Sol Cayo Santa Maria

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    S

    Holiday I don't want to remember

    Reviewed by Sandra on Jan 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    The rooms are falling apart. No hot water, no air conditioning working, bugs in room, fridge didn't work, lost power for 13 hours one evening. And that was on the first two days of my 10 day holiday. The management was not to quick or willing to fix the problems fast. I would never ever go back to this resort. The staff in the bars and resturants there are A 1. They try to make your staff fun. If it wasn't for the people at the lobby bar and the people in the buffet and friendly housekeepers I think we would of came home early for sure.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2999 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great time at Cayo Santa Maria!

    Reviewed by Karen77(Brantford, Canada) on Jun 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We booked two weeks at Sol Cayo Santa Maria , our first time to this hotel, not the first time to Cayo Santa Maria. We very much enjoyed our two vacation there. It was totally for rest and relaxation and away from the daily routine. We found the layout of the property very easy to get around and not get lost. Our room location was good, midway between the pool and the beach. The gardens are exceptionally beautiful. the gardeners do an awesome job! Every staff member was friendly and welcoming.. I really think they make this hotel run smoothly with their efforts to make your stay enjoyable. We loved the effort put into making the ala cartes special. even though there were only maybe two employees there.. they always did a great job! If there was a negative, we noticed competing music. with the beach, the pool and the lobby bar . sometimes was a little much. and needed a quiet area to be in.. Perhaps they don't have to all be on at the same time? I know it was low season and less people at the resort, but the attention was not lacking in either customer service, the food or bars.. Impressive! Thanks for making our holiday a much needed break and relaxing!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Horrible Experience!

    Reviewed by kevin_kevin1() on Jun 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    What you see is absolutely not what you get! It's old and rundown. That would be understandable but it's filthy dirty. Ants all over the rooms and each night when we entered the room and turned on the light, we found a cockroach running around. Had to sleep with the lights on for the rest of the trip. All of the fountains around the resort are empty and have stagnant water breeding mosquitoes. The lobby furniture is dirty to sit on and filled with bird droppings. For the food, what food! The main dining room was only open for breakfast and there was no selection to choose from. For lunch and dinner it was a hunt to try and figure out where we were supposed to eat. Asking the front desk was useless. They kept on directing us to the dining room that was always closed. When we found where lunch or dinner was, good luck if you showed up 20 min after they opened because all the food was gone. There was around 80 guests total and there was food for maybe 20. So if you were not the first few guest to get some food you would not have anything to eat. There were no snack bars open at all the whole time we were there. The drink situation was the same. They would run out of everything all the time. It was a hit and miss if you were able to get the basic drinks you would expect. Beer, wine, rum / coke etc. The rooms were supposed to come with beer and water that was supposed to be replenished each day. There was no beer ever and for the bottle of water, we had to ask a few times to get a new bottle. The new bottle of water never arrived to the room and when we went to customer service to ask for water, we were given such attitude. Horrible customer service. You better watch where you walk!! There are tripping hazards everywhere you walk. The decks to the beach were missing floor boards and if you were not looking down the whole way to the beach, your foot would go through one of the holes. We have been to Cuba a few times and the other experiences were wonderful. This time, after the first day we could not wait to get off the island. The only nice part was the beach and some of the staff.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Not good

    Reviewed by Gica G() on Jun 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Hello!I've been to this resort in May for a week,and I will never come back to this place.I'm not a picky person but they ran out of beer,white wine,red wine,etc...and the resort wasn't even busy at all...They weren't not even 100 people in the resort at that time.They closed the buffet twice in a week and open this italian restaurant where the waiting was ridiculous long(2hours) and here too ,no wine,or beer ,just coca cola...of course if you want to buy wine they do have...the waitresses at this restaurant (specially the blonde chubby one)ignores customers all the time,they are just nice at the end of your dinner when they even expect tips...I appreciate service and tip well,but in this restaurant the service is very poor,so not going to tip ....I've been to Cuba 20 times so far and this is the worse resort I stayed at.Most of the employees at this resort are friendly and nice.I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.The beach is nice if not windy,but when I was there was very windy for couple of days and the ocean was very aggressive...

    A MUST READ REVIEW BEFORE GOING

    Reviewed by NormaH1020() on May 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    To start off, this hotel is not what it looks like in person to what u see on pictures. Dont be fooled! The rooms are dirty and broken. The lobby chairs are old and broken. There is no buffets to get a variety of food, only "a la carte" service which no alchohol is included. Nor did they have any to serve all week as an open bar. No soft drinks or water bottles to drink from. When eating a la carte i found a long hair in my plate and asked to have a new plate and they refused and mentioned "that i took the share of the day". Unbelievable. The management didn't care about the tourist and our needs. I will never suggest this hotel to anyone and not to forget for those who think of going, in the whole hotel combine there were only 50 people. Just to say that no tourist goes there because they probably went through what i've been.

    Perfect for us

    Reviewed by Trip523482() on May 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We fully enjoyed our stay at Sol. The super friendly staff helped make our stay so easy and wonderful. Four staff members in partucular need to be mentionned; Babb, Cary, and Martha. Thank you lovely ladies for your smiles and contageous positive vibes. Roberto the masseuse has miracle hands! He fixed our run-down bodies with massage skills that surpassed my expectations. He is a blessing and everyone needs to experience his talents for themselves. The naturist beach was perfect for us. We enjoyed almost-empty beaches all week, as it wasn't busy at the resort. We recommend Sol highly, and will definitely return. Sylvie and Ivy.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX