Occidental Tucancun

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Relaxed, flawless vacation

    Reviewed by JohnD on Feb 25, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is an excellent small resort with a casual fun atmosphere. We have stayed at many resorts and this is now our favourite. The air conditioning in the rooms keeps the temperature acceptable however don't expect your room to be cold. I found this to be an advantage in getting used to the heat. The staff is fantastic, friendly and professional. Our waitress Nancy deserves a special thanks, she made our stay really special! The beach is excellent and the facilities very good for the size of the resort. The resort was full and we never felt crowded or had to wait for service. Beach chairs were always available!. The food was varied and excellent. We stayed for 11 days and never were tired of the buffet. We did try the Mexican restaurant which was very good. The house liquor is definitely above par. I'm a tequila snob and the house tequila was quite acceptable. There is an indoor mall directly across the street (on the second floor is a department/grocery store for all those incidentals you are looking for) and a large outdoor mall within walking distance. There was a mix of couples and families. The nightly entertainment very good, with professional entertainers brought in for each show (it's not just the day staff doing karaoke).

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7775 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Occidental Tucancun

    Reviewed by vlerma2019() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Amazing hotel, great price, great staff, great food and drinks! The staff was great and very helpful. Bar staff was great. They made drinks exactly how we wanted them. Food was so good at all the restaurants.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice To Unwind

    Reviewed by Traveler56190905243() on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall, the stay was nice and enjoyable. We were pleasantly surprised by the night-time entertainment. The food was good but drinks were always so watered down. My friends and I eventually just starting taking shots, even though we don't really care for shots. If you are like us, then I'd suggest bringing your own personal bottle of liquor to add to the cocktails.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    11th Visit

    Reviewed by O8447NPstevet(Wallsend, United Kingdom) on Jul 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Well we have been back again to the awesome Occidental Tucancun. A warm welcome was waiting from Will, Gonzalo and Sabino at the front. Check in was so simple and then up to our gorgeous Caribbean sea view room on the 6th floor of the south tower (as requested). A few staff have swapped roles and shifts so best part of a week to catch up with everyone and meet the new ones. Restaurants : Mirador Different theme each night and a fantastic fresh cook station, Great for all meal times. Claraboya Same breakfast and lunch selection as mirador but with poolside view. Evening dedicated sea food a la carte with outrageous double standards men must wear long trousers and covered shoulders however the women walk round like street walkers with tiny tops and shorter shorts. travitoria the Italian used to be and should be a la carte is THE place to eat, Fresh cooked pasta dishes to die for. Poolside: Plenty of loungers to be found Entertainment is at the main pool, splash pool with infinity pool and adults only relax pool. For drinks the lobby bar is the evening venue great drinks. The cleaning and maintenance staff require a BIG mention too working in the background to keep the hotel running. The maid service is fantastic fresh towel and bedding at regular times , So now it is time for thanks, Sabino, Nelly, Yolanda, Rosa, Dalida, Will, Gonzalo, Pablo, Cesear, Alejandro, Eddy, And basically everyone else at this fine hotel. See you all again next year. Steve & Maureen Turnbull

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    July 2019

    Reviewed by mendez992016(Oxnard, California) on Jul 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our experience was an amazing one at this hotel from check in to check out with Lourdes Munoz.. This was our 5th visit to Cancun, 2nd time with our 3 children( ages 16. 14. and 11). We had a villa which consists of a two bedroom which fit us perfectly. Room was always clean and comfortable with easy access to the beach and swimming pool. Patricia, Adrian, Diana and Teresa Rios at the Mirador restaurant were very pleaseant every morning. Cesar at the Trattoria made dinners very comfortable. Julio and Valeria treated us very well at the Claraboya restaurant. Maria and Yolanda were also great in the Lobby bar. Fernando was great at helping suggest activities and excursions. It was always a pleasure to be greeted by Will Alvilez anytime we returned to the hotel from an excursion. Food was always great, the entertainment shows in the evenings are great. Pool atmosphere was lots of fun. The staff at the pool always kept my kids entertained and involved witht he activities. We look forward to our next visit to this hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great location and staff!!!

    Reviewed by tammygaston(Fort Mill, South Carolina) on Jul 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a wonderful time at the Occidental Tucancun! The staff were attentive, the location beautiful, the beaches soft and clean, and the food was quite good. There were enough amenities to keep us occupied on our week long vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX