Meliá Jardines del Rey

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    C

    What a rip off! I can't believe I wasted my money and my time. By day 4 I wished I was back at work!

    Reviewed by Cullen on Jan 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I don't understand how they stay in business. The service was very slow. At one of the pool bars with 3 bartenders and 2 customers they couldn't bother to refill the empty cup in front of me. It took 30 minutes to get a hot dog once. In the morning with 2000 guests in residence they were down to one working coffee station that I could find. The servers in the lobby and at the grill often tried to avoid eye contact so they didn't have to take my order. I tried going up to the bar but they ignore you too. The food was worse than the service. The heaters to keep the buffet food warm didn't work so the food was cold. They didn't have a serving utensil for every dish so the food was cross contaminated. If the dish you want was next to the fish your food tasted like fish. The food stations to get hot fresh cooked food had a 20-30 minute wait. The al a carte's were better but the first one still took over 50 minutes to bring out our main course. We had no hot water for 4 out of 7 days. I picked a half dozen cigarette butts out of the pool one day. And a few more the next. But the grounds are well kept and there is a nice sandy beach. So if you can stay tipsy from the moment you wake up until you go to bed this place might be ok.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    First time to Cuba! I wasn't disappointed!

    Reviewed by Mone26 on May 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Last minute trip and for the price I payed I was pleased! seems everyone is complaining about the beach but I didn't have a problem with it. If you take a right and walk a 1/4 mile the beach is really nice!!!! My room was very clean! My maid left me enough towels and water... all I had to do was leave a couple dollar tip and whatever I had wrote on the notepad was done! The entertainers at the pool area were fantastic! The grounds were kind of blah (keeping in mind that i've been to Sandals, Grand Princess 5* Resorts). Food wasn't terrible, I always found something to eat, @ lunch time I would go to the little buffet place at the beach and their pizza was delicious!!! always found something to eat (but I'm not fussy). Excursions... kinda pricey but enjoyed the "swimming with the dolphins" and really enjoyed the jeep excursion to Moron! The catamaran was pretty chill..(enjoyed our lunch on the little island). The staff at this resort go above and beyond!!! I would return if I got a good deal like the last time..

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Cuba many times, but never this resort again.

    Reviewed by Marilyn K on Apr 10, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Stayed for 2 weeks and found the resort and rooms to be well appointed, clean and the food good. The beach was horrible, water so rocky that we went in once and stayed at the pool for the rest of our stay. Go south for the beach! A real problem with towels, both bath and beach, if you turn in your bath towel you get 2 hand towels to replace and then try to get another bath towel. Beach towels, most guest had to wait 2 days before getting one and only if you were there between 1:30-2:00 when clean supplies can in. Restocking coffee and bar fridge was hit and miss, usually miss. Should be restocked daily with anything that was used the previous day, appeared if anything left in fridge nothing gets stocked with exception of water. Reported non working coffee maker to client services 2 days, spoke to tour rep. on day 3 and finally got replacement. Stayed in Cuba many times and never experienced these issues even at lower star rated resorts. Will not be going back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Megan on Feb 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Fantastic experience. Extremely clean and well maintained. Had something to offer for everyone. Will return and recommend this resort in a heart beat. Best all inclusive I have been to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Horrible Beach

    Reviewed by Cayo Coco on Jul 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Wow what a horrible first day in Cayo Coco. We go to Cuba for the beach and this was the worst beach I have ever seen anywhere. There were rocks everywhere, huge rocks on the beach and in the water. This beach is UNSAFE both on the sand and in the water unless you are willing to slice your feet open on rocks or fall on them and break some bones. I have never been so dissapointed with a beach ever. There was no way my family and I were staying at this beach, especially with our Special Needs son. We had no choice but to pay over a thousand extra dollars to be transfered to another resort. I cannot believe Westjet would send families to this resort and Travel Agents can recommend this resort saying how great it is. Such a disapointment. We are now staying at the Melia Cayo Coco and what a difference. We are excited to enjoy the rest of the week. Think twice about going to Meliá Jardines del Rey, especially if you are looking for a nice beach.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    S

    Huge and will be massive resort..time will tell how it can handle 2000+ guests when beach is so narrow and talapas limited.

