Sun Palace

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 7802 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    LOVED IT!

    Reviewed by Leigh07049(Wisconsin) on May 08, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    ROOMS: Beautifully re-done and super functional. Great bed, shower, hot tub, and balcony. You can push a "privacy" button or a "make up our room" button (nice touch!) Finally a resort that programs your wrist band to double as your room key (genius!) No more searching for the room key, losing it in the pool, or having it de-program! My only suggestion would be to get brighter LED lighting in the sink/closet area. And maybe replace the ugly brown macrame string lights (LOL!) BEACH: Gorgeous beach and sea! They work hard trying to rid the beach of seaweed (but it's kind of a losing battle!) Warning that this area is extremely windy and gets big waves and strong undertows! FOOD: The food was excellent at this resort. Our favorite restaurant was the Italian (the chef trained in Italy!) We also loved the authentic Mexican restaurant. The breakfast buffet was excellent. SERVICE: Over the top! These people bend over backwards to make you happy. Gracias to all of you! (Too many to name). ENTERTAINMENT: The best show by far is the fire show on the beach (don't miss it!) The other shows are kind of cheesy Las Vegas-type shows (we only made it through part of one). These shows are in the "ballroom" which is actually a small stage with theater-type seating. (We much prefer sitting at a table where they can serve cocktails). My suggestion would be to have less mediocre shows at 10 PM and have more entertainment like live music/bands or even a DJ between the hours of 7-10 PM in "The Bar" where people can dance. (I talked to other guests who agree with that idea!) We loved that there were pool tables and a ping pong table (although the ping pong table was outside and extremely challenging to play in the wind!) POOLS: Small but beautiful infinity pools (no lap pool). Main activity pool has some fun challenges (if you're up for that), a special drink of the day, and an authentic Mexican appetizer dish (YUM!) We could really do without the blasting dance music (and then the activity staff shouting on a microphone over the already too loud music!) One day there was a guitarist/singer who was really good (ahhh...much better!) Also, this is one of those resorts that you have to go put towels down on chairs at the pool early in the morning, or you won't get one. OVERALL: Great resort-would definitely recommend!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice week of relaxation

    Reviewed by 432valp(Sunapee, New Hampshire) on May 08, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    As members of Palace resorts, Sun Palace has always been our favorite place to return to. The renovations that were done were long overdue and well worth waiting for. A highlight of the trip was meeting our member services rep, Porfirio, who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. Definitely go to the Chef’s dinner. It was entertaining and delicious. Speaking of food Fuego was our favorite place for dinner. The staff was outstanding in all the restaurants as well as around the pool and beach. Now some negatives. We felt that they were under staffed at the buffet. The poor taco guy was manning his station, the burger grill while serving guests at the buffet. Whew, I was exhausted watching him. We also had some electrical glitches in our room, but maintenance promptly arrived to remedy them. It was a great week of food drink and relaxation.

    Another great vacation at the Sun!

    Reviewed by Trudy G(Pleasant View, Tennessee) on May 07, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A friend and I just returned from a 10-day getaway to the Sun Palace. As usual, it was fabulous. Except for a couple of housekeeping glitches, the service was super. The food was wonderful; we especially enjoyed the Fuego and the Tratto, where Samuel took extra good care of us, even having the chef make a special dessert for us on our last night. Alberto was wonderful in the Aurora at breakfast....brought me mango every day! Brandon, the barista, made my latte each day just the way I like it! At the pool, we were spoiled by Daniel, Manuel, and Enendo. Dunia in the salon did a fabulous job with my mani/pedi. We did a day trip to the Beach Palace where Gabriella made us her wonderful omelets. Rudolpho took care of us at the pool. This was a very relaxing time and everyone at the Palace Resorts did everything possible to go above and beyond to make us safe during the pandemic.

