Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
    6. Catalonia Riviera Maya Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    J

    I will not return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Reviewed by J on Dec 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not come here. My number one reason for picking this place was for the heated pool that is advertised. Sadly there is no heated pool and it is too cold to swim without it. There are very few people in the pools and each time someone goes in they make that face of shock from how cold the water is. The service is no where as good as I've recieved in the past in Mexico. Many of the staff have poor English skills so it's hard to communicate sometimes. This is nowhere near a 4 star hotel. Paying for the upgrade to privileged makes you think you get a special Beach and bar as advertised but it's not true. We have been to these areas and there are full of non privileged guests. The staff do not monitor who is using these areas. Why was I charged for this service that everyone else is getting without paying for?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12105 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing hotel with the best staff

    Reviewed by Jasmine M() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had the best time in Catalonia. The animation team were incredible and did everything to make sure we were having a good time. They always encourage people to join in and are genuinely great people. There is a great activities programme. The restaurant and bar staff are also brilliant and nothing is too much for them. Great tasting food and loads of choice including incredible a la carte restaurants, all of which are high quality. The evening entertainment is really high quality with the professional dancers always delivering the highest standards. Room cleaning is great and we can’t fault anything.

    Beautiful holiday

    Reviewed by Cerys J(Cwmbran, United Kingdom) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Booked this holiday through TUI. 2 weeks all inclusive. The hotel was amazing from start to finish. On arrival we were greeting with amazing customer service from Hector at reception and free cocktails. Our room was clean and spacious and couldn’t ask for anything more. The food was varied each day and was always fresh, each bar could make any cocktail you could think of. The A La Carte restaurants were amazing, so many different ones to choose from and you could book as many times as you liked! The hotel is located in a gated community and only a 5 minute walk away there was a marina with dolphins in, loads of shops and restaurants. The only negative about the holiday was there aren’t enough beds around the pools, if you didn’t get your towels down by 8am every morning there wouldn’t be any free. There was plenty of room for more beds so a shame that there isn’t many.

    Terrible quality for the money spent

    Reviewed by thechris2019() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Hounded constantly by timeshare people who claim they are not trying to sell you a timeshare. The resort was dirty, room was cleaned once in 6 days. The beach sucks. Very small beach access to a walled off ocean and full of seaweed and super stinky. The beach sucked, the food was not that great. There are so many better places to stay that offer much better value for the price. I could go on for a long time about how bad this place was, but just avoid it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Recent Visit Aug 2019

    Reviewed by BDalgleish(Galashiels, United Kingdom) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The resort itself was very good and the food excellent. Although did have a few issues. Firstly the room keys continued to stop working and had to visit reception on numerous occasions to have these reactivated. Eventually got replacements after 4 days. On 2 separate occasions we had no electricity in our room and missed one of our dinner reservations. Was advised by guest services that they couldn't rebook as nothing available. For any sport fans out there, bring your Ipad and hope the Wifi is good as the Sports Bar doesn't open till 5pm and is the only place within the resort that has Sky.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Vacation 2019

    Reviewed by Roman B() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Nice holiday. The hotel is clean, in a beautiful well-kept garden. Buffet restaurant is excellent and snack restaurant with Mexican food is open during all day and it´s perfect too. Animation programs are also good, especially with the great animator Antonio. He is very friendly and funny man. The only small problem is the beach, but it's only about habit. We definitely recommend the hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX