Meliá Las Dunas

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    I

    Great resort with lots of added value.

    Reviewed by IW on Aug 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff were very friendly and lots to do on the resort. The Pueblo next door was fun to walk to, and surprisingly, there was a bowling alley there. Very retro and a must try. Getting onto the beach was very steep and the boards on the bridge were a bit rickety. At times, there was not much food coming out of the snack bar and a lot of items on the small menu were not available. Wi-fi is a bit expensive but it is the same rate at all hotels. 4.5 cuban convertible pesos for 1 hour.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Adult friendly and family friendly, great for both!

    Reviewed by Phil C on Aug 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This resort although large has an excellent layout. The lobby and restaurants are in the middle and then they have the family section on one side and the adult section on the other. When travelling without kids it's nice to have a large pool that isn't overrun with children without having to pay extra for an "adults only" resort. The staff were very friendly and the resort seems to run like a well oiled machine as it's one of the more established hotels in the area. The food at the buffet was decent for the most part, but food in Cuba in general leaves a lot to be desired so it's not a knock on the hotel. The beach in Cayo Santa Maria is beautiful and the hotel has plenty of palapas and beach chairs available. I stayed in a Premium room and it was spacious, quiet, had a large walk in closet, steam iron, tub with shower, bidet. Only gripe would be that the mini fridge was practically room temperature so had to settle for warm beer a few times. With the exception of those with really high standards/expectations I would recommend this hotel to just about everyone else.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful grounds and direct access to large white sandy beach

    Reviewed by Colleen on Jul 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Large resort with great staff and wonderful food. The rooms are very spacious with either patio or balcony. Housekeeping was amazing as couldn't get the key to work and she let us in twice with our registration approved. Several buildings surround the lobby area and there was a lot of walking but could call for a golf cart and driver to take you from place to place if legs get tired. Currency exchange counter in lobby and open from 9-6pm Monday to Friday. Loved it!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    excellent getaway for families and adults

    Reviewed by jstevens on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The hotel was very accomodating, fast check in. The rooms were cleaned daily and mini bar restocked every other day. The pools were cleaning in the morning and kept clean daily.They did spray in the evenings to keep the mosquitoes at bay. There is lots of available seating for the buffet. Great selection of foods. They do also have golf carts driving around the resort as it is quiet large and spread out.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Enjoyed my stay at the Melia Las Dunas.

    Reviewed by MP on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    The staff was great, the food was good and the pool had plenty of lounge chairs.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Large property with something for everyone!

    Reviewed by Nina W on Jul 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I really enjoyed Melia Las Dunas. It's a Huge property with lots to see and do! One side is more adult oriented and the other is more geared for families, with baby & kid's club. We also noticed a games area that even had archery. The rooms were in two story villas no elevators , are spacious and clean. I read some previous reviews that complained about bugs. The only time we noticed them in the room was when we left our patio door open one afternoon when we went out. On property, we saw that they treat 2x/day, which we found out is common in the area. We had bug spray and didn't have a problem. There was a short boardwalk over to the beach, which had lovely white sand and covered areas. It was a narrow beach with a bit of an incline and the ocean depth increased gradually with soft sand. I enjoyed body surfing and shell seeking. The pools had easy access and the swim up bar was popular. Good water temperature and clean, even with the wind blowing empty drink cups around. The buffet was nice with good variety and there was a quieter side, which was smaller no line for omelets in the morning and the larger side, which had more variety. I didn't love the Oriental restaurant, but there were lots of other options. There were three weddings while we were there and it has several romantic settings for the ceremony. They have a theatre and the evening music was great! The Spa and Fitness center is distance away in Pueblo Las Dunas which is between this property and Melia Cayo Santa Maria. Although I didn't use those, we enjoyed a night of bowling in this little off site area. I'd recommend bringing comfy shoes for getting around the property and visiting Pueblo Las Dunas. They have a golf cart service that goes around, so you don't have to walk everywhere, but I like being able to explore. The staff are friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9688 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Value received - great time had !!

    Reviewed by Kevin_6ftguy(Dundas, Canada) on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 4th trip to Cuba and 1st to Santa Maria. We were there from May 12th to 19th at MLD. Up front I will tell you that our experience here was quite good, Jennifer speaks Spanish (which helps), and it's Cuba - so manage your expectations as it relates to food, internet, amenities etc. I kept some notes as it relates to the staff and their names - I regret that I misplaced that info and only remember one or two names - so while I would like to mention them all - I cannot. But the staff were all great !!!! Check in: Our plane was late leaving Toronto so our check in was about 20 minutes or so, hotel had 2 reps on front desk duty but they were fairly efficient and moved us along as fast as they could. I changed a few dollars at that point although there is a bank across the lobby but was closed, Restaurants: Buffet is large and right beside the main lobby. The food is basically the same everyday but there is plenty to choose from - even for the kids. The lines at the grill stations move fairly well - but be patient, they will serve you. As for the a la carte options, we attended two, the Italian and the International, The International had great food and the Italian was okay, in both cases - the service was very good. We tried to get a reservation for the Mediterranean on several nights but it was booked. People I spoke with either loved it or hated it. After 1 meal by the ocean, we decided to eat lunch by the adult pool - limited menu, but exceptional service and fully shaded, quiet and a light breeze. On arrival night, we tried the bar restaurant, one server, he was working hard but had no support - again, food was good and beer was cold. BEACH: one word, "GORGEOUS" - the beach is why you go to Cuba. No problem in finding shade or lounges. POOL(s): we only used the adult side which is quiet. No issues in finding shade at all. Towels available there and there is a swim up bar. Pool was clean and Wifi was strong there too.I assume the family pool was busier and louder, but again I did not use. Our building was close to the pool, building 54. Excursions: They are available, however we stayed at the resort so I cannot comment. ROOM: We requested a second floor room on the adult side (east side of the resort), and our request was honoured. The room is a decent size, the maid was exceptional in making sure we had towels, toilet paper and a stocked fridge (large bottled water, beer and soft drinks) and the room was clean and she also left flower/animal designs with the towels. There is a safe in the room as well as a balcony. No issues with hot water, water pressure or the toilet. On the Friday night, we had a problem with the A/C, my wife spoke to them in Spanish and while the hotel offered to move us into another room, there was no need as it was fixed after breakfast Saturday morning. LOBBY: Lobby is large and some say dated, but it is the nerve centre of the resort. While it can be loud with music and bands, move to the front where the servers will still take your drink order and there are many places to sit and relax. This a non-smoking section as well. Wifi works well in the lobby and the main restaurant. The office by the front desk is where you can buy internet time - no card required 1 CUC per hour is still the rate.My one recommendation to the resort is to add 6 large ceiling fans to "move" the air. WiFi: As above, it worked well everywhere it was available. AIRPORT and transfer: Airport is located in Santa Clara (Airport code SNU) which is a solid 90 minute ride to the resort.You get a different perspective of Cuba and how the Cuban people live - we are blessed in Canada. The people work hard and are very proud. Airport is small but no issues with passport control, baggage claim or customs. TIPPING *************** Tipping goes a long way and I suggest you tip as these people work long days. I have read many reviews and it was suggested that they do not take Canadian currency - that is nonsense. I take US singles and tip with that or Cuban CUC. Do not tip with Canadian coins as coins cannot be exchanged at their banks.Outside of cash, we also tip with clothes, bath/hygiene products, toys, baseballs, pens and pencils and dollar store items. GROUNDS; The grounds at MLD are impeccable. The gardeners are nothing short of exceptional. The work like dogs in the heat but do so with a smile on their face and always greet and talk to the guests. Would I go back to Melia Las Dunas? YES !! I read reports and we experienced no issues with the food, staff or bugs. Take your own towels if you wish and bring a "bubba" for drinking at the pool/beach. We received a map of the resort at check in. Sure there are some small items of TLC that the hotel should act upon - but it's Cuba. Relax, have a drink and smile - you will enjoy yourself. Kevin & Jennifer...

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    One of kind RESORT, super friendly STAFF

    Reviewed by 704samid(Montreal, Canada) on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had been here in October 2018, check in very quick, room clean and well prepared, staff friendly and very polite. What makes this resort one of kind are two things : STAFF : amazing everywhere Entertainment: all day long and all nights there is an event ( live band, live music, live fashion show...) and a show in the theatre Beach This is a one of the best beaches that you can find in Cuba, transparent clear water, white sand spotless view and turquoise color ! I spent almost my time there, beach bar very practical, snack bar and lunch grill very close Never been in the pool but looks clean Buffets and A la carte restaurants New buffet, fresh fish and seafood on the grill every night, not a lot of choice because of the low season but you will always find something to enjoy Pizzeria was my best place for lunch and the international restaurant was my favourite A la carte. Very kind and professional staff Bars and service Some cocktails are not that tasty but you will find for sure at least a drink that you will like, don’t hesitate to ask they will be happy to help you find out what you need Remember you are in Cuba, every single penny or gift or anything you don’t need anymore will be bring joy happiness and gratitude to these amazing people working hard everyday to make you feel like in paradise during your vacations. Use “hola, por favor “ and they will be glad to serve you Special thanks to : Guillermo in the snack bar, Yudi in the buffet, ALL bartenders of the lobby ( sorry I forgot the names) , George in the pizzeria Yaimi la camarera and the DJ, Hope see you guys soon again ! I recommand this hotel and will be back for sure

    Not a good expirience

    Reviewed by indym1988() on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Even though you are paying for a 5 star hotels, this is at most a 3 star. the hotel was maybe a 5 stars when it was built many years ago but today it doesnt offer the quality required for this level. The food was very poor, huge cockroaches in the rooms, the roof in the bathroom was falling, mosquitos of my size etc etc the hotel was half empty, the floor of one of the pools was damaged, actually dangerous etc etc only good thing of the hotele was the staff but unfortunately resolving the problems was not in thier hands. conclusion, we wont come back.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    A last minute reset trip!