    Pleasantly Surprised. Lovely Smaller Resort

    Reviewed by tmstewar2(Houston, Texas) on May 06, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Sun Palace Review and a few other observations. Just a few points, we travel to Cancun/Rivera Maya area 2-3 times per year for 3-5+ night getaways. We have stayed at over 30 resorts in the area and enjoy trying out different properties. We are in our low/mid 40s. We like nicer resorts, with top shelf liquor, great service and food. We will go less nights to a nicer resort than more nights to lesser resort. Our top resorts (as a comparison): Le Blanc, Atelier and Hyatt Ziva. Got through immigration in under 10 mins (arrived on Saturday around 10:20am). Took 30 minutes from time I started waiting for luggage (don’t usually check) to the time we were on the shuttle headed to Sun Palace. We were never asked to see the QR Code we were told to have ready leaving the US. Used Caribe Shuttle for the first time. It met our expectations. Drive from airport to Sun took 11 minutes and was $45 round trip private. Guest services had 2 staff checking people in. We had a few minute wait but were offered cool towels, sweet welcome drink. Within a minute we were taken to a different check-in area (assume for members since we booked through a member). We were continually offered another beverage during check-in. We were told we would receive an email or text when room ready most likely by 2pm. (Official check in not until 3pm) – we never received any communication so finally checked on room after 4pm. Since we arrived early around 11:15 our room wasn’t ready so we got our Covid testing scheduled (nothing available on Sundays; it looks like, so went with first appointment on Monday). Since it was an early morning we were ready to eat but unfortunately between 1130 and 1230 there’s only one meal option the snack grill by the activity pool outside. We both started with the fish ceviche which was very refreshing. Then I had the Cuban and spouse had chicken wings. Cuban was good. Wings were an order of 4. We had skinny margaritas and they were good and another round came to the table without asking. The activity pool is very active and pop music playing. Loungers right by the pool were all taken. But had availability one level up with shade by umbrellas. Room – The room met all our expectations. We had just stayed at Le Blanc in October 2020 and we actually thought this room was better. More updated liked the warm wood tones. Had all typical amenities you would expect with a few exceptions: no beach bag, no snacks, no dental kit, no shower gel. Typical items included: liquor cabinet, bottle of wine, stocked fridge, CHI products, and robes. We had an amazing view from our room #703. AC also worked great no issues staying cool. We received twice daily housekeeping service that was great. Beach – Walking on the beach there is a significant drop off and the sand is at an angle. This part of Cancun the beach is very narrow compared to other areas. It is much easier to walk towards the lighthouse end of the beach versus other way. Weather was perfect! 84 degrees and breezy (some days very windy 20-30mp). TIP: bring towel clips. Water was crystal clear and a turquoise blue. Pools – The pools are very nice and three to pick from. We are early risers so securing chairs before 7am wasn’t a huge issue for us but by 8am everyday very limited options left. Towel game is in effect BUT people actually used their spots. The activity pool is ACTIVE so if that’s not your scene then I would stick with one of the other two. Approx. 66 loungers and 17 umbrellas at the activity pool. At times they had live music and constant games and such happening. The other pools had roughly same amount of loungers so at times people were wondering waiting for a spot to open up. If you don’t need/want shade also easier to find a spot. Food/Beverage - Some of the best food we have had visiting 30 resorts. Since this was only a three night stay we didn’t try them all but Fuego and Aurora were very good and exceeded our expectations. We never ordered room service as didn’t have the need too. Some of the best dishes: Picanha steak (Fuego), Puebla Cream Soup (Aurora), Apple and Artichoke Salad (Fuego), Flat Iron Steak (Fuego) and Roasted Suckling Pig (Pork Belly) (Fuego). By the activity pool each day they would have specialty carts set up around lunch time: Moscow Mule one day, made to order guacamole, el pastor tacos, ice cream etc. Beverages – we never had to ask for double shots, the drinks were made very well. We did find a tequila we enjoyed and requested that in our margaritas. One pool bar had grand marnier but the others didn’t. A little more consistency there would have been a plus. As always Mexico is not a Bourbon/Whiskey place they only offered lower end items: Jim Bean, Jameson, Walker – Red Label. Service: met all expectations! All the staff constantly were moving and taking orders. There was never a want for anything. The resort was 80-85% capacity (from what we were told) and it never felt like we had to wait. Whether it was bottled water, beverage, or food they were ready to take orders and get them back to us. Observations : No pool bag provided - I saw many with what looked like a provided bag but there wasn’t one in our room. Most people did wear masks as they walked through the building. We were in Cancun, June 2020 (The Grand at Moon Palace) and October 2020 (Le Blanc) and overall many more mask wearers inside and out versus either of those two previous visits. Tipping: didn’t see it much. I know it’s a personal decision but we always leave a few dollars for everyone we encounter throughout the day. They work so hard. No hot tubs outside. We do enjoy at the end of the day to get in a nice warm hot tub as the sun goes down. WiFi works great throughout the property. If you are a beach person no concerns with securing spots on the beach. They had 3 different sections: regular, black band/concierge section and a Residence/Diamond area. Overall we are very happy with Sun Palace resort (we have stayed at over 30) and would revisit without hesitation. The drinks are strong, service great and a number of good food options. We were impressed with the room and the views are amazing. Age range was an overall younger crowd than the Le Blanc (to be expected) and also it seemed to be a resort where most everyone was a member or had booked through a member (looking at armbands). Pools and beach are gorgeous and ultimately why people love the hotel zone; blue water and white sand. For arrival at airport to depart: Have your COVID Test ready for review (electronic is fine), have completed the attestation (will give you copy to complete at airport) and the Vuelaseguro.com You will not all these handy at various times in the airport. There were many people who did not have all three completed and would have to step aside to complete them before being allowed to continue on throughout the airport. Also many more questions asked during the process. We still were at the gate within 40 minutes of leaving the resort. So if prepared doesn’t really take any longer than normal.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Experience Last Visit to Sun Palace Cancun, Mexico

    Reviewed by 132wcs() on May 06, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Our last stay in April 2021 was good until the very last evening. We wanted to have our last Dinner at the Italian Dining Room and we made a Reservation for an "OUTSIDE" Table the evening before .... with Beatriz at the reception Desk of the Dining Room. When we returned the very next evening on-time for our Reservation, the same Beatriz told us that our Reservation was given to another larger dinner group. We were offered many: "Im Sorry" excuses, and from the Dinning Room Manager, we heard more "Im Sorry" Excuses - while he actually did nothing! They gave us another table "INSIDE" and we waited about fifteen minutes and no one even offered us a Menu, and then someone came over and asked what we would like to Order. We said that we had not yet seen a Menu. We felt humiliated and neglected while Dinning Room Staff attended to other patrons. Horrible Service. We have Palace Membership since 2009 and never experienced this low service previously. We have not had poor service with old Staff however some new Staff seems to be poorly trained and sometimes act as if we are a bother to them.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2