    Reviewed by Scuba Snorkeller on Apr 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Location: On Cayo Coco, known for its wonderful talcum-like sand, the beach directly in front of this resort has a sandstone/rocky section requiring rubber 'water-shoes' but 200 metres in either direction the rocks are not evident. I flew Westjet nonstop from YYZ super service thank you for a 2 week stay. The resort is huge..and half open with target for full occupancy in May..the half under final construction and landscaping is of no bother to current guests staying in the eastern half. It was like staying in a self contained village which had just been created. The staff were superb, with special mention to the maids, groundskeepers, and cleaning staff of the public buildings and particularly the public washrooms. Best I have experienced in 35 visits to Cuba. Rooms have either two double on one King Bed and either shower only or combo-tub/shower..lots of hot water. Food was best in Cuba so compliments to Melia..buffet steam tables had visible temp. controls with good preparation and variety. A la carte restaurants varied with my top choice being the Bistro...two others, Aquas and 'Italian' were simply the two halves of the beach restaurant. Wine: The included red and white wine one of each was plonk however, a good variety was available at extra charge by the bottle and reasonable cost..recommended. Getting around:...electric carts/drivers available for transport if the walking is an issue...luggage is delivered to rooms on arrival and a phone call has it picked up and delivered to the lobby on check out. Bars...good friendly service..sometime hectic....the malt scotch and Tanquerey gin disappeared early in my stay and were not replaced..Havana Club recommended for rum drinkers...3 years old for cocktails and 7 years for sipping...good variety of cocktails. Pool: Huge . DANGER: Ent. staff set speakers to full AMP!! Hearing damage likely..beware!! Keep well back...this must be addressed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5062 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Second vacation to Melia Jardines Del Rey

    Reviewed by Maxime G() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Went at Melia Jardines Del Rey for a second time. Enjoyed staff and activities, very good housekeeping service, great scubadiving with Ernel on both trips. Great food at buffet. Thanks Adalberto for the second stay, will come back for sure.

    Wonderful vacation

    Reviewed by Yordhan C() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just stayed there, beautiful resort,I would say that the staff at the front desk made all the difference. They were so kind and helpful, Juan Carlos always there to help and with a smile. Also the guys who helpedus with the luggage were friendly. I will return as soon as possible, beautiful resort. See you next time fellows, best regards from Canada

    Girls Trip

    Reviewed by Carm C() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My girlfriends and i stayed here from aug10-17. Beach is beautiful , weather was great , food was ok ( but its cuba what do you expect) .. we stayed in building 16 it was close to everything, room was clean. It was low season but they still had a lot of activities going on. The entertianment staff were ABSOLUTELY AMAZING (dauri , apbil , alex & yuliy) they always hung out with us and took us to the disco! Over all such a great trip.

    Wonderful Visit

    Reviewed by SunnnGoddess(Hamilton, Canada) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Visited last year for a mother daughter trip! We had the most amazing time! The beach was breathtaking and very clean, there was plenty to do to keep us occupied, the a la carte restaurants, especially the Mexican were our favourite, and most importantly the staff made us feel welcomed and comfortable. It was because of the staff that we had such a fun time! The bartenders and waiters/waitresses made an effort to get to know us and have our drinks ready, the maid kept our room neat and clean and the entertainment staff were phenomenal! They had so much passion and love for their job, each day interacting with all the visitors and dancing the night away! We became like a small family and spent each night hanging out with them! They were all fabulous, especially Yuli! She was so sweet and constantly made sure we were enjoying our staff! The staff here at the Melia really do make the visit! Thank you! And we cannot wait to visit again!

    Read this before you book please!!!

    Reviewed by FrancescaToronto(Toronto) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We just came back from A 10 day stay at the Melia. From the moment we arrived, the place was definitely not a five-star resort. It is at best a 2.5 star resort point the rooms are fine but the phones did not work the entire time. God for bid there was some kind of an emergency. There was no way to contact anyone front desk your friends etc. We realized in the middle of our trip that it actually is a Cuban run resort. It was sold to the Cubans I believe in January. My friends who came along with us and highly recommended this place found a big difference when they came in January. No disrespect to the Cuban people they are wonderful people but the staff let a lot of inappropriate behaviour slide. For example loading plates with food in the buffet, budding in lines, screaming, leaving a mess everywhere. The brunch was closed at lunch so everyone had to go to the grill. The food was mediocre. The food was the same almost every day. The grounds have been unkept. In fact there are many dangerous structures waiting for an accident to happen. Many times at the bar they ran out of beer and rum and glasses. The music was extremely loud that no one could really listen and talk to each other. The shows were silly and boring. Please reconsider going to this resort. You will not have a good time. The only good thing I can say about this resort is the beach.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX