiping the buffet area. Honestly, there are a lot of flies and some birds in buffet area but this is an open area and also a lot of tree outside, I completely understand this is nature. Buffet food are out of our expectation, all food tastes good especially dessert area. Room are clean and A/C is working all day. Towel is not changing every day except you requested. Toilet is clean and working well. Room refrigerator always keeps 1 large bottle of water, 2 cola and 1 beer. Wifi is 1 CUC per hour. Only in specific area can use wifi.