    Reviewed by AntleFamilyTravels(Corunna, Canada) on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Well, I've written other reviews on this resort as this is our 4th time to it. Every time it gets better! As always, we got our upgrade to the suite (room 2725/26) and it was great. The only issue we had this time around was the air conditioning in room 2726 wasn't as full blast as the adjoining room 2725... We didn't complain as it didn't make a difference. Bar was always stocked, neat little animals each day on the bed made out of towels by Yaneisy and Kenia (first night was in a different suite due to previous folks flights being delayed) and everything nice and clean. The beds are comfortable, sheets changed daily if you choose and no issues with torts or showers. Some cracks on ceiling and walls, which I presume is damage from the hurricane a year and a half ago, but nothing to complain about. Here's where things were VERY different.... The grounds, pool and beach..... WOW is it quiet in the summer! We secured the biggest cabana on two different days... One at 10am and the other time at 2:30pm....those of you who've been here between January and May Know That's never going to happen... You'd have to secure that at 6am!! It was splendid! The trade offs, less people on staff, less items available at times and some closures of different things... Oh, and it's hot... REALLY hot lol. I won't lie and say meh, it wasn't that hot... It was. Mid 30's the whole time, which wasn't much different fr southern Ontario where we live... But the humidity... That was double back home. Again, we weren't bothered by it one bit, however, by the last day, that pool had to have been in the 90's farenheight temp wise. Not refreshing at all lol. The beach was perfect. Light breezes all week, green flags, LOTS of cabanas available and just as gorgeous as always! We hit up some a la cartes, and again for us, the winner is the Oriental! Good food and service. That said, there is NOTHING like the buffet when you get seated in Sandy's section! We have become great friends and even had the opportunity to meet his family and attend his baby's baptism!!!! We are closer now than ever before and have known him for 5 years! Other folks we must mention that are absolutely fantastic: Leidy at the kids club Wilson at the buffet Sandra at the front desk Yusnel at the buffet Michel at the bell boy desk Junior (could be Yunior) the yellow taxi driver Sandy at the buffet Kenia the room maid in building 23 Victor from the room service Ramon the general manager The omelette gal in buffet (can't remember her name) These people are key to our experiences either for the first time or 4th time. Respect the workers, yes we pay to go, but they are humans and remover, you are in Cuba, not the Ritz Carlton in Malibu... Learn a tad of Spanish, smile and you will have the best time with the beaches, pools and people. We highly recommend getting off the resort... Not just to Pueblo Las Dunas or Pueblo La Estrella.... Go to Caiberien, Remedios, Santa Clara and of you can... Trinidad and beyond! This country is safe and fun! The people are it's jewel! Once again, we are beyond grateful to the folks at Melia Las Dunas for their care, love and friendship! Check out Antle Family Travels on Instagram, Facebook or You Tube for pics and videos of our trips to Cuba. Lots of videos coming for this trip.

    Amazing Melia Las Dunas

    Reviewed by sove186349(Northampton, United Kingdom) on Jul 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have just returned from what was another amazing holiday at Melia Las Dunas everything was brilliant. The lobby bar has some of the most amazing staff and we were never waiting for a drink and contrary to other reviews staff were not always after tips drinks were good big thank you to Yadira Yunior Beatriz Rosangela Radel Luis for looking after us love the cocktail station run by the wonderful Ricardo. Entertainment staff are wonderful and do everything they can to keep you entertained whether at the beach pool or lobby thank you Carlos Gisela Yailyn Menenes Ricardo and Teo for treating us like family you are all amazing. There is also the wonderful Liset singing in the lobby in the early evening. We only ate at the Buffet Beer Garden and BBQ and always found something good to eat and the service was excellent especially Yadniel always service with a smile. The Beach is absolutely beautiful with the clearest water we always found a sun bed exactly where we wanted to be thanks to the beach guys the beach bar is great thanks to Yadira and Yirka and mustn't forget the wonderful Raul who comes round the beach and takes your orders. Our room was always clean and we always had fresh towels and a full mini bar thank you Anaely. We didn't go to the pool much but it was always clean and the swim up bars are great thanks to Andre Yaiseny and Yuiseny. If you have children the entertainment staff are brilliant and look after them so well. The management team are excellent always ready to ensure you have everything you need thanks again Sandra and Ramon we also never had a problem with the reception staff always courteous and helpful. To finish we would recommend Melia Las Dunas to everyone we have been many times and keep returning from the UK even though we have to fly into Cayo Coco and then have a 3.5 hour taxi drive to the hotel. Melia Las Dunas we can't wait to be back in September. Sorry if I forgot anyone because every member of staff is amazing. Gay and Dave

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX